We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday”
Review of Gemmell's

Gemmell's
Reserve with OpenTable
Gemmell's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 149 Restaurants in Dana Point
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Dana Point Harbor Drive
Transit: Public transit stops in front of the Harbor of Dana Point.
Reviewed January 29, 2018 via mobile

The food was great.The staff was friendly and attentive.Everything was well prepared and tasted great.We used a groupon deal which saved us $50.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 147 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2018

Four course dinner for two for our anniversary. Mushroom appetizer was very good. Hearts of Romaine Salad was very good. Potato Leek soup was very bland with no taste of leeks. Pork Loin entree was great, the portion was large and the leftovers were just as good the next day! Sand Dab entree was over sauced, it completely covered the taste of the fish, would have been better with lighter sauce and a wedge of lemon. The soup and entrees were served hot. The soufflé was superb and the Key Lime Tart was very good and "tart"! The peach Bellini was also very good. The service was reasonable and prompt, our only complaint was we were not offered coffee or tea with dessert. The restaurant was very empty for a Thursday night. We will definitely visit again.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Joleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 4, 2017

I came upon this sweet place by chance and really enjoyed my lunch. It seems a step above most of the other restaurants in the area.

Date of visit: November 2017
1  Thank marjorie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2017

What a wonderful lunch. I had the Sand Dabs and mushroom soup. It was great. The food was hot, prepared superb, and friendly service. Even the vegetables were seasoned just right. My 2 guests were also very happy with this restaurant. Finally, it was very reasonable. I will be back!!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile

A lot of places to eat at the harbor, but after looking at the various menus we decided on something French. We were not disappointed. I went with the Calamari with Almandine Sauce and my wife with a Cicken and Mushroom Crepe. Both had outstanding flavor with a very good and well prepared French Sauce. Presentation was excellent. We left full and satisfied.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank jamesbF6512WD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gemmell's also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 

Been to Gemmell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing