We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
19 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$379
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-09-29
Curio.com
US$379
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-09-29
Trip.com
US$369
View deal
PricelineUS$379
FindHotelUS$959
eDreamsUS$379
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,559)
Filter reviews
7,559 results
Traveller rating
3,144
1,720
1,072
878
745
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,144
1,720
1,072
878
745
Show reviews that mention
All reviews victorian building sun deck ice skating ocean view elevator operator sheerwater restaurant iconic hotel marilyn monroe main building san diego bannock del coronado main pool beautiful beach fire pit history ghost
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,501 - 2,506 of 7,559 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2017

We stayed one night as a special thing for my birthday. We stayed in the old, historic hotel. At check in, the very nice clerk advised they upgraded us from a queen room to a king. She checked my ID and wished me a happy birthday! The room was very nice. Large and clean and a partial view of the bay! I loved the crown and door moldings. The TV was on with a personalized welcome greeting for me. Coffee and bottled water were complimentary. When my husband and I came back from dinner and watching the sunset, there was a very fancy cupcake in the room! What a surprise touch. This is what I mean by small touches - the birthday wish at check in, the room upgrade, the cupcake.... very nice service. The room and service get my 5-star rating. The grounds were impeccable as well. My only "observation" was that it was crowded everywhere. Instead of feeling exclusive, it felt like Disneyland. The hotel staff can't help that... it's just the nature of such a popular, iconic place. It's a personal taste thing and for me, it was too crowded. Over-all, we enjoyed our special stay at the Del!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre Z, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2017

Dear Karen S,

It was a joy reading the details of your lovely stay. We are thrilled that you enjoyed a memorable birthday getaway with us. Whether we can offer an upgraded accommodation or provide you with a special birthday treat, our team is dedicated to ensuring an unforgettable stay for each of our guests. Thank you for celebrating at The Del, and we look forward to creating, many more memories with you in the future.

Sincerely,

Andre Zotoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2017 via mobile

We stayed in one of the rooms in the Beach Village and it was wonderful. The staff was friendly and very attentive and food was good. We were able to listen to the surf at night and mornings were spent drinking coffee on the porch. We had amazing massages and enjoyed relaxing in the spa. They have a shopping area where I found what I forgot to pack- cute shoes for the day at the Zoo, a floppy beach hat and beach shorts.
Will definitely go back and recruit friends to join us!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank BarbieJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre Z, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2017

Dear BarbieJB,

We appreciate you sharing your review with us. With personalized service and luxurious amenities, Beach Village ensures that our guests experience a world-class getaway during their time in Coronado. It was a joy having you at The Del, and we invite you to join us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Andre Zotoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2017 via mobile

Although we did not stay at The Del. We spent a day visiting this spot.
We drove the Coronado Bridge to go over to The Del. San Diego is one beautiful place. You know that for sure when crossing this bridge. And The Del Coronado Hotel is why we traveled the 7.2 miles from Old Town.
The Hotel itself is just gorgeous. Landscaping, gardens and walkways all neatly manicured. Beautiful furnishing and chandeliers. This place is huge. Shops underneath for those with great taste and fat wallets. The lobby is another huge expanse. There are old fashioned framed filagre signs, a man's hand pointing the way. Above there are several choices..including an onsite bakery serving coffee; a full bar and I mean full..an entire mirrored wall of liquor. As well as an indoor cafe with leather seats and linen faced completely with windows to view the beach and people watch. Outdoors: The Sundeck Grille offers a smaller bar, comfortable seating in or out of the sun and appetizers. People tend to stay here for hours drinking, eating, talking. Mixed seating allows for couples or groups to gather. Try the Sundeck French Fries..topped with Carne Asada, guac, tomatoes, sour cream cheese sauce and green onions..very very good. Never saw delicious french fries treated so well!
The beach at The Del is another beauty. Powdery soft sand and warm water. You can rent sand chairs, umbrellas, cabanas, etc. at booths when entering this huge beachfront. To the left the beach has a rocked-in viewing, walking area. In front and to the right you can play in the sand with the ocean offering some pretty big surf close to shore...with Lots of LifeGuard presence.
Everything you need is available here at The Del..for families and groups as well. Mind you, we did not see all of The Del in this one visit!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Zoe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre Z, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2017

Dear Zoe F,

Thank you for taking a moment to share the details of your visit to The Del. From exploring our pristine grounds to sampling the delectable offerings at our oceanfront restaurants, it sounds as though your experience in Coronado was nothing short of extraordinary. While we enjoyed your company throughout your visit, we invite you to book a stay with us to explore all that our resort has to offer.

Sincerely,

Andre Zotoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2017

The Del went up and beyond on our visit, our room was perfect and all the restaurants where perfect. They made our stay very very special, the ground our beautiful along with the beach. We were able to stay in the Victorian king suite on the 5th floor

Room tip: high floors, view the to beach or bay
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank paulandeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre Z, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2017

Dear paulandeddy,

We appreciate your review. Our Victorian building allows our guests to experience our historic architecture and the breathtaking views of the Pacific. It was a pleasure having you, and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Andre Zotoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2017

Believe the hype. Yes. Hotel Del was the most beautiful resort that we have ever stayed at, and there have been a few we have been to. Service is top of the line, staff is SUPER friendly (we loved Andrew the bellhop, he runs the elevator and has worked at the Del for 37 years!), the rooms are well appointed and the grounds and beach are phenomenal! Yes, it is pricey, but absolutely worth every penny. Speaking of pennies, if you are counting yours, and don't want to pay the astronomical parking rates ($39 an night for regular, $49 for valet), there is free parking spaces (plenty) literally three to five minutes walking distance from the Del, which we utilized every day of our four night stay. We can't wait to go back!!!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KathleenC330
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre Z, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2017

Dear Kathleen C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are delighted to discover that you enjoyed the service of our dedicated team. Whether we can provide a smooth check-in or assist with the planning of a special event, there’s no task too large or small for our team to handle. We await your return to paradise.

Sincerely,

Andre Zotoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews