We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$203
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Avenida Inn(Coronado)(Great Value!)
US$285
US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$239
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$299/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Villa Capri by the Sea(Coronado)(Great Value!)
US$287
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
El Rancho Motel(Coronado)(Great Value!)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Cordova Hotel(Coronado)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$169
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$203/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Coronado Beach Resort(Coronado)(Great Value!)
US$358
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Coronado Inn(Coronado)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown City Inn(Coronado)(Great Value!)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,020)
Filter reviews
6,020 results
Traveller rating
2,762
1,480
817
556
405
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,762
1,480
817
556
405
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvictorian buildingocean towersun deckice skatingcalifornia cabanaselevator operatorsheerwater restaurantocean fronticonic hotelfull ocean viewmain buildingmarilyn monroesan diegobucket listbannockdel coronadomain pool
Filter
Updating list...
293 - 298 of 6,020 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

I had lowered my expectations thanks to the helpful reviews here on TripAdvisor. But they were not lowered enough! I still left very disappointed and shocked at how bad it was. I was there March 1-4 with my husband and young daughter. The room had a cool patio with a view that ALMOST made you forget you were in a costly dump. That was the only good thing about the entire hotel. The room was dirty - not just old (there is a big difference that I am very aware of). There was even an inhabited spider web in the corner. Also many big stains covered the carpet. A thick layer of dust coated everything in the room, especially the shutter blinds that led the to gorgeous view. The screens in the windows were nailed on from the outside. The only closet was IN the bathroom. There were dirty room service dishes and wine glasses across from our room the ENTIRE time we were there! The staff that we encountered seemed experienced and unconcerned with any problems we mentioned. The staff at the expensive on site restaurant acted bewildered and possibly even a bit irritated that we were vegan. They weren’t familiar with the ingredients in the food. Our waiter poured tap water into our overpriced bottled water that we were drinking. The valet was an unusual and inconvenient set up. The beach is so nice though - I’m from the east coast and the beach at Coronado for me was magical. Sand dollars are all over the place along with all kinds of other cool sea things washed up on the beach. The sunset makes gold sparkle in the sand! The bill for our three night stay was over $1500. We stayed in three other nice hotels on our trip to California and sadly the Del Coronado was by far the worst and most expensive! When we go back to San Diego we will drive from a better hotel to see the beach.

Stayed: March 2018
3  Thank leighbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harold R, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear leighbell,

Thank you for such a detailed review. While we are pleased to hear you enjoyed stepping out on your lovely patio to take in a beautiful view of the Pacific, it is unfortunate that the rest of your stay did not meet expectations. We deeply apologize that your room was not properly prepared for your arrival, and that between the lapse in friendly service and attainable rates of cuisine, you did not find the relaxing beach getaway you were looking for. We appreciate your feedback and hope you’ll allow us the opportunity to restore your trust in our beautiful resort with an improved stay in the future.

Sincerely,

Harold Rapoza Jr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

Location and view was breathtaking. Amazing! Service and focus on the customer left a lot to be desired. Truly no focus on the customer. Wether you called front desk or simply walking the property. No engagement with customers. Hilton hotel but not the usual service that is experienced at Hilton brand hotels.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank cjvramirez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harold R, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear cjvramirez,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Our peaceful location right on Coronado Island is perfect for enjoying a relaxing beach getaway. However, it is unfortunate that the customer service you experience did not meet our usual standards. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us and hope to provide you with an improved stay in the future.

Sincerely,

Harold Rapoza Jr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

We just came back from four nights at The Del. This hotel is fantastic. We have two boys, 4 & 5 years old. At check in the sweet reservation person gave the boys scavenger hunt kits and they had such a good time finding all of the clues around the hotel. We loved the pool, the manually run elevator and Andrew its operator who always remembered my boys' names, the beach access, the breakfast buffet at Sheerwater, the cute shops throughout the resort, and a special dinner one night at 1500 Ocean (here we actually just ate at the more casual bar area outside with our kids, but Cassie, our server, was super sweet and got us a great table and then called over her manager to help us choose a perfect bottle of wine. Super happy with the service at this restaurant - the best of our stay!). Food at 1500 Ocean was phenomenal.

Our room itself was a standard double queen, but larger than most standard rooms and comfortably fit the four of us. We had a resort view, which looked out to a pretty grassy courtyard. Comfy beds, nice amenities!

Overall this is a perfect family resort with loads of activities to keep everyone happy, relaxed, and in vacation mode!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EliteTerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harold R, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear EliteTerez,

How wonderful it was to have you and your family enjoy an exciting and relaxing beach getaway at The Del. From your boys discovering treasure on their very own scavenger hunt and exploring the boutique stores at Shops at The Del to savoring the delicious cuisine at 1500 OCEAN and Sheerwater, it sounds like your stay at Hotel Del was nothing short of extraordinary. It was a pleasure to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back for another incredible stay.

Sincerely,

Harold Rapoza Jr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

After reading many reviews we decided to use the del Coronado as a base for exploring the San Diego area for Spring Break. In hindsight this was a poor decision. I would have much rather just stayed at the hotel the entire time and not left to do any exploring. There was plenty to do/see if you wanted or just sit on the balcony and look out over the water as plane and ships go by.

The historical aspect of the property lends itself greatly to its Californian charm. The rooms are all very nice with modern amenities that betray the age of the property. You do have to remember that it is an older building so the walls were a bit thin between rooms. I also thought that $39/day for self parking was a bit extreme considering you are already paying a premium for the room but I guess thats supply & demand for you.

The fitness center was very well appointed with great equipment and there was plenty of dining options though I would encourage you to book your evening dining early as it does tend to fill up quickly,

Room Tip: Room 3132 has a beautiful ocean view and one of the larger balconies
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyboyEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

We stayed in the Del this past weekend 29 March - 2 April. I have to say we were really disappointed in the hotel, and certainly, the value.

The good: location -- Coronado is a neat beach town (though pretty devoid of great restaurants) and the beach is absolutely perfect. The hotel lobby is beautiful and well kept. The woodwork is amazing. The grounds are generally pretty nice too. Eno (though overpriced) has great pizza and a good melon/prosciutto appetizer, and the wait staff was really good. The pool area is nice; highly recommend renting a cabana for the day. The pool is crowded, but with the cabana, it made for a nice day.

But the bad:
. Check in was a mess; approximately 20 people in line. I had checked in with the mobile app (Hilton Honors member), which didn't do anything to speed the check in. The guy that checked me in once I got to the desk was friendly, but had a hard time figuring out the digital key on the app.
. The valet parking is an absolute cluster, a complete mess. And, the valet guys are somewhat rude. Every time we brought the car back it was a mess.
. But the worst with respect to the valet parking was that we made the mistake of getting back to the hotel at approximately noon on Easter, and there were AT LEAST 30 cars queued up to park for the brunch. That's great, but I am paying 600+ per night, and I am pretty sure the hotel can come up with a way to accommodate guests staying there without having to sit through the line. AGAIN.
. The walls in the hotel are paper thin. We could hear neighbors on the both sides like they were in the room with us. Our bathroom was showing it's age.
. The wi fi is not good at all - very spotty, and really slow.
. I was surprised that room service food was left in the corridors, sometimes up to 24 hrs. Really surprised.
. We left this morning at 4.30a to catch a flight at SAN. When we got to the door to the building we were in (we were in the Ocean Towers building), the door was WIDE OPEN. At 4.30a. Couldn't believe that - what a security risk.
. The food in all of the restaurants is quite overpriced. You expect that in a hotel like this, but not to the extent you experience it at the Del.
. Service across the hotel was only mediocre, certainly not top notch. People were generally friendly, but not particularly helpful or knowledgeable. Certainly not what I would expect at a hotel pretending to be a 5 star, or at least close.
. To top all of this off, on our last night, the alarm system in the hotel went off 4 TIMES (4 TIMES!!) between 1a and 1.30a, and all the front desk could say was "We don't know why it's happening". That's it.

We were just not impressed, which was quite disappointing because we had been wanting to stay in the hotel for some time. We really, really wanted to like the hotel! I am guessing service and upkeep have suffered since Hilton took it over. We were not expecting the Four Seasons by any means, but hoping maybe for Fairmont level....but, it wasn't close. And the prices are quite high for what you get. We couldn't in good faith recommend it. The hotel clearly gets that it's the only game in town in Coronado and acts accordingly.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harold R, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear Michael G,

Thank you for sharing a thorough description of your stay with us. While it is delightful to hear you were taken with the charming island of Coronado and our beautifully kept grounds, we are concerned that a few aspects of your stay kept you from experiencing the perfect beach getaway. It is unfortunate to hear that you encountered long wait times, a lapse in attentive service, and disruptions during your stay. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, and wish to speak to you further about any outstanding issues. At your earliest convenience, please reach out to us at ExecutiveOffice@hoteldel.com. We look forward to hearing from you. Until then, please take care.

Sincerely,

Harold Rapoza Jr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews