We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, with nice deor and atmosphere---great addition”
Review of Water Grill

Water Grill
Ranked #14 of 570 Restaurants in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 6, 2018

This is a large restaurant, but it does not feel that way because the manner in which they divided up the dining areas was ingenious---the two large bars separate the space so that it creates more of a warm and pleasant atmosphere. We were here for a late, light lunch and our pleasant server helped us choose exactly what we were looking for. We shared the Uni Toast (spectacular), the Washington Kumamoto Oysters, the Octopus with Tomato, the Traditional Lobster Roll and the Crudo Sampler. We added some Rombauer Chardonnay and left extremely pleased. We will definitely be back.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank adalbert3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 142 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2018 via mobile

Really nice restaurant where the old Scott's used to be. It is walking distance from the Segerstrom in case you are catching a show.
Service is fast and the seafood is really good!!
There is also a sushi bar. Fresh sucked oysters if you desire. We had a seafood platter appetizer. Nice beer and wine selection.
Love the open space!!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank gatecrasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2018

Formerly Scots Seafood has been totally revamped with new decor and image. Visited the LA Watergrill 25 years ago.
The location has always been a hit. The Water Gril menu offers good variety. We loved the crab legs. Mostly grazed on small plates but will explore the menu in greater detail in upcoming visits for sure. Service was attentive. We spent three hours talking, drinking and eating. Not rushed at all. The manager comped deserts, a treat!
Definitely a place for fresh seafood.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Hoverbutton74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 23, 2017

The Water Grill is my new favorite restaurant in Orange County, CA!! Beautiful decor and ambiance. The patio offers a range of comfortable seating in a lovely setting. However the fresh seafood, gorgeous presentation, and superb service are the draw, so much so that I had dinner there twice during my ten-day visit! Many thanks to manager Josh for his professional oversight and personable welcome (he doesn't miss a beat) and to our server (Adrianna? from Orlando) for her skilled and caring service. Can't wait for my next visit!

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TKM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2017 via mobile

Haven’t been here since it was Scots years ago. So glad it was recommended. Easy valet service, nicely laid out with indoor or outdoor area. Huge bar with lots of specialty drinks, wine cellar, raw bar that was so good I’ll be back for just that! Had brunch with friends on a Sunday morning. Attentive staff, excellent fresh cinnamon rolls and tomato goat cheese quiche was outstanding! I’ll be back!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Suzie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Water Grill also viewed

Costa Mesa, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 
Costa Mesa, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 

Been to Water Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing