We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel, Good Location and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I stayed at this property with my husband and 6 year old the weekend of December 3rd, 2011. We are Priority Club members, so we received a free upgrade from a two Queen standard room to a King suite. The hotel is in a great location, near really fantastic restaurants, local eateries and shopping malls with major retailers. Good location for other attractions in the area such as the downtown Christmas parade and “The Living Desert Arboretum” (you can get an admissions discount here if you belong to the L.A. Arboretum or similar association in California, please see my review of this facility as well). The room we stayed in (209) was average. Good basic room, pretty clean. There weren’t any real bug problems as I’ve read with other reviews of Palm Springs Hotels, and believe me, I’ll leave a place and complain in a second if that occurs (see my review of the Lahaina in Hawaii!). I saw exactly two ants in my room, which was not an issue. What was a bit of an issue was the following: 1. The state of the fridge in the room. It had white mold around the inside edges and wasn’t turned on or plugged in when we came into the room. 2. There was a 7 inch long 5 inch edge of the wall missing on the same wall as the wetbar/kitchenette. 3. The closet was very tiny. Could barely fit one large sized suitcase, had an accordion type opening and was extremely difficult to open and close. 4. The shower had good water pressure; however, the showerhead was a choice of “soak” or “shower.” The shower option is actually painful as the water comes out with such force through the too tiny openings that it actually feels like needles hitting your skin! Ouch! Overall, this is an average room. Nothing fancy, but, I expected a bit better room without the issues stated for a priority club member as I had received in the past at other properties. The upside of the hotel: bed was extremely comfortable, large HDTV in room, non smoking facility, a lot of amenities of a full service hotel such as a gym, pool and hot tub. Staff was nice, very helpful with information and directions to local events and sights. The breakfast was beyond the normal continental fare at the Express properties. There was a good selection: muffins, buns, rolls, bacon, eggs, sausage, juices, coffees, pancakes, French toast, biscuits and gravy. Jellies and syrups were also offered in non fat and reduced sugar options for guests with health issues. I would recommend this hotel for short stays and it’s good for small children and families. Very quiet, accessible to local attractions, restaurants and retail outlets. Close to downtown Palm Springs (10 minutes), not overrun as other hotels closer or in the Palm Springs area and accessible to public transportation including the airport which is a 10 minute drive away.

Room Tip: service pets are welcome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chicagoborn40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew K, Director at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2011

Thank you so much for your detailed review of our hotel. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of our great location.

I will discuss the fridge issue with the housekeeping department. Our hotel's goal is to provide rooms of immaculate condition, and we will do our best to address every maintenance issue, such as the wall and closet door in the room you mentioned. It is great feedback like yours that help us grow closer to that goal.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our comfortable bed, amenities, and delicious Express Start breakfast. The hotel will go through renovations soon and we hope to welcome you with new outstanding rooms in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Andrew Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

The Holiday Inn Express was a nice little oasis. The pool area is very nice. Free wifi, parking, and full breakfast makes this quite the deal. The room was clean and attractive. The staff is very friendly. And there are quite a few resturaunts within driving distance.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jemetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew K, Director at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to be of service again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Andrew Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This hotel is minutes from great golf, downtown Palm Springs and other nearby adventures. The hotel is centralize where you can be in La Quinta or Palm Springs within minutes to your favorite fun destination or favorite restaurant. This Holiday Inn Express offers all the amenities you need (e.g. wifi, plenty of parking, workout facility). What I enjoy most is the friendly and world-class service and the free hot breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side offers a nice scenic view of the Mt. San Jacinto Mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank v1ct0rylap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We just stayed here for one night and got a good deal on Hotwire. We had a single room, there's free wifi, free parking, free breakfast (good selection of foods for a free breakie), room was ok with fridge and coffee maker. Location is within driving distance to a Trader Joe's and some places to eat. We just pulled in for the evening and had great check in service from the evening clerk - super helpful about the area and friendly as well. Pool was great - we used it to cool down on a really hot evening and also went in the morning before check out. Breakfast was pretty decent for being free. Yes, our room had ants in the bathroom as well, although I wasn't terribly surprised given the location, and I was satisfied that at checkout we were informed that the exterminator would be visiting and this room would be added to the list. I didn't really have crazy expectations for the price I paid, and I was happy with the amenities and customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d_p_richards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The bathroom had ants. Bring hotshot if you want to stay here.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
Thank Starr12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiejorge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express and taking the time to comment on your visit. We appologize for the inconvenience caused by the ants in the bathroom of your room and want to assure you that as a regular proccedure we take every precausion to prevent this from happening by performing regular pest control inspections by a professional contracted pest control company. It is comments like your that help us control such situations when an unusual occurrance takes place so we can immediately reported and prevent another guest from having the same experience. We hope the rest of your stay was pleasant and hope to be of service again in the future.
Thank you,
Jorge Martinez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The beds were pretty comfortable but we had to use the sofa sleeper and boy was that mattress old and torn up! Also, the fridge would not get cold so we had to use our cooler to keep our juices and things cold. Another issue was that all the restaurants that we normally see when travelling were quite a drive away. Overall I'd probably stay again if it was a good price compared to other hotels that are closer to restaurants. I just think the rooms need a little bit of upgrading/deep cleaning. The fitness center looked quite nice and extensive, but I didn't use it so I can't speak for the quality of the equipment.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiejorge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express and taking the time to comment on your visit. We have reported your comments regarding the physical condition of certain items in your room to our maintenance and property improvement team. We are glad to hear you were pleased with the value, cleanlines, and service received at the hotel. We appreciate your comments and look forward to hearing from you again in the future.
Jorge Martinez
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed with family, booked to rooms at an excellent price, rooms were small, outdated, and staff was very rude to my kids. Its a nice location. over all was not bad for price. the pool was nice, very cool for the heat.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnycatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cathedral City
5.1 km away
Staybridge Suites Palm Springs Cathedral City Golf Resort
6.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area
9.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Palm Springs/Rancho Mirage
8.8 km away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
6.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Golf Resort Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)

Address: 36101 Date Palm Dr, Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92234-1503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range: $119 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cathedral City is conveniently located in the heart of Palm Springs Valley. Our Cathedral City Hotel is a resort destination near Rancho Mirage, La Quinta, Palm Desert, Indian Wells, world class golf courses, spas, casinos, restaurants and shopping. While travelling to our hotel, you will be able to visit the Palm Springs Aerial Tramway, Indian Canyon Trails, Spa Casino, Agua Caliente Casino, Cathedral Canyon Golf, PGA West Golf, Cabazon World Premium Outlet Mall, Knotts Soak City, Empire Polo Grounds, El Paseo Shopping District, The Living Desert and Joshua Tree National Park. This Holiday Inn Express Hotel is a host hotel for The Big League Dreams Sports Park. We are just minutes from the Palm Springs International Airport in CA. Also nearby Palm Springs Convention Center, Downtown shopping, restaurants, and Indian Wells Tennis Gardens. All leisure or business guests will enjoy our high speed, wireless and wired Internet and complimentary business center. Come experience our serene outdoor heated pool and whirlpool with a large deck and mountain views. Our hotel also features a workout room. Our 100% smoke free hotel features the comforts of home. From our resort style pool, wonderful cinnamon rolls, cookies in the lobby every evening, and the Simply Smart Bedding Collection, this hotel in Cathedral City, CA is sure to please. Swimming pools and Jacuzzi will be closed starting on July 9, 2017 and will re-open on July 18, 2017 as they are being repaired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) Hotel Cathedral City
Holiday Inn Cathedral City
Cathedral City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) California Desert, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing