We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Husbands 60th Birthday stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monarch Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2016

I surprised my husband with a stay at Monarch Beach Resort... It is a beautiful resort! Brittni Sneyd was our Guest Loyalty Coordinator that help make it so special. Upon arrival they greeted us with champagne, very nice touch! Our room was beautiful & after we had a great lunch over looking the ocean, back at our room was a really nice card & chocolates for my husbands birthday. The pool & jacuzzi was fabulous & the views from the hotel was just gorgeous! We also golfed the following day on the most beautiful course. It was a wonderful weekend get-away...I would definitely recommend this hotel to family & friends!!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonarchBResort, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Dear Cathy S.,

We are honored that you chose to celebrate this milestone at the Monarch Beach Resort. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be a part of our one-of-a-kind beach house hospitality family. Thank you for your kind words and we hope you will visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

808 - 814 of 2,552 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2016

The $40M+ renovation at Monarch Beach is amazing! We stayed at this resort a few months ago during the renovation and decided to return to see the finished product which can only be described as "amazing"! Despite everything being brand new, seeing so many familiar faces among the staff members was comforting. It appears that the staff is even more attentive than before and willing to go the extra mile to please their guests. The name recognition was apparent everywhere we dined and the courteous attitude was genuine. We have stayed and all the great hotels up and down PCH and I must say that Monarch Beach is a great alternative to the others which have become overpriced and pretentious - one in particular in Newport Coast which seems to have lost its edge and is now charging for resort fees and parking in what must be desperate times. If you are looking for an honest and comfortable place to stay between Newport Beach and Dana Point, Monarch Beach checks all things off the list and is a must stay. Thank you for the unexpected special touches and recognition regarding our special occasion and for making us feel like special guests...we'll be back!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a coastal view. Easier access to walking trails including the ocean and l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FCMichiganFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonarchBResort, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Dear FCMichiganFans,

Wow, thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We believe that the 'new' Monarch Beach Resort is the one place with all the right elements to capture the affections of anyone who has ever had a love affair with beach, and to create an even stronger bond with our resort guests, members and the greater community.

Thank you again and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back to our beach house on the coast in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Formerly St. Regis, the New, Improved and Now
Renamed THE MONARCH BAY RESORT, is
Gorgeous! The Open-Air Lobby Boasts the
Beautiful Ocean View and Expansive green lawn n gardens beyond Pools.
The new additional family pool adjacent to main pool, Bar, Infinity Ocean View Jacuzzi are just a few of the new additions. All rooms have been renovated, new restaurants, MIRAVAL SPA!!!
Shuttle to beach easy breezy, Love the Private Beach Club with beach chair,umbrella, towel service! Terrific beachside Restaurant and in summer; beach hut service, bar, bbq.
Will Be Back!!!❤️❤️

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank ILuv2tvl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonarchBResort, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Dear ILuv2tvl2,

I am thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to have you back to the Resort soon.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

We recently spent 8 nights at the Monarch beach Resort and loved every moment of it. I had not visited the property previously but if you like fresh, coastal and beautiful interiors you will love this hotel. The stunning terrace really frames the view. If you prefer more formal, dark wooded interiors then perhaps this is not for you but I couldn't speak more highly of the lobby and bar area. The staff were fantastic, Heather and Oana on the front desk were incredibly helpful and very efficient with any requests or concerns. We loved the new pool area and the cocktails and Mexican food were perfect for hot summer days. The staff down by the ball were always very helpful and efficient. We had a few dinners at Aveo and loved the relaxed dining feel. The live music was great and really set the tone for each of the nights. We were travelling with our baby girls and hope we can return soon. It was a truly wonderful holiday!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Sydneytravellers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonarchBResort, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Dear AmalfiTravellers,

Thank you for staying at Monarch Beach Resort during your visit to Orange County, California. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be a part of our one-of-a-kind beach house hospitality family. I look forward to having you return for many years to come.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

The new décor, service and general atmosphere of this resort are excellent!
We spent the weekend at the new Monarch Beach resort and had the most relaxing, pampered experience.
We had a massage at their spa, had breakfast at their Aveo restaurant, had dinner at Stonehill Tavern and dinner at their beach front restaurant. Every single dining experience was above expectation.
The staff goes out of their way to make your stay perfect from the moment you check in to the moment to check out.
Highly recommend it.
I

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salstar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonarchBResort, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Dear salstar77,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your recent stay at the Monarch Beach Resort. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming back to our coastal beach house in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

All I have to say is wow. Just wow. The staff is so outstanding. Not to mention a giant luxurious hotel with a breathtaking private beach. If you want to go on vacation. Let me tell you. The St. Regis is where you want to be. From delicious restaurants, to waves at the beach, the St. Regis has got it all.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank bennym1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonarchBResort, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Dear bennym1121,

Thank you for the incredible compliment! I look forward to having you return for many years to come.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016

The second I entered the hotel a wave of relaxation came upon me, then reality hit and I had to be downstairs for a faction. Regardless of the reason for enjoying the hotel, room was large and very comfortable as the bed was comfortable, bathrooms clean and a great place to recharge after very busy days.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdodgerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonarchBResort, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Dear gdodgerfan,

We are delighted you enjoyed your experience at the Monarch Beach Resort. It was a pleasure having you join us for your conference, and it sounds as if you were able to sneak in a little R&R too!

I look forward to welcoming you back to our coastal playground in the future.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.9 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
9.4 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
825 reviews
16.7 km away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#4 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 23 in Laguna Beach
907 reviews
7.7 km away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
494 reviews
8.6 km away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Beach Resort

Address: 1 Monarch Beach Resort, Dana Point, CA 92629-4085 (Formerly St. Regis, Monarch Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: $366 - $1,032 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Monarch Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our AAA Five-Diamond resort overlooks the Pacific and offers private beach club access, with watersports, oceanfront golf, award-winning Miraval Life in Balance Spa, swimming pools, upscale dining, activities programs and more. Located in Dana Point, the resort offers easy access to a variety of Southern California attractions including Catalina Island, Dana Point Harbor, Laguna art galleries and events, Disneyland and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Monarch Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis, Monarch Beach Hotel Dana Point
St Regis Dana Point
St Regis Resort Monarch Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing