We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monarch Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$200
US$150
DanaPointMarina
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$222/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$189
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel(Dana Point)(Great Value!)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$247
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$256/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$599
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$680/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$241/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,787)
Filter reviews
2,788 results
Traveller rating
1,887
476
208
125
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,887
476
208
125
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursebeach clubstonehill tavernst regisbutler servicebeautiful propertyturn down servicelobby barmain poolthe ritzkids poolpool stafffour seasonshigh endpool viewsouthern californiaorange county
Filter
Updating list...
1,046 - 1,051 of 2,788 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the former St. Regis over the 4th of July weekend. Rumor was, it had recently undergone some changes, including in ownership. The changes turned out to be good in terms of the facilities; bad in terms of service. As to the property, the pool, cabanas and lobby have been nicely updated and upgraded. The spa, too, was better, although it's a maze.
The real issue was service. Their website is hard to navigate, and scheduling services and amenities was a disaster. Despite several confirmations-by telephone and email-that we had booked a cabana, they had no record of it; and despite 3 attempts to cancel a spa appointment, they called us in a panic to ask us why we weren't at our appointment!
So, nice property, but with lots of bugs to fix to get back to St. Regis service levels.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank sp30166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonarchBResort, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2016

Dear sp30166,

Thank you for taking the time to detail your experience at the Monarch Beach Resort. Although I am pleased that you have shared some positive comments, I am disappointed that it was not a flawless stay for you and I will share your feedback with the involved departments, for further investigation, review and training.

Please allow me the opportunity of discussing your comments further so that we can examine the issues which you have noted. I may be reached at 949-234-3301.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2016

My husband and myself had delicious dinner and beautiful view.Food was delicious,service was authentic and atmosphere was pleasant.Sitting out on the patio watching Ocean and pool view was great.Atmosphere was very pleasant and beautiful

Room Tip: Rooms have beautiful oceanview,enjoy in your room
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SVFROVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonarchBResort, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2016

Dear SVGROVER,

Thank you for your compliments and indeed, we are very proud of our "million dollar" views from our newly renovated restaurant Aveo Table + Bar!

I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2016

I surprised my husband with a stay at Monarch Beach Resort... It is a beautiful resort! Brittni Sneyd was our Guest Loyalty Coordinator that help make it so special. Upon arrival they greeted us with champagne, very nice touch! Our room was beautiful & after we had a great lunch over looking the ocean, back at our room was a really nice card & chocolates for my husbands birthday. The pool & jacuzzi was fabulous & the views from the hotel was just gorgeous! We also golfed the following day on the most beautiful course. It was a wonderful weekend get-away...I would definitely recommend this hotel to family & friends!!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonarchBResort, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2016

Dear Cathy S.,

We are honored that you chose to celebrate this milestone at the Monarch Beach Resort. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be a part of our one-of-a-kind beach house hospitality family. Thank you for your kind words and we hope you will visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2016

The $40M+ renovation at Monarch Beach is amazing! We stayed at this resort a few months ago during the renovation and decided to return to see the finished product which can only be described as "amazing"! Despite everything being brand new, seeing so many familiar faces among the staff members was comforting. It appears that the staff is even more attentive than before and willing to go the extra mile to please their guests. The name recognition was apparent everywhere we dined and the courteous attitude was genuine. We have stayed and all the great hotels up and down PCH and I must say that Monarch Beach is a great alternative to the others which have become overpriced and pretentious - one in particular in Newport Coast which seems to have lost its edge and is now charging for resort fees and parking in what must be desperate times. If you are looking for an honest and comfortable place to stay between Newport Beach and Dana Point, Monarch Beach checks all things off the list and is a must stay. Thank you for the unexpected special touches and recognition regarding our special occasion and for making us feel like special guests...we'll be back!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a coastal view. Easier access to walking trails including the ocean and less pool noise.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FCMichiganFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonarchBResort, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2016

Dear FCMichiganFans,

Wow, thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We believe that the 'new' Monarch Beach Resort is the one place with all the right elements to capture the affections of anyone who has ever had a love affair with beach, and to create an even stronger bond with our resort guests, members and the greater community.

Thank you again and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back to our beach house on the coast in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

Formerly St. Regis, the New, Improved and Now
Renamed THE MONARCH BAY RESORT, is
Gorgeous! The Open-Air Lobby Boasts the
Beautiful Ocean View and Expansive green lawn n gardens beyond Pools.
The new additional family pool adjacent to main pool, Bar, Infinity Ocean View Jacuzzi are just a few of the new additions. All rooms have been renovated, new restaurants, MIRAVAL SPA!!!
Shuttle to beach easy breezy, Love the Private Beach Club with beach chair,umbrella, towel service! Terrific beachside Restaurant and in summer; beach hut service, bar, bbq.
Will Be Back!!!❤️❤️

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank ILuv2tvl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonarchBResort, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2016

Dear ILuv2tvl2,

I am thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to have you back to the Resort soon.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews