We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,975)
Filter reviews
2,975 results
Traveller rating
2,023
504
219
130
99
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,023
504
219
130
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursebeach clubst regisstonehill tavernbutler servicebeautiful propertylobby barturn down servicemain poolthe ritzkids poolfour seasonspool staffhigh endpool viewbottle of champagnesouthern california
Filter
Updating list...
2,397 - 2,402 of 2,975 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We have been coming to this hotel for 3 years in a row now. From the moment you enter the St Regis Monarch Beach you know you are in one of the finest hotels in all of the US. The portico and the reception area are stunning examples of neoclassical architecure redone in a not-over-the-top manner. The staff are as friendly and well trained as any staff I have encountered in hotels around the world. Rooms seem to be cleaned by elves, as our room has always been straightened and cleaned nearly everytime we leave the room (even for 20 minutes) though I have never seen a maid... Rooms are stylish, comfortable and a little "jazzy" in their decor, often with fine (but distant) views of the ocean. However, this is probably the only hotel in the world were the term "pool view" is not a negative - the garden and pool area of this hotel is a landscaping masterpiece which just glows at night. Everything at this hotel is fanatastic - service, food, rooms, pool, ambiance. The down-side? The golf course (while very challenging and scenic) is typically not in very good shape.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

Jim R:
Thank you for glowing review on The St. Regis Monarch Beach. We really appreciate your kind words and hope to have you back very soon.

Best-
The Executive Offices’ at The St. Regis Monarch Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Nice local getaway beautiful property. Nice loung bar with live band on weekends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kokolig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I just returned from this beautiful property and was won over by the magnificent entrance and welcome area. The front desk agent promptly greeted us and you could tell he was genuine in appreciation of our business. The bellman took us to our room, which was upgraded due to my platinum amex. The room was great and a fine balance between comfortable luxury and modern ammenities and style. The pools and property are fantastic. Dana Point is gorgeous.

My reasons for not a perfect score: we requested an early check in on our reservation. I called two days before to see what they suggested, they said to call the day of and they could tell us. Called the day off and they said its a first come first serve basis and we had to be there in person. Just seemed inconsistent answers. The early check in was important to us as our time in the area was super short. They did however meet our request. Just wish I woulda been told the correct answer the first call. Next, the bellman took us to our room and couldn't get our keys to work. He used his master key to let us in and radiod the front desk, they allegedly activated the keys. After we got comfortable and set up in our room we went to go grab some breakfast. Went back to our room and our keys still didn't work. Our room was a ways away from the front desk and it was frustrating it wasn't fixed as stated already. Next the vallet service was hit and miss. The first time we needed our car we called and it was promptly ready, the next time we called it wasn't ready but it was parked closely up front so we walked to it but the keys weren't in it. Waited another ten min to get assistance from vallet to just get the keys. Finally at night we wanted room service. First call we were told they would call us back as the kitchen was busy. Fifteen minutes later we called back, was transfered, then hung up on. Third call we were again told within ten minutes we would get a call back. I just think there is a bit of confusion or chaos amoungst the staff.

However, every employee we encountered was fantastic and helpful. Made us feel like the joint was our own. The fresh flowers everywhere is so nice. I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank devdog56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I recently stayed at the St. Regis, Monarch Beach while attending a conference. This was my second time staying at this resort. As the first time, this is an exceptional hotel / resort. I highly recommend. The staff were very attentive and polite. I was traveling with my wife and older children, so the hotel arranged for us to have connecting rooms which worked out very well. The room was well equipped and very comfortable. Would definitely stay here again. Views are incredible especially when the sun is setting. Anyone staying at the hotel must take the time to go to the beach via the tram. An extraordinary beach for the Pacific coast. Josh, the tram driver was great. Made us feel very welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is either on a high floor and must look over the pool.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the St. Regis Monarch Beach resort for conferences. The location between Laguna Beach and San Juan Capistrano with cliff top views of the Pacific and Catalina Island is terrific. The hotel offers a golf course, a nice beach reachable via a long walk or shuttle and some extensive nature trails in adjoining preserves that are very nice for a walk or a jog. Service was very good but resort fee, valet fee, maid fee are added to bill. Limitations include relative isolation and, at least in January, only one restaurant open on Monday and Tuesday so your dining choices limited if you want to stay in the hotel during the week. However, opening of free champagne with saber at the bar one night was a great show. Many excellent restaurants 15 - 30 minutes drive away. Also, spa while very attractive physically was understaffed when we used it.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the ocean or the interior courtyard and pool are preferred and some rooms can be very far from the lobby where all the action is. Lobby is on level five, with most rooms on lower levels as the hotel descends a slope, so higher floors and closer to lobby preferable.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdocBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews