We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Vibe”

The Point Restaurant And Bar
Ranked #47 of 149 Restaurants in Dana Point
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours
Description: The Point is a family friendly dinning experience that is open for lunch and dinner with nightly live entertainment. Thursday night live Jazz trios, Friday night DJ's and Sat night local bands. We are open from 11:30 until late every day except Mondays(until Football starts). We have beautiful views of Dana Point Harbor and a warm outdoor patio with large fireplace. We also have a "Kids Cave" that has chalkboard walls for the kids to drawl on and kids movies playing, so parents can enjoy their meals for a few extra minutes. We have a wide selection of Wines and Micro beers as well.
Reviewed October 30, 2017 via mobile

The food is average but they have a good happy hour. They have lots of tvs to watch sporting events. They have fun interactive active nights like ukulele night, open mike night, live music, even a comic doing stand up last week. Don’t order the flat breads they’re way too oily. Fish tacos are good and so are the sliders on Hawaiian buns.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank diane q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 70 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2017

We were returning from a restaurant that had too long of a wait and happened past The Point. We are very glad we did. What a fun location. An energetic atmosphere, good staff and very good food. My wife had the pulled pork sandwich and we could not believe the size of it when they brought it out. Talk about HUGE. She gave me a taste of it and was very good. I had the street tacos and they were excellent. My son had the kid’s sliders. We sat in a corner near the kitchen and there was a window to look in and see their wood burning oven and the cook making pizzas. My son got a kick out of that. The place has a very casual, sports-bar feel to it however it is a place you can take family and kids to as well. The prices are very reasonable, especially for the amount and quality of the food. Definitely a place to visit.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JandAinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2017

We were driving to one of our favorite restaurant in Dana Point and noticed the Happy Hour sign out front of "The Point" located next door. Happy Hour on a Saturday night? We decided to have a quick drink before dinner. A fun Surfer band was playing and the place was packed. Luckily the patio had a few empty tables and the music wasn't as loud. Tables started to fill up and our server did take a few minutes to get to us. We both wanted to slightly modify the drinks from the Happy Hour menu and that was not a problem. My sugar free lemon drop Martini was perfect. My friend wanted a simple Vodka Cranberry, but actually got the Moscow Mule from the menu that he attempted to modify. He liked it, but doesn't really "love" ginger beer. We ordered our second round and the sever was very apologetic for the mistake and even offered to buy us the drink! I refused because my friend did enjoy something new and it really wasn't a big deal. Round two was perfect! The patio had a lot of friendly locals and many of them had their dogs with them. We felt guilty for leaving our little terrier at home. They did have some fun bar type food available that looked good... pizza, burgers and ribs. Maybe next time. Stop looking for fun, just get to "The Point"!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
Thank travelc1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2017

Service is super friendly-among the best we've recently experienced. Had the happy hour menu and loved it; sliders, lumpia and wings. TV's are blaring sports and even at 1/2 capacity at 4 pm., it's noisy. Love it.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Food
Thank marc c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2017

We came in after paddle boarding at baby beach. Great service - great lunch specials. We had pizza, burgers, and a turkey burger - all yummy. Great beer selections and yummy sangria!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fireflyadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Point Restaurant And Bar also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to The Point Restaurant And Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing