We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Make sure you're overlooking the beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Make sure you're overlooking the beach!”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We picked this hotel so we could travel with our puppy. That was terrific. We were traveling with friends (and their dog!). We had a room down from the office; our friends had a room on the water. Opt for the latter. Our room was noisy (from street and parking lot traffic), not as clean as one would hope, warm (without any feel of an ocean breeze/cross ventilation). Our pals' room had the view, the breeze, a small balcony... it made a huge difference. (the difference between 3 and 4 stars). The place is handy - right in town, on the water. There's a funkiness to it that might be a bit of an acquired taste.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeChat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you so much for your review. Many of our guests prefer the beachfront building because of its location and views, however some of our guests prefer the deluxe building because of the room sizes. As we have continuously scored over 95% in the surprise inspections made by AAA, we would appreciate knowing how the room should have been cleaner. This would help us in servicing the Shoreline guests better in the future. We do hope that when you come back to Cayucos you will give us another chance to welcome you.
Sincerely,
Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    187
    33
    9
    7
See reviews for
276
450
44
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This is our 2nd stay at Shoreline. I don't have one bad thing to say. You can't beat the location. My husband needed a relaxing vacation and he got it. This time we stayed in room 132, top of the stairs of the beachfront building. The fireplace was awesome. We never did partake in the breakfast because my husband isn't an early riser, but the coffee pot in the room did get use. The fact that this is on the ocean and dog friendly can't be beat. My brother has a condo in Cayucos but it's not dog friendly. We travel with our 2 dogs so Shoreline is absolutely perfect. We will be back just as soon as possible!

Room Tip: I haven't stayed in the lobby building rooms, but nothing can beat the beachfront, upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank addison_and_clark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time and writing another review. We do always enjoy having you come and visit the Shoreline Inn with your pets. 132 is a very popular room and the fireplace makes it the perfect getaway. We’re glad that your husband received the relaxing vacation he needed and that we’ll see you again soon at the Shoreline Inn
-Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I have stayed at other hotels in Cayucos and they don't compare. The location and personel service set this place apart from the others. The ocean building rooms have all been update and are great. You would never know it was a pet friendly hotel. We will back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: They are all great rooms, however I prefer the the ocean building 1st floor since I have a dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words and your description of the beachfront building rooms. We are glad that you and your dog enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to the Shoreline Inn soon.
-Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2012

On the beach and within walking distance to everything. A killer barbaque for use if you want to q on the beach. The staff is the best always with on site manager Donna, one of the best
people you will ever meet. Sleep at night with just the screen door closed and hear the waves
all night long. Your pets get the red carpet treatment. What elese is thers?

Room Tip: down stairs in the back on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for your kind review. A lot of our guests love to hear the ocean when they go to sleep at night and all our rooms allow for that. We also love spoiling our four legged guests with little treats and special attention. Thank you for mentioning Donna, she is a treasure. We’re so glad you had a wonderful time and hope to see you again soon.
-Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2012

After very stressful recent years, I needed a relaxing getaway and found it in quaint Cayucos at the wonderful Shoreline Inn where I stayed 4 nights. 3 nights in a beachfront room dowstairs, and extending my stay for 1 night, I moved upstairs. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are very clean and I and Sailor (Eskie) just loved the 'dog welcome package' (sheet to put on top of the bed so pooch can sleep there, dog dish and a couple of dog bones). Though I brought my own dog towels, it was very nice to have a nice plush towel for him in the room so I was able to dry him off when I had to hose him down after jumping into a tide pool. He never sleeps on the bed at home but loved the bed(s) at the Inn. The breakfast was satisfying and the wine glasses in the room were a nice surprise.
I had brought a novel with me, but didn't read one line, nor did I watch t.v. for more than a total of 2 hours during the whole 4 days. Departure day actually made me sad, a couple of days later I remedied this by making my next reservation. I (and Sailor) can't wait...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you so much for leaving a review. We are so glad you and Sailor had a wonderful time. Sounds like you just had a wonderful time to relax and that’s exactly what we’re hoping our guests can do when they just want to get away for a little bit. Thank you for mentioning the dog goodies we put in the rooms and the little extra things we do. We try hard to make all our guests feel welcomed. We will see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We loved our stay at the Shoreline Inn. the beach was right at our feet, it was awesome! We had a down stairs room, so we could go beach walking at any moment we felt like it, and so we did! The breakfast was great,lots of fresh fruit and fresh pastries. Our room was very clean, we had a comfortable bed and the staff was friendly. Cayucus is a very quaint village and we will return for many more fun times, thanks to our pleasant visit at the Shoreline Inn.

Room Tip: The rooms on the bottom floor are so convenient to get to the beach, especially if you have a pet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaMott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for leaving a review. We love hearing from our guests. Thank you for the pictures you took, this will help future guests and we love looking at the Inn from a guest’s perspective. We are also glad you enjoyed our breakfast and the views. You are exactly right Cayucos is a quaint village that has been able to keep its charm for decades and the Shoreline Inn lets our guests enjoy the town, but also the beach! We hope to see you again soon
-Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Our stay here was amazing. You are in walking distance of great places to eat, there are great places (antique and others) to shop and explore, it's just an overall great place. The staff was amazing and the breakfast served in the morning was perfect to get you on your way! We sat at on the grassy area and watched the sun go down...amazing!!! This place is pet friendly and we met a lot of great people who were staying with their pets. Please don't come here and complain if you are not an animal lover!!! Everything in our room was fresh and clean and we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for a weekend getaway!!

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are awesome, if you stay on the bottom floor your door opens up on to a grassy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainGrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you so much for writing a review. We are so glad you and your pet had a wonderful time, this is exactly what we strive for. Thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of our rooms, our housekeeping staff takes pride in keeping the rooms clean. You are right our sunsets are wonderful and are a joy to watch especially in the wintertime. We hope to see you and your pet again soon
-Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.1 km away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
20.2 km away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,622 reviews
28.7 km away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 km away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
39.6 km away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
0.5 km away
Cayucos Beach Inn
Cayucos Beach Inn
#3 of 10 in Cayucos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach

Property: Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
Address: 1 N Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1605
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only motel between Monterey and Pismo Beach located directly on the beach. Family owned and operated since 1981. Beach-front rooms have 180 degree views and deluxe rooms have varying views. A free deluxe continental breakfast is included and each room has a flat screen TV/DVD, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer and iron with ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...On The Beach Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing