We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Culver Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Culver City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Loved our overnight stay at this memorable hotel. They've upgraded the rooms in recent months, so that there's a nice modern flair to the property, while still preserving the architectural integrity of the building.

Built in 1928, it still punctuates downtown Culver City with its historical charm. Inside, you'll see a mash of varying styles of furniture, yet it all works together to provide a chic, yet retro feel to the premises.

Food is good, whether you're doing the Happy Hour thing, or dining in the lobby to enjoy the live music that is offered several times a week.

One suggestion, if you're sensitive to sound, book on one of the higher floors, as the night scene in Culver City, especially on the weekends can be quite lively.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for joining us and enjoying your stay Ms Grathy :)
Love the fact you appreciated the mix of old and new, Landmark and renovated, busy yet tranquil.
We actually have music 7 days a week in our Grand Lobby, different band each night.
With the triangular shape of the building, 2 of the sides are away from the noise of the busstle of Culver City.
See you again.
Seth
GM
The Culver Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I got married at the Culver hotel and had our reception there. We spent the night the evening of our wedding, too. Everything was PERFECT. They went above and beyond my expectations. So pleased.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giselle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

It was such a pleasure being a part of your celebration Giselle.
We look forward to you coming back again and again to celebrate your anniversaries.
Thank you.

Seth
GM
The Culver Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

More than just elegant, and very clean, the cool atmosphere in the lobby is a real scene. Once I was done taking care of my work in my quiet, sophisticated, contemporary room, in this 1924 Art Deco period hotel, I went right downstairs to the lobby to take in some live music, jazz & swing, which they have 7 nights a week, free admission for all. I mingled with professional people, from different corporate industries, and the locals who came out just because it’s such a good hang. This is the kind of place I would want my date to take me. Food is delicious and very reasonable. Happy hour has great prices, too. I consider my stay first rate, and the management and staff are downright embracing. I not only had a great stay, I got in some socializing, even met new friends, and built new relationships. A fulfilling and pleasant experience. It's obvious that the Culver Hotel has definitely established themselves as the heart of the community. I know I will come back just to hang out, eat, and see what they have going on, a unique place, indeed. It was actually hard to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thank you Amy, you write beautifully.
Nothing more needs to be said by me!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We have stayed at the Culver Hotel 4 times in the past 6 years. It was charming ...but now with new management and the upgrades and redecorating done ,it is truly a Gem. Seth the new general manager is ebulient and attentive. David also excellent. Actually, all the staff are professional and ready to bend over backwards for anything you need. The lobby ,in years past, was quiet and did not have much going on. Now it is a hub of activity ,music and happy hour socializing.The management has gone above and beyond to turn this hotel into a unique,boutique place to stay. I can't wait for my next visit. The breakfast has some nice touches....warm croissants and little balls of butter....classy! The bartenders and waitstaff are all great and attentive. Remember this hotel is really old and there are some things that are still a little rough around the edges ..like the paint in the elevator. We discussed with Seth the need for a travel book in each room with maps etc..that is in the works . The only criticism- the bathroom lighting not quite bright enough and the bath tub -slippery. We highly recommend this hotel!!!

Room Tip: due to the shape of the hotel and the age-all the rooms are small but very nice and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpinfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Thank you! The renovations were substantially completed in late 2011, and we are ready for our close-up. Thanks for recognizing the lovely people who work here, it makes it such a pleasure coming to work. Thanks for the suggestions as well. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Great staff, wonderful location and comfortable rooms. A great value!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Great review, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is a vintage hotel from the 1920s, set on an irregularly shaped piece of land, so expect the rooms to be quirky in shape, layout and amenities. (This is not the Sheraton. Nor is it meant to be.) But overall, the Culver Hotel couldn't be a better value: the rooms have been recently renovated and are well-appointed and clean, to the point of smelling a little like disinfectant. The staff was very courteous and there's a great lobby bar with regular live jazz and excellent happy hour specials. It's also in a walk-able neighborhood, adjacent to the Sony Pictures studio, which makes this a great place for morning strolls. (The burning of Atlanta scene from 'Gone With The Wind' was filmed just up the block.) We stayed in a King Suite which was roomy and very nice.All in all, I would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for room's on the south side of the building so you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CostaLina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

It is amazing how accessible Los Angeles County is from our hotel. Close to the 10 Freeway, with equidistance to Santa Monica, South Bay, Beverly Hills, Hollywood and Downtown LA. Thanks for coming and we look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

For my presentation on a new book about the 1900 first edition of The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, the staff of the William Andrews Clark Memorial Library (part of UCLA but located near Culver City) recommended the Culver Hotel. I knew that the hotel had been home of the Munchkins and other actors in 1938, so I looked forward to the stay.

But what a stay it proved to be! The elegant 1920s architecture has been preserved and enhanced with outstanding sympathy for the period and the lines of the building itself. My hurried registration was handled expertly by David Hall, whom I had talked with months before. He was expecting me. Later Seth Horowitz, the hotel's manager, greeted me personally and immediately got me hot tea with honey because I had laryngitis and need to make a speech in two hours.

The hotel has just six floors, and it has almost a flat-iron shape. As a result, my room was shaped like a long trapezoid, imaginatively decorated with three large windows facing the Santa Monica mountains in the bedroom, and a fourth large window in the well appointed bathroom. The bathroom window is frosted only on the lower half so you can see the mountains through the top while in the shower!

At night, the grand lobby functions as a large, bustling bar with dancing and music and is delightfully crowded. By morning the same lobby serves as the place for a well selected continental breakfast. Adjacent to the hotel is a pleasant pedestrian mall and a good-sized movie house. Chairs and tables adjacent to hotel serve as a place for drinks and snacks, and, given California's cool nights, there are elegant gas-fired heating towers strategically placed.

The beautiful Culver Studios complex is steps away from the front of the hotel, and there's even a tribute to the MGM classic, The Wizard of Oz, as a miniature diorama to the right of the hotel's entrance.

The Culver Hotel is a gem!

Room Tip: Call ahead and discuss your plans and goals with the staff. They listen. Rooms on the north side fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterHanff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

We really enjoyed reading your review Prof. Hanff, as well as meeting you. You have an appreciation for the History of our wonderful little hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culver City
4.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Los Angeles Westside
4.8 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Westside
2.5 km away
Travelodge Culver City
Travelodge Culver City
#4 of 8 in Culver City
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Ramada Culver City
Ramada Culver City
#7 of 8 in Culver City
168 reviews
4.6 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Los Angeles Westside
6.9 km away
Marina Del Rey Hotel
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Culver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Culver Hotel

Address: 9400 Culver Blvd, Culver City, CA 90232-2617
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Culver City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Culver City
Price Range: $395 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Culver Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Culver Hotel is "THE" hotel of Culver City, in the heart of the wonderfully active Downtown. Within walking distance of a multitude of gastronomic options and Sony Studios and The Culver Studios. The renovation, completed in December of 2011, brings a modern touch to the classic beauty of this 1924 building. High cielings, large windows and service to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Culver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culver City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing