We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Historic Hotel near the Del”
Review of Glorietta Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glorietta Bay Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historic Hotel near the Del”
Reviewed 14 December 2011

My mom was getting married that weekend in Coronado so we booked her a suite at the inn for 2 nights. The staff was so friendly and accommodating with all of our requests. The room was beautiful, had a very large balcony with a nice view, the bed comfortable and the bathroom was a good size to get ready in. The hotel has great history and the room had the original little wall safe that the original owner used to use. The only downside was that the room was on the 2nd floor and my mom's fiance had broken his ankle in a round of golf the day before. There isn't elevator access to the 2nd floor. If mobility issues - definitely request a room on the first floor.

Room Tip: We booked the Sugar Baron Suite - "Originally the private bedroom of Mrs. Spreckels, this king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyA5412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    249
    49
    20
    10
See reviews for
254
424
35
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We celebrated my husband's birthday at the Glorietta Bay Inn in early October. The property is located across the street from the Hotel Del. We stayed in a suite. I suggest staying in the Mansion for the "'true' Glorietta experience. The staff were pleasant and very helpful. Easy walking to the quaint town of Coronado. So much to see and do on the island.

Room Tip: The suites are being refurbished. The Mansion rooms are quaint and each has a story and are in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debe5069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
191 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Across the street from the Del. Glorietta's main building has an interesting history. Easy walking distance to the beach...personalized service....high quality continental breakfast ++ Rooms on the second floor in the main building are definitely the preferred choice. Rooms well appointed with attention to detail. Visit the Del but stay at Glorietta.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theroadwarrior12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty, MO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I am a rather picky person, and I found everything about Glorietta Inn enjoyable. We stayed in a suite that had two bathrooms which made my teenager very happy to have her own private bathroom like at home. You get the luxury of soft robes when you get out of the shower. Dan at the front desk helped me with my reservations, and he made sure that everything about our stay satisfied our family needs. The continental breakfast was very upscale and then some. I really can't say enough nice things about this hotel....clean, friendly staff, across from the Del Hotel. The beach is just right across the street!

Room Tip: Ask for Dan, and he will make sure your stay is GREAT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PlayaFun2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Really friendly place. Great location three minutes walk to the beach. We had a terrific room and stayed for a month last winter (they gave us a great discount for the extended stay). A definite recommend from us.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Our friends had stayed here before and we were traveling with them. That is how we ended up here. Having said that we really enjoyed our stay.

To begin we were not wild about being on the ground level. When we returned to the desk to request another room, Jay was happy to help. We looked at 2 other rooms and ended up in a room to our liking. Each room we saw was very different and our friends confirmed there is no "standard layout". As an added bonus we received a bottle of wine and a box of chocolates from the manager. Jay cheerfully brought us from our first room. A great start.

Hotel is accross the street from The Hotel Del so location is good. Staff was all great. We tip our maids daily and received very nice thank you note each afternoon. Breakfast was okay but we decided to go out for 2 out of 3 days we were there. Hotel started life as a mansion and public rooms have some interesting pictures.

I would definately stay here again if we go back to Coronado.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcdogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

What a dream place! Just across from the bay, delicious continental breakfast, extraordinarily helpful staff. Couldn't say more about this hotel. We've tried the other 'name' places in Coronado, but don't find they compare.

Room Tip: We personally like the little rooms overlooking the bay, but the bigger rooms with balconies are ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brady999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
0.5 km away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.2 km away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 km away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#9 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
5.9 km away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.2 km away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glorietta Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glorietta Bay Inn

Property: Glorietta Bay Inn
Address: 1630 Glorietta Blvd, Coronado, CA 92118-2913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coronado
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#3 Business Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glorietta Bay Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glorietta Bay Inn is Coronado’s best boutique hotel. One block to the beach and just steps away from shopping and dining, this Coronado hotel invites you to experience award-winning guest service, ideal location, and abundant history and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Glorietta Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glorietta Bay Coronado
Glorietta Bay Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing