We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (799)
Filter reviews
799 results
Traveller rating
382
273
79
36
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
382
273
79
36
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmexican restaurantacross the streetspanish stylegreat locationone bedroom suitesmall kitchencharming hotelfull kitchenbeautiful courtyardcoronado islandwithin walking distanceshops and restaurantsno elevatorpool and hot tubthe staff was friendly and helpfulliving areastreet parking
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 799 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2017

Quaint hotel with great cantina on one side, great seafood restaurant on the other; 2 blocks from the beach, close to shopping, bike rentals, the marina, other good restaurants, the Trolley stop. Love it!

Room Tip: Get a suite! Some have kitchenettes.
Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2017

Dear Tom,
All of us at the El Cordova greatly appreciate your 5 Star recommendation and kind words! Guests often comment on our amazing location in the heart of beautiful Coronado, and we are happy that you enjoyed it as well. We truly appreciate your review, and we hope you’ll stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2017

Our stay at the El Cordova hotel could not have been more pleasant. The staff were very gracious and welcoming, starting with good advice on where to unload our luggage and easy directions for where to park. They also helped us with local navigation on foot. In every interaction, it felt like they were giving us 100% of their attention, without any distractions. We'll be back!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Time_To_Fly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2017

Thank you very much for your excellent review and recommendation of the El Cordova Hotel! We take pride in providing our guests a wonderful hotel experience and your kind words about our great accommodations and our dedicated team makes us very happy! That you will return to us makes our day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2017

Walking distance to mostly everything. Clean rooms though they can use an update but I guess that's why the price is right. Staff is Friday's helpful. Definitely try the Mexican restaurant at the hotel, it's excellent and always crowded.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Gavzie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2017

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. Guests often comment on our amazing location in the heart of beautiful Coronado, thanks for mentioning it as well. We truly appreciate your review, and we hope you’ll stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2017

This is not a chain hotel, so they have unique features. Our room was on the second floor with an outside entry and uneven steps. The outdoor pool was pretty cool but I am sure it warms up over the summer. The hot tub is small but sufficient with good jets. The rooms are a bit small and the bathroom was tiny. The closets and drawer space though was generous. They have wonderful coffee and teas and fruit water in the lobby.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bethelandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. Guests often comment on the unique character of the ElCordova, different from the chain hotels, and we are happy that you did as well. We also appreciate you mentioning our tea and coffee service in our lobby! Thanks again for your review, we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2017

The hotel occupies the corner lot across from the Hotel Del Coronado. There is an unloading zone outside the front door. The bottom floor of the hotel is rented out to various shops and Miguel's restaurant. There are 7 hotel rooms on the ground floor. The rest of the rooms are various sizes and are upstairs. I had a one bedroom with a separate living room. The kitchen had an oven, stove, microwave, Keurig, and dorm-sized fridge. The bedroom window opened to the alley which was a little noisy in the mornings (dumpster emptying/restaurant delivery). The living room window opened to the courtyard, overlooking the pool and Miguel's patio seating area. The windows had to be open as the room smelled very musty. The unit was musty as most older hotels are that are on the beach. I kept the windows open the entire time. I also picked some honeysuckle from the neighborhood and kept that in the room as well. I usually travel with a scented candle but didn't need it. The carpet was lumpy and need to be stretched. The shower was adequate for my husband who is 6' 2". The bed, pillows, and linens were great. There were ceiling fans in both the living room and the bedroom. The bedroom had a wall air conditioner but it smelled really bad.
The Mexican restaurant smell and noise started in the morning and ended around 10:30 pm. I love the smell of Mexican food and the noise didn't really bother me. They sold me a huge bag of chips for $3 and they were awesome! About the noise, I talked with the hotel staff and they showed me that the TV has 2 separate volume controls! Ha! Problem solved!
The other reviews seemed quite accurate. Parking on the street is metered. It is $.50 an hour (I think). They only allow you to pay for two hours at a time though. You must pay Monday through Saturday from 8 to 6. Sunday and evenings are free. The hotel has offsite parking a block away for $20.00 per night. My husband and I each drove a vehicle and stayed a week. We did not have any problems finding parking (within a block) for free on the neighboring streets.
We attended a play at the Lamb's Theater (within walking distance). The theater was built in the 1900's when people were smaller. I suggest an aisle seat. The hop on/off trolley ($40) was also within walking distance. Great experience! We rode our bikes to the Ferry and went over to the Midway & Maritime Museum which was walking distance as well. The Hotel Del has a bike rental (also within walking distance). Coronado Island is amazing! Have fun!

Room Tip: Call ahead and talk to staff about best room choice. Ask for a room away from the patio restaurant.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2017

Dear Janie,

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you had a mostly pleasant stay with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding the smell in your room, and will be sure to look into why that smell was present. We are happy that you were able to solve that situation for yourself, but we’re sorry that it had to be solved in the first place. Indeed, we have a very convenient location in terms of parking and entertainment, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the nearby attractions. Thanks again for your review, and we hope you’ll stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews