We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,277)
Filter reviews
6,277 results
Traveller rating
2,847
1,534
850
597
449
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,847
1,534
850
597
449
Show reviews that mention
All reviews victorian building sun deck ice skating ocean view san diego sheerwater restaurant elevator operator iconic hotel marilyn monroe main building bucket list bannock del coronado main pool beautiful beach junior suite fire pit
Filter
Updating list...
1,895 - 1,900 of 6,277 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2016 via mobile

As the saying goes, "good from afar, but far from good"....
This place was a grand hotel in its heyday, but sadly it has fallen to the wayside. We were shocked at the condition of the exterior and the overall mustiness of the place after being told "go to The Del! You'll love it!".
The hotel sees a ton of guests and I know there is no good time to shut down for an overhaul, but that may be a good idea given all the other reviews where guests say they won't return!! Yikes. Word of a bad experience spreads like wildfire and the value just isn't there with rooms going for $450+.
Tour Coronado island and stop at the Del for scenic views and a drink, but don't give the place any more money than that until they can create experiences that match their hefty prices.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Vandy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre Z, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2016

Dear Vandy05,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. We regret to hear your expectations were not met while visiting our property. We are grateful for your feedback and will take it into consideration as we move forward. We wish you safe travels.

Sincerely,

Andre Zotoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2016 via mobile

What a spectacular time at this beautiful property - 10 years after our first visit! From the minute I called to make specific requests, to the moment we drove up to the valet parking, to the sad, but very real departure at the end, our party of six had a most enjoyable time!
A greeting from Carlos, a welcome by Tyler, or a warm acknowledgment of our little dog Maxwell by Sasha, the service was top-notch.
The Villa accoutrements and surroundings were beautiful. The welcome gift from Sasha and the team was sincerely appreciated by all.
Kudos to this terrific team for making our 'destination unknown' experience one never to forget… Only to return again and certainly less than 10 years from now! :)
THANK YOU.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Liplocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre Z, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2016

Dear John P,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you and your party had a spectacular stay in our Beach Village. It was a pleasure to serve you and little Maxwell. We will pass along your kudos to Sasha, Carlos and Tyler. We hope your travels will bring you back for another extraordinary experience in the near future.

Sincerely,

Andre Zotoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2016

We have stayed here before several years back but returned to show other family members how great it was. Yes this is an iconic hotel but it is RUN DOWN. We "upgraded" to an oceanfront room and were placed in a high-rise bldg with very small rooms and the balcony only extends across half of the room. Two people are squeezed very tightly. No view except for directly in front of you. Not able to see main property at all. EVERYTHING there needs to be updated. I love historical structures, but not the extent that things seem out of date and just plain worn out. The comfort of the beds were mediocre at best and there was such a draft through the door that is sounded like ghosts howling all night. And astronomically expensive. Value it just not there. We will not be returning to this hotel....it has seen its days and we will move on to other properties for a better value. Also, parking is $37/day...WHAT THE WHAT? Absolutely price-gouging....unfortunate...

Room tip: Not sure there is a good room. We paid an arm and a leg for oceanfront and left extremely disappointed....and out lots of money!
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre Z, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2016

Dear stephmcc,

Thank you for your review and your loyalty to The Del. We regret your expectations were not exceeded on your most recent visit but appreciate your feedback for future improvements. We hope to have the opportunity to restore your trust in our hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Andre Zotoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2016

The Good: Excellent service. I was greeted by name constantly, the staff was always courteous, and very helpful. The dinner at 1500 and Shearwater were very good. The Spa service, was spot on. We signed up for Smores on the beach, very fun, and well done experience.

The Bad: They cater to kids in every way shape and form, except for room service. There is no Kids Menu for room service, and room service was the ONLY part of the hotel that was rude. So bad, i just hung up the phone. Also, in the poolside cabana, the only item for kids is P-nut butter and Jelly. However, i was able to convince them to let us order chicken strips on room service. Ironic!!

The Beautiful: The hotel, the locations, the beach, the ambience. It is just a majestic beauty.

Note: If renting a pool cabana, ask for Mission or Solano, best locations. You can reserve cabana in advance of your reservation, the beach beds, can be rented 24 hour's in advance. Bed 3,4 or 5 are best locations. A must do is Smore's on the beach, EZ PZ, they do it all for you.

Have fun

Room tip: third floor, old hotel, most fun, romantic and original
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NickellFamilyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre Z, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2016

Dear NickellFamilyTravel,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. It is a wonderful to hear you were greeted with an exceptional level of service throughout your stay and that you enjoyed your meals at 1500 OCEAN and Sheerwater. We are pleased you had the opportunity to visit our spa and hope you are still feeling relaxed. We apologize for the level of service you received when ordering room service and will bring this to the attention of the appropriate management. Your feedback is valued and we hope to have the opportunity to build upon this experience in the future.

Sincerely,

Andre Zotoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2016

Just a shame that this beautiful hotel has been allowed to deteriorate over the years. The location is beautiful, but the hotel is in dire need of a renovation. The rooms are small and tired. The restaurants are slow and expensive . The public restrooms are messy, and the valet lines were unreasonably long. The only reason to go to the Del is to say you've been there. After all the hype, you are guaranteed to be disappointed.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank RoadBikingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre Z, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2016

Dear RoadBikingGal,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you were impressed with our
beachfront location. We regret your expectations were not exceeded otherwise. We
appreciate your feedback and wish you safe travels.

Sincerely,

Andre Zotoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews