We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sierra Sun Cloud Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Colfax B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

We came for my husband's class reunion in Colfax. So glad we found this B & B. We enjoy staying in B & B's and this is one of our favorites. Guy, Lynn and Tim were wonderful hosts and were there for anything we needed. Cooper met us every time we returned so we bought him some treats. Breakfast was always delicious. Enjoyed meeting the other guests. One morning a doe came to the pond for a drink. The house and grounds are beautiful. The views are unbelievable. Our room was clean and very nicely decorated. Even fresh flowers. Guy stated that they don't come into the rooms but if you need anything, you just have to ask. Love this place and will definitely come back if we are coming to the area again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank terryg19832017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2016

I only spent a night here but it was a good one. The house is beautiful and there is a lot of attention to detail in the room. You can tell that a lot of care was put in to this. I took a glass of wine from the Pool Room and went outside and watched the sun go down over the icy pond and thought I was just about in heaven. Lynn and Guy were very nice and helpful and I can't wait to get back and just soak up the scenery.

Stayed: November 2016
Thank marjorie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Guy greeted us at the door and carried our bags to our room. We stayed in the victorian room lovley bedding very comfortable, they have a game room to watch TV or play pool. They also serve wine in the evening its a good place to socialize with other guests. Breafast was great very tasty and Guy makes you feel very welcome. we will be going back.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Guy and team are great! Breakfast was really yummy. The location, atop the highest hill around provides 360 degrees. The trail system right out the back of the house is great for hiking. Great "homebase" to explore Grass Valley, Nevada City and the Yuba River from.

Room Tip: Two rooms look over the pond, awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016

After traversing the dusty back roads of Placer County, the expansive green lawns with distant views of this immaculate inn, its good shower and comfortable bed were very welcome. Sierra Sun Cloud is thoughtfully designed with distinctive decorative touches, but best of all was our warm welcome, fresh flowers in the room and a beautiful and bountiful breakfast. Although we did not use them, there are two large game rooms that would provide diversions if the weather outside wasn't inviting. It definitely is a serene and lovely oasis in the Sierra foothills.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

My husband and I visited this darling B&B on a spur-of-the-moment overnight trip to Placer hills in Northern California. We arrived after sunset (unfortunately) so didn't realize how amazing the house was both inside and out until the next morning. Our room was quiet and large, with a huge four-poster king sized bed and private bathroom. There was no TV in the room, however down the hall there's a huge game room with 2 TV's, pool table etc. The house was very quiet. We didn't interact with any guests in the evening and slept well with peace and quiet. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and served immediately when we went downstairs to the dining room. After eating and enjoying conversation with the other guests, we took advantage of the sunshine and walked around the property. The views are spectacular! and the property is landscaped beautifully. When we checked out we asked the home owner for some recommendations of local nursery's and restaraunts in the area. He gave us great suggestions and was very knowledgable about the area. I would highly recommend this B&B for anyone looking for a charming, weekend get-away in the Placer Hills.

Room Tip: Victorian room has king bed, private bathroom and doesn't face the morning sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lyndiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2015

My girlfriend and I chose this bed and breakfast when we were looking for a place to stay one night when she came to visit in November. The staff here was extremely helpful and very kind. I went early and set up the room to surprise my girlfriend and they pretended like I hadn't been there yet and even went in the room ahead of me to light the candles. They offer very quiet rooms, they have a game room and an absolutely beautiful property with plenty of surrounding trails. I would definitely suggest this for anyone who is looking for a nice place to get away to.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colfax
13.2 km away
Best Western Golden Key
21.2 km away
Gold Miners Inn
Gold Miners Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
152 reviews
16.3 km away
Holiday Inn Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 km away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
260 reviews
21.8 km away
Sierra Mountain Inn
Sierra Mountain Inn
#2 of 10 in Grass Valley
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Sun Cloud Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Sun Cloud Inn

Address: 685 Coyote Hill Rd, Colfax, CA 95713-9764
Region: United States > California > Colfax
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Colfax
Price Range: $176 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sierra Sun Cloud Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sierra Sun Cloud Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing