We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, great food, excellent service!”
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 109 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Orange Ave.
Transit: Metrolink
Description: Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. This award-winning restaurant offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience. Specialties include wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; a wide variety of desserts; and fresh baked bread made daily from scratch. Winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007.
Reviewed September 16, 2018

Make sure you ask for a table by the window or on the patio. Great views of the bay. The food was very good, the wine selection good and they service really is over the top.Very good.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 873 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Best place for italian food in San Diego, the food is great and the view is really spectacular, wow service, they are always very kind and you can have very good drinks and authentic italian food, this place is a “must” when you come over to San Diego...simply the best!!!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank arturoaguilar68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2018

Brought the family here for what we hoped would be a memorable Italian birthday meal and celebration with warm hospitable service. We were disappointed on every level. The highlight was the bread; everything else was a letdown. Service was very lackluster and the food was nothing to rave about. We had children in our party, and we felt as if the staff did not wish to serve us; this is not what we usually experience in an Italian eatery. The meal was overpriced for the poor service and food. Will not be returning.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

This is my favorite Italian restaurant. Highly recommend. I love the butternut squash ravioli. They are very accommodating and even prepared a fettuccini Alfredo with shrimp that wasn’t on the menu but my friend had requested.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank LoveTravel666005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2018

We had lunch here with my son and wife. The waiter who name escapes was excellent. The view was of the bay and it was beautiful. After lunch our waiter brought us a beautiful cake with the words spelled Happy Anniversary on the plate.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fredrick0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing