We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must-Stay Destination - even with kids!”
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed here for several days last week with an 11, 12 and 15 yo. The hotel's rich history and spectacular setting make this destination worth the trip. The junior suite was exquisite - plenty of room for a family of 5. The town of Coronado is charming, and all walkable from the hotel. The beach is beautiful, the views are amazing. There were a couple of downsides, but they certainly didn't damper the fun -- The teen space needs a lot of work...a couple of games and two computers that weren't working; food is very, very pricey. A single serving of orange juice was about $6. A skinny margarita was about $15. If you just surrender to that at the beginning, then you can relax and enjoy.

Room Tip: We booked early and got a buy two nights, get the third night free. We also got $75 resort credit. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your visit to The Del and appreciate the historic ambiance that makes the resort so special. We hope to become a tradition with your family and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,796 - 3,802 of 5,487 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

There is something slightly awry at the del Coronado and I'm having a hard time putting my finger on it. Perhaps it is that every time I check into this hotel where I've stayed 2x a year for the las three years, they ask me for my email address. Maybe it's because the room I was checked into last summer had obviously been used (men's swim trunks in the tub) and yet the housekeeping folks kind of treated me like a criminal (for a hotel at this price point, I would have expected an amenity -- there's not really an excuse for a dirty room). It's certainly not the reservation or dining staff who are always very helpful nor is it the spa which remains one of my favorite hotel spas. It's just a little sense I have that corners are being cut. Now, for the positives -- there is an assortment of food at varying price points within the hotel grounds and it's a very short walk into town where one can find all sorts of food (pizza, Mexican, burgers). It's on Coronado Beach -- one of my favorite beaches in San Diego. The adults only pool is an oasis on a not summer day and the all comers pool, although a bit loud, is a great place to hang out if you have kids in tow. For me, the location and amenities still outweigh the negatives. I'll continue staying here when my travels bring me San Diego way. It's just not quite the del I fell in love with so many years ago.

Room Tip: Ocean or partial ocean view in the Beach Tower is the way to go. You won't have the noise of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for sharing your very valuable feedback regarding your latest stay with us. While we pride ourselves in offering exceptional service, it appears we have fallen short. To that end, we will be reviewing your comments with our management team so we may make the necessary improvements. We appreciate your loyalty and kind support and look forward to welcoming you back so we may deliver the outstanding service you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Hotel Del is a must stay at once in your life. It is an old hotel and shows its wear and tear, but the location and setting is like none other. You can't help but feel like you have been coming here for years and it gives you a sense of Americana and California that is hard to beat. The rooms are decent, views are great, food and service are good. It is located on the beach and in downtown Coronado which is filled with restaurants and shops. You may spot a Navy vessel perched off the coast during your stay.

Stayed: April 2012
3  Thank BillySOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

We are pleased that you enjoyed your spring vacation at The Del and appreciate your recognition of our wonderful staff. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We had such a great visit at the Hotel Del. We thoroughly enjoyed the pool, the beach, the breakfast buffet (!!!!!), and the evening smore's on the beach, walking to excellent and fresh mexi nearby. It was a great place to be, as well as a great home base for the SD kiddo sights (Legoland, SeaWorld, SD Zoo, etc).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bhdavison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for your positive review and we are pleased that you and your family had the opportunity to experience all that The Del and San Diego have to offer. We hope to become a family tradition and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I recently attended a conference at the Hotel del Coronado and was introduced to a new level in business accommodations. My room was exceptionally large and all the furnishings appeared brand new. The bathroom was also quite large with a double sink and a wonderful marble-tiled shower. The off-white room colors with the touches of blue, green, and yellow were striking in their simplicity and gave the surroundings an inescapable sense of class. My accommodations also included a lovely private patio that was screened in with many flowering plants. The maid service was superb. After hurrying to a morning meeting and leaving the room in tremendous disarray with an ironing board, bed linens, etc, strewn about the room, I returned a few hours later to discover the room in pristine shape.

The Hotel del Coronado also provided all but one of my meals during this trip. I ate at the Sheerwater Restaurant and Babcock & Story Lounge. The food was delicious in both and the service was impeccable. One of my business associates had numerous dietary restrictions and the staff was very sensitive to their needs. I was greatly impressed with the care that was shown to ensure that this individual was satisfied with their dining experiences. The hotel also catered all our business breakfasts and lunches. The food was well beyond the typical conference fare and included many fresh fruits, vegetables, and seafood that were a welcome site to winter-weary mid-westerners. It was simply delightful to sample so many examples of the famous California cuisine.

Even though this was a business trip, my experience at the Del was the best vacation I have ever had. I felt pampered and indulged the entire time. Despite being on my own, I also could not help but think this was the most romantic hotel I had ever stayed at.

Room Tip: California Cabana rooms are large enough for families. The cabana patios are secluded and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deborahdetrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for your enthusiastic endorsement and we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Del. As we are always striving to provide legendary service, we appreciate the recognition of our wonderful staff. We hope you have the opportunity to return for a vacation and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I had high hopes for the Del based on things I had heard prior to my trip. My hopes were quickly dashed. I stayed at the Del because I was attending a meeting at the site, but if I had to do it all over again, I likely would have stayed somewhere else. While I understand the Del is rich in history, it was massively frustrating as a guest to be constantly overrun by tourists touring the hotel when you're just trying to get to your hotel room. As if it couldn't get worse, my room was directly next to the loading area, so I was awakened at the crack of dawn daily by trucks backing up and delivering their goods.
The room was subpar at best, and considering the expense of staying there, I was a bit disappointed. The saving grace was that the staff was friendly and professional. If I visit Coronado again, I will not be staying at the Del.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room away from the loading dock if you like to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Val_K7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments and we appreciate the recognition of our wonderful staff. We apologize for some of the service issues you encountered and will be reviewing your feedback with the appropriate managers. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We recently spent 2 nights at the Del. The hotel has a rich history and has been around for ages. unfortunately it looks like the rooms haven't been refreshed since the hotel was built. Having spent $500 a night I don't expect to be standing in a tiny bath with an old green curtain shower curtain.. The service is also missing those little touches that make a hotel memorable - turn down, friendly concierge etc.

The location on Coronado is magical, pity the hotel doesn't match. Having to pay $26 per day for self park is also ridiculous.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Warren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

We appreciate your feedback and apologize that aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We hope you will return and consider staying in one of the newly renovated Victorian rooms or the luxury cottages or villas at Beach Village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,057 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#9 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: $425 - $845 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado, Curio Collection by Hilton is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing