We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a score!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cedar Lodge Motel & RV Park
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chester
California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a score!”
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Wow, what a find! We were looking for a weekend in the snow with our kids and didn't need much but snow on the ground and a decent place to stay. The Cedar Lodge was outstanding. It's not the Ritz Carlton and doesn't try to be. But it's clean, comfortable, and the two bedroom with well-equipped mini-kitchen is great. The owners are unbelievably friendly and helpful and hooked us up with everything we needed for some good little kid snow play. The bonfire out back at the end of the day is a nice touch, as is the huge library of free movies. I don't want to say too much about what a great value it is for fear they'll raise the prices, but it's a steal. If you're looking for a quick trip from the Bay Area to the mountains or the snow, it's a bit farther than Tahoe but no traffic and half the price. We definitely want to go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akuvikate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    15
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
22
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2010

Over time I have stayed in several of the Cedar Lodge rooms. All were nicely appointed and very clean. Comforable bed, cable TV, small refrigerator, small microwave, Kathryn and Al are completely helpful as needed and otherwise let you be.
The rooms are small, and downtown is 5km down the road, neither of hwich is a problem for me. I will return, happily.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DurhamCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLT
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2010

i called the day of our last minute trip for my daughter's horse endurance race taking place just outside of Chester. i asked about the location of the ranch we needed to find in the dark when we arrived late that night and the owners both assured me they could get us there. When we checked in that evening, (most people's bedtime), the owners insisted on driving us out to the gravel logging roads leading to the start of the ride so at 0500 in the morning all would be good. i slept so much better with this assurance and my daughter at 12 years old finished second!. Hats off to awesome customer service!

Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kbtahoe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Good value for a clean spacious room. Lassen Volcanic park a bit of a drive. Motel is within a mile or two of a variety of dining choices.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wooster, ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2010

This was a great and relatively inexpensive place to stay. The reasons we liked Cedar Lodge are as follows: 1) the staff is very friendly (but not overly); 2) the beds are really comfortable for the price (firm mattresses an important plus after a full day traveling and/or in great outdoors); 3) the location is great - awesome coffee shop/bakery right next door, very close to Lassen National Park, great Mtn biking, hiking (which is what we like to do, but apparently great for winter sports, hunting, boating and fishing); 4) free DVD rental on site); 5) well maintained and clean.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CateF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, CA
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2010

First of all, please disregard the comment left by DDJB and the title "YOU CAN'T BE SERIOUS" He or she is a complete idiot or pampered little princess who can't handle anything less than a 4 star. The accommodations for what you can expect for a motel given how hard it was to find one in Chester on a weekend was outstanding!! Kudos to AL! He's the man! Everything you want to know about the area and and how to catch the lunkers, he's as straight up as they get! Agreed! Katherine too is as helpful as a hostess can get! OH! I can't forget to mention! "If you own an ATV, you best bring it here (there is a cool little course and trails galore, just ask AL)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevacious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

We spent 2 nights here. The walls between rooms are better sound-proofed than most other motels. Once in a while we could hear people talking in an adjacent room, but it was quite muffled. Decorations were homey and unique. Both staff members we dealt with were genuinely helpful, friendly, and kind. Absolutely would (and will) stay here again. All rooms were non-smoking. Our room had a mini-fridge and microwave. The wifi worked well the times we tried it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TigersFan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cedar Lodge Motel & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge Motel & RV Park

Property: Cedar Lodge Motel & RV Park
Address: 1487 County Road 324, Junctions Highway 36 & Highway 89, Chester, CA 96020
Region: United States > California > Plumas County > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 miles west of Chester in a wooded setting, our lodge offers a variety of accommodations including Queen, King, Kitchen, & 2-bdrm units. In addition to kitchenettes, our rooms also have a fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, TV/DVDs, and WiFi. Property amenities also include BBQs, picnic & play areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Lodge Motel & Rv Park Hotel Chester
Cedar Lodge Motel And Rv Park
Cedar Hotel Chester
Cedar Motel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing