We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
13
11
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building nature mansion villa surroundings woods
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 25 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2017

If you want elegance, peace and quiet - this is the place. We stayed in this converted industrial head office/mansion so as to be within driving distance of the Bronze Age Burial Site of Sammallahdenmäki, Satakunta. It looks inside like it looks outside, exactly like on the hotel’s website: - grand, high-ceilinged, cool and elegant. We stayed in the hotel proper, in other words, in the main building. (Make sure of where your room is when you book, because the hotel is part of a complex of buildings with other accommodation available as well.)
- The room was fine in every respect. Very pretty, actually. No problems at all.
- During the day there were many conferences and meetings, but at night I got the impression that we were two of only a handful of other guests that slept there, and those were mostly business people from the plant and research facility nearby. So it was really, really quiet, even at dinner time.
- The dining in the mansion’s restaurant was exceptionally good, with tasty dishes and a good wine list. The estate’s staff hunt and prepare their own elk, and they do taste good! I recommend you try all their venison dishes. We had to compliment the chef.
- The bicycles out front are for free for the guests, but beware, they are the kind where you brake by pedalling backwards. We almost fell off a couple of times.
- The mansion is actually right next to a factory, now the Makkarakoski hydroelectric plant, and the estate used to be an iron works, with some of the machinery still to be seen. You can see steam from the plant but can hear nothing.
- The lake nearby is somewhat swampy - watch out for the midges and mosquitoes. The woods around there are nice to look at but when you look closer, quite full of litter.
- The garden is lovely and good for a drink on the patio and the end of the day.
- One of the problems was that, once you are out of Helsinki, people are not so very English-speaking any more. We had to resort to sign language and the GPS to find our way to and from the place, though the hotel staff themselves are OK with English and a couple of other languages.

Room tip: If you can figure out the Finnish, you’d have no problem selecting a room.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chez-Mob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruukit, Myyntipalvelu at Kauttuan Ruukki, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your visit in Kauttua. We are glad to hear your stay was enjoyable. Hope to see you again in the future!

Best regards,
Kauttua staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2017 via mobile

I found accidentally this beautiful country side hotel while seeking for reasonable stay over after a day at Pori Jazz. We had a very clean and practical room at the Villa Aalto. Madras was a bit too soft. I would recommend to arrive for lunch and check in before leaving for Pori. This way you may return at anytime convenient.

Breakfast was well prepared containing many delightful dishes: oven cooked omelette, fresh smoked salmon, fresh cutlery, juicy fruit, home made ice tea etc. Yes, and croissant integrale . 10 points for the breakfast!

Unfortunately we didn't have time to explore the village properly, but we need to return.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank VintagePR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruukit, Myyntipäällikkö at Kauttuan Ruukki, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your visit in Kauttua. We are glad to hear your stay was enjoyable. Hope to see you again during the next jazz festival!

Kind regards

Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2017 via mobile

This place is in the middle of pure nature.

If you are planning a nature visit to Finland, please visit the area of Kauttua and stay in this hotel.

Many kinds of rooms; area with kitchen, refrigerator and other extras.

Really friendly people, excellent food in restaurant, everything clean.

Good for families, couples, large groups.

This is not a cheap place but Finland in general is not cheap.

Other options for food are near the hotel.

Summer time is great, but also winter in good. Just have the correct clothes for the correct season.

For more info of the surroundings or things to do or places to visit, please ask hotel staff.

Everything is 100% natural!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank David_McDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruukit, Myyntipäällikkö at Kauttuan Ruukki, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2017

Dear David,

Many thanks for your kind words. We are happy that your visit was a success. Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards

Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2017 via mobile

It is a very good accomodation. The hotel is composed of the main building, which is an antique mansion, and some annexes nearby. We were lodged in Alvar Aalto Villa, a dependance just a few ten metres from the hotel headquarter. We loved our modern accomodation because it was comfortable, very clean, perfect for every standard of needs.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank esbordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noormarkku2014, Myyntipäällikkö at Kauttuan Ruukki, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2017

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you and welcome again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2016

Hieno miljöö, ystävällinen asiakaspalvelu ja hyvä ruoka. Toimivat majoitustilat, päärakennuksessa viehättävät hotellihuoneet. Nice old-days atmosphere, friendly customer service, good breakfast and fine dining.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank katyliFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noormarkku2014, Myyntipäällikkö at Kauttuan Ruukki, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2016
Google Translation

Monet kiitokset arvioistasi ja tervetuloa uudelleen!

Terveisin

Ahlströmin ruukkien henkilökunta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews