We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveller rating
103
158
75
41
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
158
75
41
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast great location within walking distance baby beach older hotel whale watching ocean institute dana point marina catalina island yogurt would stay again bit dated restaurants and shops nice pool third floor nice stay doheny beach
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 408 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2018

I have stayed here a few times before, and always found it pleasant, well situated, and good value. We checked in approx 4pm on a Saturday, and were allocated possibly the only room in the hotel with no balcony. We were there for two days. On leaving, my wife queried why we didn't get a balcony room, and was told it was first come, first served. I queried this later by e mail to the hotel. The manager, (to his credit,) gave me a lengthy response, but didn't answer the question, other than it was busy. I don't accept at 4pm, all rooms were allocated.
We were also told breakfast was until 10am. On Monday, it finished at 9am, so we missed it.
The man who checked us in was functional and not welcoming. He was the same man who my wife spoke to upon leaving. Upon being shown, in his writing on the back of our keycard holder, breakfast times, he didn't acknowledge his error. It is pretty basic to tell guests accurately the times for breakfast. No apology was forthcoming. Not a man who cares or who should be the first contact to arriving guests.
All a bit disappointing and leaves a bad taste.

Room tip: Look at your room first
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank clarksdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2018

The location is good but the Inn is a dilapidated dump that should be condemned at the very least. I am shocked the board of health didn't close it down.. I have stayed here with group travelers 3 times, much to my dismay. I had a decent room facing the boats the first time. The next 2 times they put us in the room of horrors. The tub was stained , the bathroom filthy looking. The bedsreads scary! Didn't want to touch them. I asked 'Daniel', at the desk," the manager", to please change our room. He was condescending, surly, sarcastic and down right nasty. I told him I would like an upgrade and would happily pay for it. He said all the rooms were the same. I begged to differ since I had a better room before. He told me tough luck and I told him to get a refund ready because there was no way I would be able to sleep in room 113. I told him we would be sleeping in the lobby if necessary. He later found a room for us." Are you happy now?" Daniel asked, sarcastically , the next morning. The whole experience was typical of a place that is SUBPAR! Hope they found a manager that would like working for a living and who likes people. I would never return to this hotel!!!! EVER!!

Room tip: Rooms in the rear by the docks are decent and some renovated. The breakfast was t not worth eating.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betsybubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2018

This is the NICEST hotel for value in the Dana Point / San Clemente area overlooking the Dana Point Harbor and walking distance to good restaurants and fun activities in the harbor. The Dana Point Marina Inn and staff has been THE favorite of our family for over 30 years. The rooms are large, updated and super clean (half overlook the harbor and pool area!). They have a beautiful quiet and clean pool area that is so relaxing. The lobby and breakfast area are very welcoming. Most of all General Manger Tony, Night Manager Amir, desk staff and the service crew (who have all been there for many years and take great pride in the hotel and its accommodations) are wonderfully pleasant and obviously enjoy their job of serving the visitors. What more can I say... 5 star operation! We love this hotel!

Room tip: I suggest paying just a bit more for the pool /harbor view. Its worth it !
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scott c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2018 via mobile

What a treat the Dana Point Marina Inn is! It is an older place but has all you need to enjoy a stay in southern Calif. So many convenient great restaurants nearby. Easy walk to catch a boat ride to Catalina or go whale watching. There is a pool and Jacuzzi as well as a decent continental breakfast. A nice place that i would visit again.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank kblackman623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2018

We recently stayed 4 nights, and enjoyed out time there. The rooms need some updating, but they were clean and maintained. We appreciated their morning breakfast area and food. It was good basic food and the staff was attentive to any service needs.

Room tip: I do recommend a higher floor on the water-side for less noise, and one closer to the reception area for better internet service.
Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank tfj003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews