We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the music”
Review of AJ's On The Green

AJ's On The Green
Ranked #19 of 152 Restaurants in Cathedral City
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Really enjoyed the music and friendly vibe. The food on the other hand? Not so much. We ordered two $27 entrees, 2 martinis, 1 dessert. Price was $95, which is not outrageous for a dinner out, but the food was just not great. One martini was botched - not at all what was ordered. The entrees arrived eventually, but lukewarm. Service wasn't good either - waited for 15 minutes for a coffee refill. Even the manager came over to ask how everything was, and when we told her, she shrugged it off. Don't know if they were short-handed, but we won't go back for food. Maybe for a cocktail and music - the jazz trio playing tonight was very good!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 78 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Surprised by this place tucked away ,next to the club house of the Date Palm country club. We heard the music there was worth the visit. We arrived, and sat at the bar waiting for friends, the bartender had a pretty bad attitude! Put off by him, we headed out to a pretty but small deck. Fortunatly our waitress, was sweet and made up, for snooty bar tender. The food was ok, and on the happy hour menu, very reasonable. The music, turned out to be good, and by the time we left, was pretty full. Obviously has a following. However, with so many great places in Palm Springs to pick from, this is not one we will rush back too.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank valerieodell1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2018 via mobile

We went with a group of 15 people. The entertainment was very good but waiter was very bad. Not very pleasant at all. We were all charged a 20% gratuity which was too high based on the quality of service. The next day one of our party noticed on his credit card that he was charged an extra 17% gratuity. As it turned out all of our group who paid by credit card and I believe everyone else that night was also overcharged. On contacting the manager he said that it was a system glitch. He said that each person would have to contact him with info from the receipt so that he could do a credit. He could have chosen to automatically credit all overcharges from that night but didn't. Very strange!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Gordon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2018 via mobile

Was there with a very large group of friends. Able to accomodate the group. The entertainment was incredible. Excellent interaction and active involvment with us, and others in the room. Contemporary and relevant. The food was reasonably priced, generously proportioned and good value. Service was spot on, including prompt drink refills. the enire evening could not have better. This is not a 5-star dining/entertainment venue. But elements of its food preparation, presentation and service meet that standard. The hamburger I had and the french fries were excellent. Others who opted for salads and other meats, were likewise impressed. I will go back here frequently for both the food and the varying entertainers. The room is low key and intimate, as is the bar. Very local ambiance is welcomingly dated, but comfortably familiar. Felt very Palm Springs homey.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Cl1kker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2018 via mobile

Went to AJ’s for a friends Birthday Celebration. She enjoyed it and they were very good about accommodating such a large crowd. That is where the complements end however as the food was sub pare and the schlocky entertainment worse.

The featured duo massacred every decent song ( of which there were few and far between) while most of the program favoured obscure show tunes and mouldy oldies.

Soup was cold (a warmer one was brought when I made a request for hotter) and the meals very pedestrian and flavourless.

My wife had a chicken Caesar with an unseasoned small chicken breast on a bed of bagged Romaine lettuce. I had the shrimp and pesto pasta. Shrimp were nice but the pasta was flavourless save for the large amount of garlic. Not sure were the pesto was but this was one note and required salt and pepper (as did the soup).

Overall an unpleasant experience (save for the company, but heck, they came with us) particularly when there are so many great places in town now to go to eat and be entertained. Not inexpensive either.

I don’t see the appeal but everyone has there own taste. Not for me.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Chip-the-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed AJ's On The Green also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs
 
Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs
Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to AJ's On The Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing