We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
116
190
94
48
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
190
94
48
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswafflescompass cardroom was cleantrolley stationsan diegoplace to stayblack anguswalking distanceflat screen tvtaco belllocated closecoronado islandimperial beachfree parkingfreewaybwmicrowave
Filter
Updating list...
388 - 393 of 489 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2009

Bad Points: Swimming pool was closed by Health Department but eventually opened. Room wreaked of cigarette smoke even though it was a non-smoking room. Saw several people smoking just outside their rooms with door open. Neighborhood was somewhat seedy. Facility is old and looks like it. Worst motel I have ever stayed at.

Good Points. Visitor center & trolley system 1 block away. Staff was friendly. Room was inexpensive.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingManSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2008

The goods: The room was clean, personal helpful.
The bad: The pool remained open past 11PM and it was noisy, my main issue has been the non existent Internet connection which made my stay unproductive business wise.
Otherwise, average hotel with average price, good for family and tourist on low budget.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mastar63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2008

The hotel had the friendliest front desk staff that I have ever seen. Not only always smiling and greeting you so friendly , they have great suggestions on restaurants and other ideas how to spend your time in San Diego. The trolley is next door and very convenient to get downtown and old town.
Room was was clean and had both a microwave and refrigerator which was a nice touch.
Inernet signal was free and strong.
We enjoyed everything on our trip.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank filgirlcheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2008

Stayed two nights in mid-March. Hotel is conveniently located just off I-5, however it is rather noisy due to the San Diego Trolley which is right next to it. The trains run all night and make substantial noise. The rook was OK, it was spacious and clean, as the hotel buildings only accommodate one row of rooms there is a bathroom window as well, a feature usually not seen in hotel rooms. However the service and treatment of guests is just appaulling. Already at check-in the clerk wasn't even aware which rooms have connecting doors and which don't. When I returned to ask for a room change she also had a different room number on file than the one we were actually given. The breakfast is so poor it is hard to believe. There were no plastic knives available for both mornings and when I asked the breakfast attendant about them she replied there aren't any. So I guess the management of this hotel eats waffles and spreads butter with forks and spoons ... Furthermore out of 4 sorts of fruit juices 2 were not available, the very few available items were carefully supervised by the breakfast attendant who kept checking you were not too hungry. Unbelieveable! At check out I encountered a clerk who could not even understand English, not to mention speaking. I told her the in-room safe in my room was broken and asked not to pay for it, however the additional charge appeared on my bill, so she had to refund me. I wanted to use the Best Western Travel Cards as a form of payment, but couldn't as she was not able to process them. Above all her attitude was impolite, bordering to rudeness. Very bad. If you want a better and unstressful experience go stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slo-Lju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2007

stayed for leisure. hotel is in very good accessible location.
staff was very knowlegeable and attentive. the room was very clean and housekeepers were very helpful. the breakfast was a plus. they even have hot waffles. plenty of selections on what to eat for breakfast. was very happy i stayed in this hotel. i highly recommend for everyone to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank anneisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews