We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (638)
Filter reviews
638 results
Traveller rating
241
142
109
88
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
142
109
88
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar doheny beach double tree great location ocean view sliding door sitting area top floor state park the room was nice self parking continental breakfast nice property fire pit orange county southern california valet
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 638 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2018

Very nice little hotel right across from the beach. Wonderful valet service greets you along with the traditional Double Tree chocolate chip cookies. This hotel has the 'beachy' feel with nice decor in the front. The rooms are comfy and quiet. Linens clean and bathroom was spotless. Those are selling points for me. The price is fair for a S. California beach location. Parking is a premium but since you are on vacation in nice area, budget that in! The breakfast in the restaurant is nothing to write home about so go out and explore beyond the hotel. The hotel has a small breakfast buffet that is overpriced. This hotel does not have a washer or dryer, so either plan on packing more clothes or go find a service that will accommodate your needs. There are two elevators in the hotel that are on the slow side but since you are on vacation, the slow pace should kick in! The pool is nice with plenty of pool chairs. Pool towels are available. The hotel did have live music on the rooftop the weekend we were there which was very nice. There is a bar $$ and plenty of seats to just relax and take in the atmosphere of beautiful S. California. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Ocean views will cost more. If that doesn't matter to you, spend less on a room with a different view.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DAndestravleler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Dear DAndestravleler,

What an incredible rave review and elated we were able to exceed your expectations on your recent SoCal vacation with us!

We are thrilled you were able to enjoy the laid back beachy vibe, clean guestroom suites and friendly service the Doubletree Dana Point is known for here in Orange County.

Thank you so very much for staying with us and hope to welcome you back again in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2018

food is mediocre, fitness room is sub par, bedrooms are ok but poorly designed so the end is right up against the bathroom door. location is great for walking to the beach and beach restaurants but that also means its right along the train line and sandwiched between 2 highways.I think I'd rather stay fewer nights and spend more for the marriott up the street

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank bettelevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2018

Dear bettelevine,

We are truly disappointed to hear we did not exceed your expectations on your most recent visit with us and truly apologize on behalf of our entire team.

Thank you so very much for providing such useful information and we will be sure to take action with our teams as a result of your feedback.

Our goal is to provide a best in class hotel for all of our valued guests and can assure you our team will deliver an enhanced experience on your next visit to Dana Point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2018

This hotel was a gem! Nice open design. Great staff. And the location across from the beach was wonderful. We got an upgrade to ocean view. From the moment we walked in we were well taken care of by every staff member.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank StevenS2388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Dear Steven S,

The Doubletree Dana Point team is absolutely ecstatic you had a wonderful vacation at our hotel and were able to experience the authentic hospitality and genuine care from all of our associates that you encountered.

Thank you so very much for being a valued guest and we look forward to visiting with you again on a future visit to Orange County!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2018

hotel is great; this reservation company on the other hand; presented a website showing breakfast included and yet it did not; they failed to mentioned the parking fee of $25 per day! I called the hotel and they helped me upgrade the room, call reservations.com and they said basically, so sad, too bad, you clicked you agreed on line.!
And...a girl with a VERY heavy Indian accent told me her name was "jane".

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dlctweedy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Dear dlctweedy09,

The Doubletree Dana Point Team is thrilled to hear you had a great overall experience at our hotel and you had a better guest interaction with our hotel associates than with the online third party that made your original reservation.

While we do our best to monitor information content on all websites, we strongly encourage everyone to "stop clicking around" and book directly on our hotel website for the most accurate and up to date hotel information.

Thank you so very much for staying with us at the Doubletree Dana Point and look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

Great bedrooms large enough to house my family plus bedroom balconies for us to watch the sunset at night while the baby slept inside. Plus Evan Pugrad at the restaurant was literally the kindest and most helpful and personable server I have ever met. When traveling with a young family, you often get "stuck" at the hotel restaurant and he made it a joy.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Katelyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Dear Katelyn L,

We could not be more pleased that the Doubletree Dana Point exceeded your expectations during your family vacation and you were able to experience Doheny Surf Restaurant with our incredible food and beverage team.

Thank you so very much for your five bubble review, it is genuinely appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews