We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$200
US$150
DanaPointMarina
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel(Dana Point)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$299
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$253
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$276
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$219
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn(Dana Point)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$839
US$639
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$821/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,843)
Filter reviews
2,848 results
Traveller rating
1,929
483
212
127
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,929
483
212
127
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursebeach clubstonehill tavernst regisbutler servicegrounds are beautifulturn down servicebeautiful hotellobby barmain poolkids poolthe ritzpool stafffour seasonshigh endpool viewsouthern california
Filter
Updating list...
1,109 - 1,114 of 2,848 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2016

The $40M+ renovation at Monarch Beach is amazing! We stayed at this resort a few months ago during the renovation and decided to return to see the finished product which can only be described as "amazing"! Despite everything being brand new, seeing so many familiar faces among the staff members was comforting. It appears that the staff is even more attentive than before and willing to go the extra mile to please their guests. The name recognition was apparent everywhere we dined and the courteous attitude was genuine. We have stayed and all the great hotels up and down PCH and I must say that Monarch Beach is a great alternative to the others which have become overpriced and pretentious - one in particular in Newport Coast which seems to have lost its edge and is now charging for resort fees and parking in what must be desperate times. If you are looking for an honest and comfortable place to stay between Newport Beach and Dana Point, Monarch Beach checks all things off the list and is a must stay. Thank you for the unexpected special touches and recognition regarding our special occasion and for making us feel like special guests...we'll be back!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a coastal view. Easier access to walking trails including the ocean and less pool noise.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FCMichiganFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonarchBResort, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2016

Dear FCMichiganFans,

Wow, thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We believe that the 'new' Monarch Beach Resort is the one place with all the right elements to capture the affections of anyone who has ever had a love affair with beach, and to create an even stronger bond with our resort guests, members and the greater community.

Thank you again and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back to our beach house on the coast in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

Formerly St. Regis, the New, Improved and Now
Renamed THE MONARCH BAY RESORT, is
Gorgeous! The Open-Air Lobby Boasts the
Beautiful Ocean View and Expansive green lawn n gardens beyond Pools.
The new additional family pool adjacent to main pool, Bar, Infinity Ocean View Jacuzzi are just a few of the new additions. All rooms have been renovated, new restaurants, MIRAVAL SPA!!!
Shuttle to beach easy breezy, Love the Private Beach Club with beach chair,umbrella, towel service! Terrific beachside Restaurant and in summer; beach hut service, bar, bbq.
Will Be Back!!!❤️❤️

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank ILuv2tvl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonarchBResort, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2016

Dear ILuv2tvl2,

I am thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to have you back to the Resort soon.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

We recently spent 8 nights at the Monarch beach Resort and loved every moment of it. I had not visited the property previously but if you like fresh, coastal and beautiful interiors you will love this hotel. The stunning terrace really frames the view. If you prefer more formal, dark wooded interiors then perhaps this is not for you but I couldn't speak more highly of the lobby and bar area. The staff were fantastic, Heather and Oana on the front desk were incredibly helpful and very efficient with any requests or concerns. We loved the new pool area and the cocktails and Mexican food were perfect for hot summer days. The staff down by the ball were always very helpful and efficient. We had a few dinners at Aveo and loved the relaxed dining feel. The live music was great and really set the tone for each of the nights. We were travelling with our baby girls and hope we can return soon. It was a truly wonderful holiday!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Sydneytravellers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonarchBResort, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2016

Dear AmalfiTravellers,

Thank you for staying at Monarch Beach Resort during your visit to Orange County, California. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be a part of our one-of-a-kind beach house hospitality family. I look forward to having you return for many years to come.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2016

The new décor, service and general atmosphere of this resort are excellent!
We spent the weekend at the new Monarch Beach resort and had the most relaxing, pampered experience.
We had a massage at their spa, had breakfast at their Aveo restaurant, had dinner at Stonehill Tavern and dinner at their beach front restaurant. Every single dining experience was above expectation.
The staff goes out of their way to make your stay perfect from the moment you check in to the moment to check out.
Highly recommend it.
I

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salstar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonarchBResort, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2016

Dear salstar77,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your recent stay at the Monarch Beach Resort. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming back to our coastal beach house in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

All I have to say is wow. Just wow. The staff is so outstanding. Not to mention a giant luxurious hotel with a breathtaking private beach. If you want to go on vacation. Let me tell you. The St. Regis is where you want to be. From delicious restaurants, to waves at the beach, the St. Regis has got it all.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank bennym1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonarchBResort, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2016

Dear bennym1121,

Thank you for the incredible compliment! I look forward to having you return for many years to come.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews