We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relaxation, Awesome service, remarkable location”
Review of Hello Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hello Village
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Jaw dropping views, second to none service provided by Ioannis and Maria. From the first night with a sumptuous Greek dinner accompanied by the owners own produced wine and raki, to the easy drive to beautiful villages and epic beaches we were enchanted. The history of the building created a really good atmosphere. Loving the olive oil and honey, also produced by Ioannis that we got to take home, thankful we get to enjoy a taste of Crete for a little while longer Elafonissi beach was less than 30 minutes away by car, and the taverna that was walking distance was really good with fantastic views and the owner there did home made soaps that we have given to all my family. Another nice village to stop in is Kefali about 10 minutes away, there local eggs and cheese were definitely worth taking back to Hello Village for a tasty breakfast. I can't wait to get back and would not hesitate to recommend to my friends, family and clients.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allisonbarnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2016

I went to Crete for a week with 2 other friends and we stayed for 7 nights in 6 different hotels and between them all this was truly the best! We left regretting not having booked all the 7 days here...
The location is fantastic, very quiet, not touristic at all. You are at 15 minutes away drive from the sea but if you stand on the terrace the view of the sea is fantastic.

We were also welcomed with simple and tasty Greek snacks/drinks .. I loved the home-made thyme honey (make sure that you buy some from Ioannis, you won't regret it!).
The house we stayed in was spotless, the beds were very comfortable, the windows were equipped with mosquito nets and the AC worked like a charm . The house was fully equipped and we got to do our laundry in a brand new washing machine which was very helpful.
Probably the only down side is that there is not much to do at walking distance and you will definitely need to have a car.

Shall we talk about Ioannis?? He is the most amazing host I have ever met (and I do travel a fair amount) .. welcoming, always smiling, nothing is too much of a trouble for him. We had long chats with him and he shared with us tips and facts about the wonderful island he lives on.
This is 5 stars - breathtaking accommodation hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _Fabs_Ferr_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

We are missing this beautiful and quiet place already! If you are going for
a quiet, authentic, soul filling experience in Crete, this place is a jewel!
A special thanks to our wonderful hosts Mary Sifodaskalakis and Ioannis Tzanakakis who were incredibly hospitable, we were extremely tiered when we arrived on the first day but we were welcomed like Family, Ioannis prepared some snacks and many home made products,
we were also left with enough Raki, olive oil and oregano to last us a month!

Si vous comptez venir sur l'île de Crète en Grèce et vous chechez une experience inoubliable, je vous conseille fortement de louer une auto et vous rendre à cette place formidable bâtit en 1906, la maison a été préservé avec le décor antique mais adapté pour être fonctionnel en 2016.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Manaz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

I really dont know where to start! Prior to arrival we were given excellent directions! Throughout our planning we had great communication with the owner. On arrival we were given bread, cakes, oil and raki. Now imagine this all on massive veranda and an amazing view to the sea in the distance down the valley and mountains to each side! You are high up in the mountaims here but probably only 5 miles as the crow flies to the sea. The property is an old school that the owners grand father went to. It has been renovated to a very good standard without loosing the feel of old style stone and wood. The old school is divided in to 3 apartment/cottages. It has everything you need, just one word of caution you are hour from a decent supermarket and there is one taverna just outside the village (10 houses) but we did not try it. So bring every bit of food and drink you want with you. The view from the bedroom down the valley is probably the 2nd best view from a bedroom I have ever had, the best being the Caldera view in Santorini, so no shame there! We cooked, drunk and chilled everyday in the sun and every evening until late on the veranda. Just heaven! Never watched the telly, why would you? Peace and quiet, oh and a few dogs barking and cockrels crowing, not much else in the way of noise. We will be back, thank you for sharing a bit of paradise.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ballsy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

amazing place, quite, no touristic, just like we were searching for, huge terrace with a seaside and a mountain view, the apartment fully equipped, everything you need, the owners very friendly and helpful, they welcome you with a tasty homemade wine, oil and raki, I recommend this place truly!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank Przemek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

We were in eight there: two couples with four children, ours four months old. The homy house offered enough space four children and adults to relax, the baby even had a baby crib (!!) for itself and Iannis the host really was there to fulfill all our requests. Even medicine for one of the children he had!

Next to hospitality, the view from the lavender, oregano and rosemary spiced terrace, down over the olive trees to the sea is enough to choose this place. Let alone, that by car you are in 15 minutes in Elafonisi, one of the most breathtaking beaches we have seen.

A catch! We warmly recommend it!
Thomas, Corinna and baby Iannea

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
Thank Corinna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2015

The great view itself was already worth coming here, even though it was harder to get there with bicycles than we expected. The owners themselves were very kind. We were welcomed with selfmade snacks, wine, fruits and more. When they saw that we were exhausted from coming there on bicycles they imediately offered to do our shopping, and they even refused to take any tips for that!
The house itself is a beautiful old building with a great and comfortable atmosphere. Outside was a terrace with lounge chairs, breakfast table and a great view over the valley up to the sea!
All in all, we enjoyed our stay here a lot and would recommend everybody to stay here when you are arround!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amigdhalokefali
18.6 km away
Aris Hotel
Aris Hotel
#2 of 17 in Palaiochora
191 reviews
2.3 km away
Keramoti Villas
Keramoti Villas
#10 of 35 in Kissamos
26 reviews
5.8 km away
Glykeria Hotel
Glykeria Hotel
#2 of 2 in Elafonissi
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Elafonisi Resort by Kalomirakis Family
17.9 km away
Neapolis Apartments
Neapolis Apartments
#10 of 45 in Palaiochora
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hello Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hello Village

Address: Amigdhalokefali, Crete 73400, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Amigdhalokefali
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Amigdhalokefal...
Price Range: $89 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hello Village 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hello Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing