We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

180blu at The Ritz-Carlton
Ranked #1 of 149 Restaurants in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: 180blu is an oceanfront dining lounge featuring panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and the blue skies across the horizon. Perched 150-feet above Salt Creek Beach, 180blu is the perfect Southern California experience to enjoy refreshing hand-crafted beverages, small plates and a little slice of heaven on earth!
Reviewed August 3, 2018

I love this restaurant. What's better than an ocean view at a dog-friendly restaurant? Not much!

Live music on Friday nights and cozy heaters makes this a must. It is on the pricy side but you are at the Ritz-Carlton so... :) I'd go back in a heartbeat. Their Jidori Chicken Salad was off-the-hook delish and their sangria was pretty tasty. However their lobster tacos were extremely tiny and left you feeling hungry.

All in all, I spent my free moments of my weekend at this resort (with my pooch) at this restaurant and enjoyed every moment.

Thank Lorie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCLagunaNiguel, Manager at 180blu at The Ritz-Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Thank you for visiting 180blu at The Ritz-Carlton. It was a pleasure providing you with a memorable experience. We appreciate your loyalty and hope you and your pooch decide to return again soon. You are always welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 225 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

This was a spectacular place to spend an evening with friends and family. Ordered cocktails and small plates to share. Excellent portions and quality. Views unmatched. Service is SPOT ON! you even have a button on the table if you need something right away. Highly recommended!

Thank RBrnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCLagunaNiguel, Manager at 180blu at The Ritz-Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

Thank you for joining us at 180blu. We enjoyed having you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

The view from this small bar/restaurant is hard to match from any beach. As soon as you step out on the terrace you are taken aback. The seating is a little close, but perfectly takes advantage of the ocean. The food, is an afterthought, but shouldn’t be. The menu is not long, but interesting and savory. Finally, you can’t beat Ritz-Carlton service

Thank MandevilleDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCLagunaNiguel, Manager at 180blu at The Ritz-Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

Thank you for joining us at 180blu. Isn't it a fulfilling experience? We take great pride in our ever-evolving menu, exceptional service, and magnificent view. We hope your return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2018 via mobile

Even though we were underwhelmed by our room and stay at the RC, the restaurants and meals AT the hotel did not disappoint us one single time. And 180blu was our favorite. They even went out of their way to make us a specialty cocktail that wasn’t on the menu. And the view is to die for. It’s especially nice for a romantic sunset dinner.

Thank shixa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCLagunaNiguel, Manager at 180blu at The Ritz-Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2018

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience at 180blu. Aren't the service and view amazing? We look forward to welcoming you back, and rest assured we know your next experience will be even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2018

180blue, an all-outside patio spot, has the best view for miles around of gorgeous 1.5 mile-long Salt Creek Beach with the best sunsets in south Orange County. Yes the food is great, a mix of upscale sushi and modern American Grill, with a wide variety of cuisine. I've lived in Japan and this is serious sushi, but everything is finely done. There's a talented acoustical guitarist Thursday-Sunday starting ca. 6pm (call and ask before), not raucous, but lively; people get up and dance, this place is such fun.
It's the Ritz Carlton so dress is "country club casual," sleeves for men, nice sandals not flip-flops, etc. Beach dresses and dress jeans are fine if the rest of you looks a bit polished.
Don't skip a walking tour of the Ritz's clifftop grounds. People come from all over the world to vacation, be married, or celebrate other lifetime events here--and with good reason. If you've never been here, it's open to the public--so, please, go an hour before dinner (or in summer there's light for an hour after dinner) because strolling and sitting around at this resort is an adventure. So many beautiful spots to view the ocean around the well-flowered grounds, even an ocean-view clifftop jogging path.
180blue is on the floor above the lobby; ask staff to point you. But first, there's a great ocean-view bar at the far end of the lobby visible from the main entrance, and the lobby deli just east of the lobby bar. There's also Raya, a world-class upscale fine dining venue, in the lobby, but we like eating outside at 180blue.
First, we'll grab a drink at the bar or coffee at the deli (a cute place for lunch) and take it to the clifftop garden on the ground floor below the lobby bar and to the west. Find it by walking down the stairs just inside the main entrance, then at the bottom turn left toward the ocean. It's a fine spot to grab an Adirondack chair before or after dinner, sip and gaze out for miles.
I'd give 5 stars to 180blue, if not for the parking. If you don't mind the $20 valet fee + tip, or travel by taxi, then it's a 5 star! Call if valet fees bug you; it may be higher by now. We use the large county lot for $2/hr across from the Ritz driveway. This entails a 5-minute lively walk to the hotel (or a scenic 10-min leisurely stroll). County pay stations take credit cards & cash. Don't forget to put the ticket on your dash; meter personnel are highly vigilant.
Enjoy! One of the nicest resorts in California.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HappyKatya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCLagunaNiguel, Manager at 180blu at The Ritz-Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed a wonderful dining experience with us overlooking the beautiful views of Salt Creek Beach. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 180blu at The Ritz-Carlton also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to 180blu at The Ritz-Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing