We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay but Beware the Valet Parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
142 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Okay but Beware the Valet Parking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

I've stayed here twice on business and it is certainly a nice hotel with comfortable rooms and good amenities. But the first time I stayed, parking was free, and now they have mandatory valet parking for $29 a day! It just seems to me to be an unnecessary ripoff that spoiled an otherwise pleasant stay. Our conference room on the most recent stay was excellent with fixed curved tables in a tiered arrangement, focusing on the presenter. But another meeting next door had a rock band playing in the afternoon and the sound easily penetrated two walls to become an annoyance during our presentations and discussions. One last item is that the TV in the room had only a limited number of cable channels, something I don't expect for this level hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our guest rooms and the amenities our resort has to offer. We are glad that the set- up of the meeting room was to your liking. We are very pleased to hear that.

We apologize for any noise that disrupted your meeting. Please feel free to alert a staff member whenever you have these issues. We will be more than happy to assist you.
We appreciate your feedback regarding our parking fees. In recent parking surveys we’ve conducted with our fellow resorts located on the coastline, we have found our parking rates to be in line and are actually the most economical.

You also mentioned the limited number of cable channels. We provide over 70 cable channels and we hope that you were able to view all of these channels. Again, please do not hesitate to contact our "At Your Service" department for any issues you may experience during your stay.

Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    444
    164
    84
    83
See reviews for
377
412
48
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

I cannot say enough about this property-- everything about my visit last week was wonderful, especially the staff. Everyone from the bellman to the front desk to the restaurant staff went out of their way to make my stay great. Rooms are comfortable and large, views are unbelievable, and restaurants and bars are perfect for unwinding and relaxing.

I recommend talking with the bellman and renting a bike for $10/hr from the hotel. The area around the resort is breathtaking and it is worth taking an hour to ride down the hill to the beach and harbor.

Other notes:
-Great workout room with plenty of equipment and cardio area
-Breakfast buffet in VUE was wonderful
-Good concierge staff.. gave us great dining advice

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. Nothing beats catching a Dana Point sunset from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JV101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
We are pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful stay at the resort. We are very excited that you were able to enjoy the newly renovated fitness center and that you were able to rent a bike and ride it along the beach and Dana Point Harbor. The resort is just walking distance from the beach and we do have a view that allows you to watch the beautiful sunsets right from you room.

Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

This is the first time I have ever written a review. I have stayed at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott five times for corporate events. This resort had a special place in my heart because I had my first date at the with my husband to be at a Christmas party for his company. The hotel is beautiful, the location is breathtaking, the customer service was luke warm, but am not one to complain. I have always considered this location for my very large group of family and friends to stay for our wedding festivities. The wedding planner said to stay away from the Laguna Cliffs Marriott, but I had my mind set.Over the course of our engagement I made numerous attempts to meet with someone in person to check out the suites and block a number of rooms for our event. Each person I spoke to gave me some cheezy sales pitch and seemed too busy to answer any questions. Brushed it off, figured they were understaffed. Today I finally met with a catering and sales manager. She seemed like a sweet person, but her customer service skills were not the best. The rates were high of corse, but in the budget, I still wanted to stay at the Marriott. Every request we made she had a robotic rebuttal. Straight out of a handbook. Can we reserve a block of rooms on the same floor? No, she replied because other guests might extend there stay and it would be rude to ask them to move to another room??? Then she mentioned that we couldn't take family pictures with me in my wedding dress anywhere on the Marriott grounds, because we weren't getting married on site and "her" brides should feel like the only brides. Don't they have multiple weddings scheduled in one day? I wasn't even planning on having any wedding photos taken at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott. I'm getting married at a beautiful home. Then it clicked, why would we give this hotel our business? We left and booked the block of rooms at the St. Regis. It's so unfortunate, the resort is a beautiful waste of money if customer service isn't a priority.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alisfishbowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the unsatisfactory service you received. Our job is not only to meet the guest’s expectations but to exceed them. We value your opinion and comments greatly and we take every review seriously. I want you to know that we will be addressing your concerns with our team.

We thank you for your loyalty to our property and we recognize that this resort held a special place in your heart. We want to continue to create those beautiful memories for you and your fiancé.

We do give all brides and grooms who are having their wedding at the resort exclusivity to the grounds of the property. We do this so that we can ensure all brides and grooms have the ability to photograph anywhere at any time with no interference. For that reason we mention our photography fee upfront so there are no surprises.

As far as reserving all rooms on one level, we always provide the room types that are requested (i.e., pool view, ocean view, etc.) for our guests but we cannot guarantee the same floor due to the unknown factors of our other guests staying at the resort (i.e., extending their stay).

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

This is our 4th stay at this hotel. We love the grounds, view, and the harbor below for morning walks and our coffee and breakfast bagel outside in the sun. You couldn't ask for a more beautiful setting. However, since the renovation a few things have changed. One is the valet parking which costs $29/day. Everytime you want to take your car out for sightseeing or to go to dinner you must wait for your car to be brought to you (and tip the poor guys who run like crazy to accommodate you). In the past, you could walk to the garage to retrieve your car and check out at the booth at the entrance to the garage.
The other change since the renovation is the air conditioning system. In the past, we have been able to turn the heat down at night and sleep comfortably in a cool room. During this stay, we could not cool the room below 74 and had to have maintenance come to our room because the air conditioner FROZE and was not working properly. We ended up buying a fan to give us the impression that there was "cool" air. If a cool room at night is important, this is a deal breaker. We probably will not return, as we lost 3 nights of sleep on our 9 night vacation (and yes, the other 2 hotels at which we stayed were able to provide comfortable sleeping conditions). If you like to sleep in a warm room, don't pay attention to my rant. We love the location, but cannot justify paying the costs for no sleep.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseAnne45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We take every review seriously and we wanted to apologize for any inconvenience the temperature in the room may have brought to you. We are very happy that you have stayed with us multiple times and we'd like to see you again in the future. Please feel free to contact "At Your Service" anytime you need anything. They are available 24 hours a day and will be more than happy to provide a fan for you if the temperature in your room is not to your liking.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments. We hope to see you again on your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Our room was clean, well appointed and we had a balcony overlooking the bay. The personnel were very accommodating - especially the driver at guest services who took us up and down the hill a dozen times, suggested great restaurants and told us about local lore during our short drive. There is an old "Woody" station wagon sitting in the courtyard - very cool. Breakfast was very good with the usual omelet station and excellent baked goods. I can't tell you how the hotel dinner fare is as we went to the marina every evening for dinner. The hotel is well located for excursions to Capistrano and San Clemente. We enjoyed our stay and if I am on my way to Catalina in the future I would certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pear3150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
We can not wait to welcome you back for another WOW experience! We create WOW experiences for our guests every day! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at this Hotel the last week of December 2011, what a way to end the year! We have stayed in Dana Point many times before but never at this location and we now know what we’ve been missing…. The location is absolutely perfect, the beach and marina are close enough to walk to (there are some stairs but you get a great view of the harbor) as for the Hotel, the grounds a perfectly manicured, the lobby is clean and modern, the rooms are nicely appointed and spacious, beds were awesomely comfortable!. We only ate once at the Hotel, breakfast on our last day, kids ordered off the menu and adults did the buffet, both were good but nothing to rave about… its breakfast hard to make it real exciting!

Every staff member we encountered was professional and accommodating, all charges were explained upfront during check in.

Only concern was lack of self-parking, we knew going in that Valet was additional and the rate was similar to other hotels we’ve stayed at but to not have an option was a little disappointing, Wi-Fi was available for a charge, we didn’t use it as cell service was more than adequate.

We will definitely consider this property when planning our next visit to the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doug5702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thank you for the lovely post! We love creating memorable getaways for our guests.
We are thrilled that you found us!
We hope that you are able to visit us this summer with your kids so they can experience our Kid's Splash Zone and the Kahuna Laguna Kid's Club.
We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We had a wonderful stay! The rooms were spacious and clean, the spa was lively and my massage amazing, Sunday brunch was superb!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4travelors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
2.9 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
12.5 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
7.6 km away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
11.7 km away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing