We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant for us and our toddler”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Safe House

Welcome to The Safe House!
Remote, Private, South Facing, Beach Front Retreat Waiting For You!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Safe House!
Remote, Private, South Facing, Beach Front Retreat Waiting For You!
A view of the lounge, dining area and south deck The rear of the property from Ray Creek beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Welcome to The Safe House!
Remote, Private, South Facing, Beach Front Retreat Waiting For You!
A view of the lounge, dining area and south deck
The rear of the property from Ray Creek beach
A view of the lounge and dining area from the opposite aspect
The master bedroom
The second bedroom
The south deck (ready for some serious relaxation!)
View from the south deck of Ray Creek and the Sea beyond
Enormous and often dramatic skyscapes!
And sunset ...
After sunset ...
After sunset ...
Wildlife literally on your doorstep!
The screen between the kitchen and the lounge. Testament to some serious living! Try some yourself
Self catering in style
The legendary seafood platter and Colchester Rock Oysters at one of our favourite local haunts!
Colne Point. 2.5 miles of beach often deserted! Just you and nature!! Beachcombers Paradise!!!
Ship Ahoy! Rush hour at The Safe House ...
Sunset and silhouettes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
St Osyth, Clacton-on-Sea, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Shona B
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant for us and our toddler”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had an amazing week at the Safe House and it was a perfect location for us and out 18 month old toddler. Quiet, peaceful and beautiful views over the salt marsh and safe for our toddler to explore the decking and the very clean beach.

Easy to get to places such as Colchester Zoo and Clacton-on-Sea for days out and plenty shops nearby to get supplies.

The Safe House is very well equipped (they really have thought of everything) and felt very homely and welcoming. It was lovely to chill out on the deck or elax in front of the TV in the evenings when our wee one was asleep.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaksanang...
kent
1 review
“A total safe house away from everything”
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Amazing stay very much enjoyed the peace and quiet and the fact the day was planned around the tide

Can't recommend highly enough

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happsy
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Relax and unwind .”
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Great place to just enjoy the scenery and wild life . Spent many hours on the decking watching amazing sunsets , cosy blankets provided . Although semi detached the house next door was empty and I had total peace and quiet . Wander and wonder at leisure .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olivipili...
1 review
“Magical”
Reviewed May 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

To start with, the place is breathtaking (located in a natural reserve). It is so good to have a place like the safe house just 2 hours away from the big city of London. We had the best weekend, it was relaxing and incredible fun. Also we were so lucky it was full moon! The house is very cosy, and everything was very clean and in perfect conditions.We will definitely go back! Thank you very much for a dreamy stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carris p
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wild and Windswept, a lovely place by the sea”
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

A lovely place to stay and warm our toes by the wild and windswept sea. We stayed here for the weekend and had a great break away from all the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The beach was a short walk away through the nature reserve and The Safehouse was just a short drive away from the lovely towns of St Osyth and Colchester.

We will be coming back in the Summer to sit out on the decking and watch the world go by. Thanks for having us!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KentLizzi...
Kent
2 reviews
“A wonderful and peaceful stay”
Reviewed September 25, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This is the second time we have stayed, this year. Our second visit was just as lovely as the first one. The Safe House is very comfortable and had all we needed. It was very clean and well kept. We appreciated the repainting outside and the new shower. We spent a lot of time sitting on the deck enjoying the view and the birds. I'd felt stressed and tired beforehand and it's such a restful place to be. We were lucky with the weather as well, which was nice. I'm also pleased to report that the access road has many fewer potholes; we needn't have brought our 4x4. We would certainly come again and recommend it to friends.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokri67
Wetzlar, Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing