We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French style in Coronado ”
Review of 1500 OCEAN

1500 OCEAN
Reserve with OpenTable
1500 OCEAN is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 109 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$70
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Dana Place
Transit: Serviced by SDMTS Route 904 http://www.sdmts.com/RouteFiles/routes/pdf/904.pdf
Description: Inspired by its beachfront setting, Hotel del Coronado’s signature restaurant 1500 OCEAN spotlights California Coastal cuisine with fresh local ingredients. Start with a craft cocktail at the Sunset Bar overlooking the Pacific, and then venture inside for an epicurean adventure of seasonal dishes by French Master Chef Patrick Ponsaty paired with exceptional wines.
Reviewed October 18, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I ate here on our honeymoon as we weren’t watching the pennies. The setting is scenic, with most seats facing out towards the ocean and the decor is tasteful. Just watch out for loud groups of Americans who completely bring the tone down. We had a confident 5 course meal including plenty of seafood. The food was all incredibly nice and beautifully presented with completely knowledgeable staff who explained everything. A truly quality experience! Was very dear but I can’t moan as we both enjoyed our time there.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harold R, General Manager at 1500 OCEAN, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Dear James M,

Thank you for a lovely review. We’re delighted that you joined us at 1500 Ocean to celebrate your honeymoon. At 1500 OCEAN, our talented culinary team strives to craft inspiring, original dishes, and it sounds like they truly exceeded expectations. It was a joy to serve you and we hope you return for another meal soon.

Sincerely,

Jun Sur
Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 422 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2018

We had a wonderful dining experience at this incredible restaurant. The food was beautiful and delicious and Mark our waiter was knowledgeable and personable. It was definitely a pricey restaurant but the food wasn’t your run of the mill resort fare.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank patty h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harold R, General Manager at 1500 OCEAN, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Dear patty h,

How incredible it was to hear of your wonderful dining experience at 1500 OCEAN. We strive to use nothing less than the finest ingredients and innovative techniques with our cuisine, and we’re thrilled to know our menu impressed you. We hope to welcome you back for another meal soon.

Sincerely,

Jun Sur
Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We were there during Restaurant Week when participating restaurants have meals at a fixed price. The price here was $50 per person for a 3 course meal. If you wanted a main entrée of beef you had to add $14. My wife and I started with a calamari appetizer that was over inked risotto and was delicious. The main course we had was New York strip with Pepper sauce. My steak was tough, a choice cut at best. When the lady came by after the meal to check on us raved about the pepper sauce as a family recipe, I told her about my steak. No apology, just that they only serve the finest meat.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bbqmaster69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harold R, General Manager at 1500 OCEAN, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Dear bbqmaster69,

We are glad to have enjoyed your company during Restaurant Week. While we’re happy to note a few positive aspects of your meal, such as the calamari starter, we regret that your steak did not surpass expectations. Should you find yourself returning to Coronado, we are confident we can provide you with an improved experience.

Sincerely,

Zeke Curry
Assistant Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2018

In San Diego for a wedding, we had great friends who were willing to make the drive from Long Beach, and spend a night at the hotel so we could catch up. With that wonderful effort before us, we chose to take them for dinner at the flagship restaurant of the Hotel del Coronado.

We started with drinks out front at the Sunset Bar and were treated to fireworks (a one time deal we surmise) as the date and the zip code for Coronado (92118) matched up that day and they celebrated heartily!

We were seated at a nice quiet table, perused the menu, ordered wine and sat back and engaged in conversation. Our server was a consummate professional and proceeded to cork and serve, red and white wines without interrupting anyone. Rather promptly, our first course arrived and were well received by most everyone, except my dinner partner across the table. She had ordered a shrimp starter, not realizing it was like a bisque, rather than whole shrimps. When asked what could make it right, she laughed and jokingly said, a few whole grilled shrimp. Poof, 5 minutes later he delivers exactly that and saved the day.

We had a wonderful dinner, my loin of veal stuffed with lobster was unique to me and delicious. Everyone really enjoyed their mains and the night was a huge success. So what's so special? To have this restaurant located inside a 780 room resort hotel is remarkable to me. The chef, staff and management are to be commended on this delightful surprise.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RockridgeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harold R, General Manager at 1500 OCEAN, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2018

Dear RockridgeC,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. How wonderful that your evening at 1500 OCEAN was met with superb service and fantastic cuisine. Our dedicated staff aims to provide nothing less than efficient, friendly service to all our guests, and we’re thrilled you experienced this in every form. It was a pleasure to serve you and we look forward to your next meal with us.

Sincerely,

Zeke Curry
Assistant Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

We ate dinner here while staying at the Del, and while it was good we didn't think that it was great. I do understand that most hotel restaurants are overpriced and underwhelming, but this one seemed doubly so.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Joemoab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harold R, General Manager at 1500 OCEAN, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Dear Joemoab,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. At 1500 OCEAN, we strive to offer unique, delicious fare, and we regret that we did not exceed expectations during your dining experience. We hope to welcome you back at 1500 OCEAN for an improved meal.

Sincerely,

Zeke Curry
Assistant Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to 1500 OCEAN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing