We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Semi Ghost Town

I dropped by this spot by before my lil sisters wedding in Sonora, CA on the weekend of New years... read more

Reviewed July 22, 2016
Zeph721
,
San Jose, California
Old Bldgs/Ruin

If you love old building and ruins this is a great place to stop. It is easy to drive by without... read more

Reviewed April 21, 2016
fungramma51
,
CA
Read all 17 reviews
  
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
5
8
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
8
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews worth a stop marker ghost yosemite california
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 17 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2017

This town(?) is so insignificant that we almost drove past without seeing it.
Basically it is two shacks which appear abandoned. It's a shame as it was obviously an important part of the history of the mining in this area.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2017

This review is for Red Hill loop trail on Red Hill Rd. outside of Chinese Camp.

Great area to hike or ride horses and see wildflower and the rolling hills of the area. There is a large area for parking off the road. Picnic areas and clean restrooms area available. There are areas for horse trailer parking. This area is Serpentine rock area that is being studied as well as the plant life. Stay on the trails to protect the area.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank GRS-SJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2016 via mobile

We took a scenic drive along Highway 49, from Jamestown to Oakhurst. Here are some of the stops we made, in Chinese Camp and Coulterville, as we explored historic and (mostly) abandoned towns. This is a great route for photographers and history buffs!

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank Beste L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2016

I dropped by this spot by before my lil sisters wedding in Sonora, CA on the weekend of New years eve 2015.
Right off the 120/montezuma road, there are about 1/2 dozen other sites/ Ghost Towns such as Montezuma, Jefferson (although only markers remain) and the only known cira 1800's Jesuit Shrine in No California in a 4 mile radius.

Parking right off the freeway a good 1/2 can be had walking around the old Main Street. The Pioneer Cemetery is right across the freeway where Main Street dead ends. Another 30mins to 1hr can be spent wandering the tombstones there.

Funny fact, there is till a functioning post office as Chinese Camp still has a tad over 100 ppl as a permanent population. One can buy a souvenir postcard and sen it with the Postmarked stamp.

Date of experience: December 2015
3  Thank Zeph721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2016

If you love old building and ruins this is a great place to stop. It is easy to drive by without noticing. There is an historical marker on the west side of the street. Park there and walk down the block to the left (south). That one block is full of old buildings, most in a state of serious decay. Very interesting.

Date of experience: April 2016
2  Thank fungramma51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews