We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”
Review of Cayucos Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cayucos Beach Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed here one night during a recent California coastal trip. We were not traveling with a dog, but with our two young children (ages 6 and 10). We only met two dogs, though, during our stay, which was surprising. One was an incredibly cute 5-month-old Corgy puppy. My kids wanted to take her home.

Our room was very nice, clean, nice linens, etc. The beds were ample. We had plenty of room around them for our luggage.

The continental breakfast the next morning was served in a lounge. There was a TV with the news on and several tables. We met a few guests while eating. One of them, a dog owner, pointed out to us that each hotel room door has a "peep hole" at dog level, which we found amusing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2011

This was our first trip to Cayucos, and were traveling with our dog, Rock-It. Cayucos Beach Inn is as dog friendly as any place we have stayed. It very clean and the rooms are large. The Family that owns it are very friendly and made us feel right at home. The room had a microwave, refrigerator, and sink in the kitchenette area, and two sinks in the vanity. We liked it so much we stayed an extra night. If you travel with pets or even if you don't, Cayucos Beach Inn is a great deal, we will certainly return very soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoHoMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This is our third visit to this particular hotel- our first 2 visits were very nice- however this visit was extremely horrible. The owner and his wife told us to book directly and not thru hotels.com which we did this time- when we checked in we were told that we need to change our rooms after 1 night - we started on the second floor- the next day was told to move to the room next to the breakfast room which is simply noisy and horrible- when we requested why this was- we were told that they had booked the whole place directly with hotels.com and has no more room so we had to do with what we had. The wife of the owner was extremely rude and unprofessional- and started shouting at us- also housekeeping is not up to the mark and hardly any supplies are given. it was a very disappointing trip and we shall never return to this place again. They just dont seem to care of feedback and reviews and informed me that they are always on full capacity so dont need feedback- something to think about

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank europeCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8lindsay, Manager at Cayucos Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2011

Above review was wrong, I know mr.Gupta personally , he came last year with his Family and
pet, I serve them personally he did ask for some Indian food and there is no Indian Restaurant
around, so I offer him our home made food he told me that will be perfectly fine with him. that was last visit he told me he will bring his friend, also will tell their friend that the motel,service
etc. was just perfect. so Mr.Gupta did came back this year, because of last visit he liked it.
this time he booked two rooms, for two nights, he book one night with Expdia.com and 2nd
night directly to calling to hotel, science he booked diffrent channel, our desk personal can not
keep same room, may be at the time Mr.Gupta book the hotel Room. between booking date
and arrival date we moved his resarvation 2nd night without knowing. because our computer
screen will not combine two diffrent Resarvation to one. so at the time he came was weeknd
night and we sold out, when Mr. Gupta Came to check inn I personally met him and told him
about the situation that he has to move next day to diffrent rooms, I spend 15 minutes to move
some one and keep him and same Room but was too late for me to do anything. so he agrees
to moved next days, he spent night and next day Mrs.Gupta did want to move, or they do not
want the room near Breakfast room, (our breakfat serve between 7.30am-10Am.) rest of the time no one is in it, so I would say #128 is our quite Room, I guess they do not want to move
and my wife has no other choices, I am sorry that Mr.Gupta did not adopt the situation, but
if some one understand we all are human being, mistake can me happen, we apologizes,
and again I apologizes, in fact I lost one good friend. -regards- Jayesh Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The Cayucos Beach Inn is like a two story motel. It's definitely dated but in good shape. The rooms are big and clean. The service from the owners and employees was wonderful - very nice people. The hotel, as well at the community in general, is VERY dog friendly (if I were a dog, I would want to live in Cayucos!!). I was a little concerned about staying at a such a dog friendly place (i.e. smells, dog messes, barking). One of our kids is allergic to dogs. We had no issues...there was definitely no dog dander/fur to cause any problems. We only heard dogs bark twice in 6 days (briefly in response to the garbage truck coming) and we saw NO dog messes.

Our room had a microwave, nicely sized frig, kitchen counter and sink. This was a nice feature as we did not want to eat all our meals out and it allowed us to store food, etc. in the room.

The bathroom had a dual sinks and a high countered sink...loved that as both my husband and I are on the tall side (and we don't have dual sinks at home so this was a treat!!).

Another reviewer mentioned the noise from other rooms. We did not have this problem. We did hear a little but nothing more than would be expected in a hotel. Also, we were in the room right next door to the room where they served the continental breakfast and except for a few folks who were talking it up on their way to breakfast, it did not cause us any problems.

The continental breakfast was pretty typical (bagels, toast, muffins/danish, frozen waffles to toast, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, juice, coffee). It was well stocked. Served from 7:30 to 10:00 every morning.

Although we didn't use it, there was a gas grill available to guests. There was also nice seating areas to just sit and read or visit.

The hotel is walking distance from everything in Cayucos. We really only needed our car when we left Cayucos (went to Morro Bay, Cambria, Pismo, etc.). The downtown Cayucos area is great..great antique shops, restaurants, etc..

We loved this place and would definitely stay again. I suspect anyone leaving a poor review is the type of person who would always find something to complain about :) We loved it and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcahal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed overnight for a quick, last-minute, weekend getaway with the kids. We've stayed at a few of the other B&B's/Hotels/Motels in the area, but they were booked up. At first we were apprehensive of booking here because of the liberal pet policy and worries about cleanliness, as we have a baby that crawls and touches everything. But we were pleasantly surprised at how clean it was.
Our only complaint was that the morning breakfast room ran out of items pretty quickly at 7:30 AM. We noticed some people would leave the room with stockpiles. More of a guest rude behavior thing and not from the management.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALTraveler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We liked the large size of the double queen room for the 5 of us. We also liked the bbq facility and the closeness to the beach so the kids could walk there together. Nice people running the hotel too. We are; not crazy about having a room after somebody has been in it with their dogs tho.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weeziest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Walk thru park to the beach and overlook. Very pet friendly which is good as Cayucos seems to have as many dogs as residents. Very friendly town they don't just seem to be just out for your dollars. We'll be back...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunters101291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.5 km away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
0.5 km away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
143 reviews
9.7 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 km away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,668 reviews
25.2 km away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
549 reviews
9.4 km away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayucos Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayucos Beach Inn

Address: 333 S Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1231
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cayucos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range: $134 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cayucos Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cayucos Beach Inn is one block from the beach in Cayucos, California. We are a 3-diamond rated property, and we would love for you to bring your pet with you on your family vacation. We offer a friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms, and a great location. We look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cayucos Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayucos Beach Hotel Cayucos
Cayucos Beach Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing