We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”
Review of Coastal Kitchen

Coastal Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Coastal Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 149 Restaurants in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are locals, so always looking to add to the short list of favorites. While we expected the relatively high prices and tasty food (dinners) for that price, it was the happy hour and unique small plates that we found pleasantly surprising. First visit was with a larger group, so we had the opportunity to taste items I would normally not have ordered. Brie is fantastic, good tacos and special mention of one of the best Key Lime pies not found in the keys. Happy hour drinks are reasonable. Personally, we enjoy the patio and the outdoor weather - great service anywhere you site!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank watergirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 112 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2018

We stopped here for lunch on a whim. We were not disappointed! Shrimp cocktail appetizer was huge and delicious. The Ahi Tuna and Crab Cake salads were both equally delicious! Good service and the patio dining was lovely.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marlaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2018

We have become "regulars" at Coastal Kitchen so take this review for what it is. We enjoy happy hour here pretty often. Some favorites include the burger, the fries, the tacos, and the brussel sprouts. Although the place is too expensive overall, you can get some good bites and some good drinks (wine, beer, spirits). The bartenders are AWESOME and the decor is perfect for sleepy Dana Point.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank biggsy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

This is located on Pacific Coast Highway. The place is actually lovely, clean, staff is great and the food excellent. If you want to enjoy even more make sure to ask for seating by the window that overlooks the kitchen. Everything looks nice and neat and the cooks are preparing food while you wait for yours.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank petitesandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Coastal Kitchen is a beautifully designed and appointed restaurant, but the cuisine is very inconsistent. My wife and I have been there 4 times and it can be pretty good and it can be not so good. There are better restaurants in Dana Point to focus on.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coastal Kitchen also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Coastal Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing