We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy, comforts of home in completely remodeled...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Agate Bay Pool Facility - summer only
Agate Bay Pool Facility - summer only
Agate Bay Tennis Courts - summer only
Magic Carpet Mini Golf - 1/2 mile away
Gar Woods Restaurant - 3/4 mile away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Carnelian Bay, Lake Tahoe (California), California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christine...
Stanford, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cozy, comforts of home in completely remodeled cabin”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Beautifully appointed home: kitchen and baths were superb, linens abundant and lux, the owners have obviously put a great deal of thought and care into the remodel of this cabin. Every space is used to it's max potential, right down to the spice rack, love it.

Well-labeled instructions throughout, is super because it left no questions unanswered.

We also appreciated the large parking space and easy entry into cabin, one or two steps up. There is also a bedroom on the first floor, which is especially nice for those with limited mobility.

Suggestions:
Don't judge the outside of the cabin until you step inside. The outside needs work, and I'm sure the owners are planning on improving it soon, especially the front porch.

The couch is loosing it's down stuffing, feathers are escaping. The throw pillow in living room are not comfortable and seem difficult to clean. I would recommend something less furry and more washer friendly.

There are a lot of light switches, especially downstairs, label them.

Instructions for adjusting the shower/bath temperature would be helpful.

A set of acrylic or plastic ware dishes and glasses would be appreciated. The dishes are beautiful, but heavy and all breakable, not kid or patio friendly.

We would rent this cabin again. It was lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: kitchen
Liked least: porch
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy H
Aliso Viejo, California
1 review
“Awful on the outside; nice on the inside”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The house is an ugly old cabin that has had a ton of work put into it to make it a comfortable rental. I would guess that the owners spent 75k+ on it, if not much more. Excellent appliances, nicely stocked kitchen, big screen tv, nice wood floors and fireplace. It is cozy, comfortable, but not luxurious. On the downside, very pitched roof for snow removal makes the ceilings in bedrooms upstairs a bit challenging for tall people. There really is no master bedroom. There is too much furniture in a small room for you to move without bumping into something. Good for large families...lots of beds and games. Random gym equipment, hot tub, etc ...these people really tried to make this attractive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: kitchen/laundry facilities
Liked least: small bedroom, didn't feel very clean..couch and towels felt old or dirty
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2014
Thank you for the review. Yes, the owners choose to put a lot of money on the inside of the cabin and then move the money to the outside of the cabin. The exterior is planned to see some improvements starting in the fall 2014.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Reviewed July 22, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed March 13, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Concord CA
Reviewed August 16, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cinci
Reviewed July 19, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed June 21, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Jun 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about the Weil home. I wanted to clarify that upon departing any of our homes, you don't have to strip the beds or wash all the towels. We do ask you to leave the heat at 55 degrees, so the pipes don't freeze, and turn the hot tub down to 95 to conserve energy. The cleaning fee is reasonable for the size and level of detail of the house, with hardwood floors and all the beautiful, high end touches. In the years we've rented the house, no guest has mentioned an issue with the placement, size, or comfort of any of the beds. They are true twins and queens, whose quality matches the rest of the house. They were replaced when the house was remodeled just a couple of years ago. Thank you for letting us know during your stay about the difficulty with the TV. As you said we were able to send someone immediately, who then programmed a universal remote with simple instructions to operate the high end entertainment center. It's much easier to use now! Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing