We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy home in a perfect location.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Agate Bay Pier and Buoy Field (summer only)
Agate Bay Pool Facility (summer only)
Agate Bay Pool Facility (summer only)
Agate Bay Pool Facility (summer only)
Agate Bay Tennis Courts (summer only)
Magic Carpet Mini Golf (1 mile away)
Gar Woods Restaurant (1.5 miles away)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Carnelian Bay, Lake Tahoe (California), California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SassTrave...
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings about this one; probably won't rent again”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Large, private lot. Sizable deck. Large bedrooms and large, clean bathrooms. TV den in addition to living room was a plus, let us spread out. Large inside dining table could seat 8+. Two small 4-each outside deck tables. Small BBQ but worked well. 4+ folding beach chairs available.

Small, but deeply stocked kitchen EXCEPT some key basics were missing: frying pan, BBQ tongs, regular drinking glasses (but there were lots of wine glasses). Toaster doesn't turn off so we burned tons of bagels and toast. No dishwasher (as advertised), which is fine except 1960-style sink faucet doesn't swing into second part of divided sink very well.

When we arrived, we had to replace burnt out light bulbs in four of the living and den lamps; at least three lamps are broken and don't work at all. Also, something's weird about most of the outlet boxes downstairs; most won't hold your phone charger plugs (they fall out). The key sticks in the front door; really tough to open. TV has great picture and good sound, but it is an original flat screen, so no USB ports for streaming. (But over 20 cable channels).

Master bed is comfy. Second bedroom has 3, not 4 beds and they are old and lack support. The 14-year old was fine with the bed, but the two adults sharing that 2nd room opted to sleep on sofas downstairs instead (for 7 nights). Linens and towels we abundant and quality. Pillows were comfy.

WiFi worked great. We had AT&T but no T-mobile access.

We've rented many houses from Agate Bay Realty over the last decade, and this is the first time we we have been disappointed. Would we rent this house again? In a pinch, if nothing else was available... yes. It wasn't awful, it just missing some basic needs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious lot, privacy. Having TV den in addition to living room was great. Nice bathrooms. Nice linens. Very dog friendly. Clean.
Liked least: Only 3 drinking glasses, no fry pan, no BBQ tongs. Severa lamps broken downstairs. Toaster broken. 2nd bdrm: 3 beds not 4, and old/uncomfortable, 2 people slept on couches instead (master bed is great). No USB port on TV. No T-mobile reception.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B
1 review
“These cabins are not being taken care of”
Reviewed September 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Not the greatest vacation my family has had! We arrived to find bed sheets hadn't been changed in most rooms, hairs in the drains in the showers, a toilet that was clogged and oh the smoke detector on the main floor had been opened, the battery removed and so was dysfunctional. We contacted Agate Realty and they fixed this but really, no smoke detector? Isn't that against the State Code? The house had also been smoked in even though it was supposed to be smoke free..... We left a day early as my wife couldn't stand it anymore. Sorry but these properties are not being taken care of properly but they charge for it..... will not be renting from here again, Only plus was access to the excellent Sun Club with its pool.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2014
We are sorry to hear about your experience. We change the batteries in the CO detectors and smoke detectors every spring and fall. The handyman indicated there was a malfunction in the smoke detector and wanted to bring a new one. He was told not to worry about it until after your stay since there were other detectors in the house. We know that since this happened to you that it is seen as "par for the course," but we hope you will try us again so we can prove it is not a typical experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonesie99
1 review
“Cozy home in a perfect location.”
Reviewed September 24, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The home was perfect for my family and me. The location is in between two towns yet secluded which I loved. The amenities were perfect! I have recommended the home, Agate Bay Realty, and Flipkey to my friends. Thank you!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieJac
California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for our medium sized group!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Loved our stay here. We had 6 adults, 2 teens, 2 kids and 1 toddler. We all fit...with the teens sleeping on the couches (one in loft and one in family room). Kitchen worked perfect. Bathrooms were clean and good size...there is also a washer/dryer. We loved the deck location, right off of family room/kitchen...so kids could watch a movie at night and we could have some drinks on the deck. Very bright and open. Location is awesome....bike to the beach (it's a pebble beach that is dog friendly)....a very short 4-5 minute ride to Kings Beach and tons of food/restaurants. My only suggestion, if you stay in the summer, is maybe bring a couple fans for the bedrooms....no AC, but it wasn't that bad at all. We will go back for sure!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the Deck
Liked least: Bring a couple fans if you stay in the summer, no AC...but not that bad.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley
Reviewed January 14, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WA
Reviewed December 5, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Salinas
Reviewed July 18, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing