We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay at the Ritz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monarch Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay at the Ritz”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Here's the deal...the hotel is more like a conference type hotel...the grounds and pool area are really nice. With the exception of the workout facility, the rest of the inside is dated and worn down. Our Ocean View room was subpar and not really what I would define as an ocean view. The food options are really limited and way overpriced for what you get. Most importantly, the service level was below average. The Ritz(which is right on the beach and has beautiful grounds as well) is just a whole lot better. We actually went to the Ritz for dinner both nights and lunch one day because the quality, service, and food options were just better. It felt like a 5 star experience at the Ritz and next time we will stay there.

My three biggest complaints about the St. Regis:
Our room was right above the courtyard area and the staff decided to setup for an early morning breakfast at 5:00am and it was so loud. After four phone calls at 5:00 in the morning, we were told that we could move rooms. Unacceptable.

Anytime we wanted something at the pool...we had to go find the server. They would not walk around and "serve".

The room keys get de-magnatized and stop working all the time. Just annoying when the front desk is so far away from the room.

If you really want to enjoy yourself at this amazing location, stay at the Ritz...you will not regret it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JS3145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear JS3145:
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at The St. Regis Monarch Beach.

We will share your dissatisfaction with management, and make sure we rectify these problems in the future.

Thank you and safe travels,

The Executive Offices
St. Regis Monarch Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,317
    385
    177
    109
    85
See reviews for
558
658
49
475
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We recently had the privilege of a stay at the St Regis. After I had made a mess of booking a stay at a nearby hotel for our wedding anniversary David, the manager at the St Regis, stepped in and saved the day. We were given a suite which was easily the nicest room that my wife and I have stayed in during all of our travels around the world. The hotel's grounds are phenomenal and the level of service even better.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We had a great time at the St. Regis, and knew it wasn't on the beach when we booked it. We decided to stay there instead of the Ritz because it seemed to have a more modern (less stuffy) feel to it. It did, but instead of providing that unique experience you look for in a high end hotel, it just felt way too big. It felt crowded - from check-in, valet, to the restaurant for brunch (there was a 20 min wait) to the beach. They have carts to drive you to their private beach - loved the beach. But getting back to the hotel, the wait was 15-20 min. The room was very spacious and extremely nice, with a very nice bathroom as well. Again great time, but may venture elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
SeaTraveler77-
Thank you for choosing to stay at The St. Regis Monarch Beach. In our summer months, the pool, beach, and restaurants do get busy, but we try to accommodate everyone's needs the best and fastest we can.

Hope you come back and stay with us soon.

The Executive Offices
St. Regis Monarch Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Have stayed here previously, but this time for only one night. This place has it all. From check in to check out. The staff was excellent including a man standing around offering you water bottles or any thing that you needed. Location and view was awesome. Beautiful pool area. While not on beach, a short ride down (provided by hotel). Asked for a late check out, no problem. Looking Forward to a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macdad25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

The grounds of the property were absolutely beautiful! Could not have asked for a better experience! The service was excellent and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roundie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Roundie:
Thank you very much for the glowing review of The St. Regis Monarch Beach. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and didn't want to leave! Hope you can come back and visit us again soon.

Thanks again,
The Executive Office
St. Regis Monarch Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

My family just spent 6 nights at spring break. the hotel is beautiful, rooms very nice.(not on the beach, we knew that) the hotel was not up to St. Regis standards.- slow checkin, Motif resturant was very slow with the food, food and drink service ended at the kids pool at 4pm- on spring break? twice I called for my car in valet and they forgot to bring it around. I could go on. So try the Montage or Ritz instead of the St. Regis.( both the Montage and Ritz are on the beach) If the St. Regis wants to compete with high end resorts the staff must do better- in this case the resort Manager must have been on spring break.

Room Tip: corner executive suite on 4th floor was very nice. All the ocean view suites were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Hi mikeparker:
Thank you for your review. We are sorry the service was not up to your liking. We will report to management your concerns about the slow staff. We are happy to hear however, that you enjoyed the ocean view and suite. Hopefully you can come back and visit us soon, and the service will be five star. Thank you.

The Executive Offices
St. Regis Monarch Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curacao
Level Contributor
134 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

If you like golf, this place is for you. Great golf course. Rooms are nice . Service is good. Hotel is pricey but value is there. The RC nearby - has a far superior location on the water, but RC Laguna Niguel has other issues such as lack of maintenance , Dirty carpets, declining service levels, etc….

Room Tip: Request a suite upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colorblind123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.9 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
4.6 km away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
9.4 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 km away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
31.6 km away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,158 reviews
3.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Beach Resort

Property: Monarch Beach Resort
Address: 1 Monarch Beach Resort, Dana Point, CA 92629-4085 (Formerly St. Regis, Monarch Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Monarch Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our AAA Five-Diamond sanctuary is sublimely located near Southern California's renowned destinations, including Catalina Island and Dana Point Harbor. Nestled hillside overlooking a private beach, discover an array of adventuresome experiences at our coveted Orange County resort. From thrilling water sports, to championship golf links, to acclaimed Miraval Life in Balance Spa, encounter lasting memories at our pristine coastal locale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monarch Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis, Monarch Beach Hotel Dana Point
St Regis Dana Point
St Regis Resort Monarch Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing