We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms and grounds, great spa, great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms and grounds, great spa, great service!”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We had a wonderful stay! The rooms were spacious and clean, the spa was lively and my massage amazing, Sunday brunch was superb!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4travelors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    460
    170
    86
    88
See reviews for
387
426
49
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Veracruz, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I spent a week end in this hotel recently and I had a wonderful relaxing experience. First class-plus bedrooms. Beautiful ocean view. Personel especially kind. Surrondings: so, so nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thank you for the lovely post! We love creating memorable getaways for our guests. We hope you relax with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We spent two nights at the Resort and loved every minute of it. From the greeting and attentiveness of the valet parkers to the wonderful experience of the front desk, this is one of the finest resort properties we have ever stayed at. The room, an upgraded suite, was magnificent with an ocean view. The balcony had two high chairs to look over the railing at beautiful sunsets. With two widescreen HD tv's even lolling around the room was enjoyable.

The bedding was typical of the Marriott program with their signature comfort. Housekeeping did an impeccable job at keeping the room clean and freshly toweled. Wonderful chocolates paired with turn-down service extended service well into the evening.

The bar is a welcome place to spend the time right before sunset. With fair priced drinks, good pours, and wonderful service it is reminiscent of an era that deserves a return.

The staff exists to serve....a job that they all take seriously and perform well. We never waited more than three minutes for our car to arrive.

My only complaint, and a minor one at that, is that the valet parking costs $30.00 per night. This is stated on a sign that you cannot see when you drive into the property. There is no notice of it over the valet stand, and the valet never mentioned it upon checking in. Minor, only because it came as a surprise on the bill.

Room Tip: You definitely want an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marklue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey K, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
WOW! Thank you for the detailed review of your stay. We are very delighted that you had a memorable experience at the resort. We value our staff very much and we take pride in the level of service every member brings to our guests. I am delighted to hear that you were able to experience this level of service upon arrival at our resort.

We are very happy that you were able to enjoy an ocean view room and take in the beautiful sunsets of Dana Point. With our newly remodeled guest rooms, we have provided our guests with 250 thread count Frette Linen Beds that are extremely comfortable.

We hope you come back to experience our new Happy Hour in our OverVue Lounge. We also have added new items to our OverVue Lounge menu.

We regret that you were unaware of the parking charges as we inform guests in a few different areas regarding these fees. On the confirmation you received for your guestroom our parking fee is noted under your room rate. In addition, the parking fee is noted on our website under Guest Services.

We look forward in seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I have stayed at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott at least once a year for the past 7 years. This time around (January 2012), they had remodled parts of the property, including the lobby and some rooms in the Del Mar Wing (perhaps others too).

It is a spectacular property, one of my favorites in S. Cal. The views from most rooms are amazing. Some rooms are more accessible to the traffic noise than others, so be mindful of that. I have stayed there on business and with the family, either way is great.

Love the breakfast buffet, especially enjoying it outside when the weather is nice. Great workout room too. Great proximity to Lantern Bay park, the Marina, and the beach. Walking distance to several restaurants. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Downsides: parking fee, no free wifi, occasional loud wedding party on the weekend.

Overall -- a fantastic property, can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Personal favorite: Del Mar Wing, 3rd floor, ocean and pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drjohnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey K, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We are so happy that you came back this year to experience our newly remodeled resort and fitness center.

Our location is breathtaking with spectacular views of the harbor and Pacific Ocean.

We are delighted that you were able to enjoy the breakfast buffet our Vue Restaurant has to offer. We provide a variety of delicious breakfast choices to satisfy everyone's needs.

We're looking forward in seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I am writing this review late, our stay was from last January 2011. My Wife and I stayed here for a quick weekend get away from the snow back home. We were looking forward to using the spa but was quite offended when we asked if we could see the spa facilities and the staff on duty acted as if we put them out, snobbish would be a great way to describe the experience. You will pay to have someone park your car which is silly in this resort, they are really trying to be a 4 star hotel but it is far from that. I think that what really turned me off was that the overall vibe of the hotel was that of a three star hotel that really in their head think they are a five. If you want attitude, a room that is a notch above a Best Western then by all means.... book this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lvtovacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey K, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
On behalf of our entire staff, we are sorry that you were disappointed with our 4-Diamond resort. We take every review seriously and we will address your concerns with our team. We are ranked as being one of the top Marriott hotels for guest satisfaction and we regret that you left the resort not completely satisfied. Thank you again for addressing your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed there over the weekend. The hotel is really pretty, and when we checked in, we were asked if we wanted 3 types of room upgrades (costing $30, $60 or $90). I voted for the $30 upgrade with a view of the pool; in retrospect, I should have complained, when the bathtub drain took almost an hour to drain out, so if there are two of you, you are stepping into someone's dirty water (yuck) and we almost flooded the bathroom everytime we had a shower, the curtain does not cover the bathtub correctly, so the water poured onto the floor. Nothing a couple of towels didn't fix though .... so it was fine.

The room was LOVELY; the beds were so comfortable, with clean linens, feathertop mattresses, and feather pillows; SOOOO comfortable! The room was a little on the small side, but extremely comfortable.

We had dinner in the hotel that night, and it was DELICIOUS. The food was really good; a coffee crusted steak that was to die for. Expensive dinner, but worth it for sure.

Breakfast the next morning, thoroughly disappointed; the eggs benedict were freezing cold; so it kind of spoiled the rest of my breakfast; reasonably priced and the kids eat for free.

The cons of the hotel: $13 each DAY for WIFI access - who charges fees for that these days, but this hotel did.
$30 A DAY for Valet parking; this is your ONLY option, and I think it is a disgrace to charge so much.

However, there is a hotel rate that covers valet parking and breakfast for two, up to $30.

We used the spa the next day, and it was lovely. Really tranquilising and quiet, and everyone was so nice, there is a hot tub, sauna, steam room ..... all the goodies you can ask for, and because they use Spafinder, you can get coupons from Costco, so it saves you $25 on each service!

Would I go back again? Absolutely, in a heartbeat.
Next time I would make sure that everything worked in the room straight away, but the hotel was lovely, reasonably priced for a Sat evening.

All in all, a nice stay. The staff were fabulous; always asking to help, I asked for a late check-out and was granted one, till 2pm.

Great place!

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool are nice, but no view of the ocean, go to a higher level if you want to see the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbart66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
We are very happy to hear that you were upgraded to a pool view room and you enjoyed the comfort of our feather top mattresses and pillows. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the drain. Please note we encourage all guests to call the front desk with any concerns that they may have with their room. We have engineers on site 24 hours a day that will assist you with anything. It is our job to make your stay pleasurable.

We are very delighted that you enjoyed dinner at the Vue Restaurant and that you were able to experience the tranquility of our spa.

We are looking forward to seeing you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here one weekend as a short "escape" for a belated birthday weekend for me. We live about an hour away. Got a good deal (about $200 per night) for non-view room on the web. On check-in upgraded to coast view (highest category) for the equivalent of a partial coast view (they weren't busy). The facilities are nice--right above a public walking and picnic park with great harbor and ocean views that leads down to the harbor and (fairly mediocre) fish and other restaurants.Rooms were quite nice and had the promised coastal view. The staff is very friendly (everyone one we even passed in the halls smiled and said "hello") and well-trained, including restaurant staff. But they hit you for every little extra for a big wallop! Parking is only by valet and is $29. per night!! Wifi costa about $13. per 24 hour period. Unacceptable to our minds in ANY hotel these days. Next they will probably charge for water and electricity (oh yes, the bottle of Fuji water in our room cost $5!). By the time the dust cleared on our bill it was over twice the actual price of the room. We wouldn't have minded if the food portion of that (and we ate almost every meal in the hotel for 3 days) was good value. The dinner and lunch selections are limited and the food ok but not great. Breakfast has an option of a buffet for about $22 per person. There is a chef there to make eggs to your order (good) but the food was very mediocre otherwise. The sliced melons were totally tasteless and unripe I think (no excuse in CA even in January!) the yoghurt only Yoplait of the plastic yoghurt variety (please--go to Trade Joe's and stock up on REAL yoghurt for goodness sakes!), the blintzes rubbery and totally tasteless, the coffee supposedly Starbucks (but percolated in a big pot) was not very good. I'm sorry but when you wind up paying about $25 per person including tip for a breakfast, one expects better. I suggest the manager of this hotel visit the Fairmont 4 Seasons Hotel in Seattle to see what a $25-30 breakfast should be. No comparison for the food or the ambiance or the service. If you are going to eat at this hotel, even just breakfast, park a car, and use wifi you are better off probably getting a package this time of year through AAA and stay at the Ritz or at the Montage--much better hotels which may cost you a bit more but much more worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the central driveway would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SANTraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey K, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Happy belated birthday. Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are very pleased that you were upgraded to an ocean view room that you enjoyed. Our resort is in a great location with ocean views and just walking distance from the Dana Point Harbor. Our guests are very elated that we have walking and running trails so close to our facility.

We are delighted that you were able to experience the service of our well-trained staff in all of our outlets. We take great pride in the level of service we provide to all of our guests. It is very important to us to be “at your service” at all times.

In reference to our parking cost, in recent parking surveys we’ve conducted with our fellow resorts located on the coastline, we have found our parking rates to be in line and are actually the most economical.

We regret that our breakfast was not satisfactory to your liking. We thank you for your feedback and we will address your suggestions to our food and beverage staff. We want to be sure that every guest leaves our Vue restaurant satisfied.

We do hope you return to our hotel on your next visit to Dana Point. We value your opinion and business and would like to share with you all the improvements we’ve made on your future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
2.9 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
12.5 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
734 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
10.7 km away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
402 reviews
7.6 km away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing