We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,193)
Filter reviews
1,194 results
Traveller rating
612
301
141
82
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
612
301
141
82
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews resort fee mini cupcakes beautiful property business meeting short walk to the beach valet staff view of the ocean long weekend lobby bar san diego shops and restaurants train tracks fire pit race track spa wedding cabana
Filter
Updating list...
344 - 349 of 1,194 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2017

We felt very welcomed, particularly by the bell staff who offered helpful suggestions as well as check in staff. Conveniently located to good local restaurants. Nice, quiet atmosphere and a great place to stay while visiting San Diego area.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JDall22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAubergeDelMar, General Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2017

Dear JDall22,

Thank you for your kind review of L’Auberge Del Mar. It’s always a pleasure to hear when our staff leaves such an impression and I’m thrilled that our team helped make your visit memorable. On behalf of our staff, we look forward to welcoming you back soon for another relaxing Del Mar getaway.

Warm Regards,
Terry Buchholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2017

L'Auberge Del Mar is and always will be my favorite spot in San Diego. Gorgeous interiors, most comfortable beds, soft towels, and amazing staff. The views are breathtaking. The beach is a short walk from the hotel which is a perk.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cmwalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAubergeDelMar, General Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2017

Dear cmwalton,

Thank you for returning to stay with us at L’Auberge Del Mar. We value your feedback and appreciate you recognizing our coastal charm. On behalf of our staff, we look forward to welcoming you back soon to our “home by the sea.”

Warm Regards,
Terry Buchholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2017

Stayed here a few days back and while I found the hotel charming and historic, I also feel as if there is a need for an update. We were a family of four and received a room with 2 (full size) beds. I was thinking they would be queens, but a bit tight with the wife and kids. Asked about upgrade options and the one proposed was a $450 increase for a suite (no thank you). Seemed a bit high as the hotel didn't seem that busy on a Thursday evening. The room looked out to a street nearby, which was a bit disappointing. I will say, that with the outdoor patio door closed, it wasn't that loud. The room had a fire place, nice touch and the A/C worked really well. The water pressure was poor in the bathroom. Plenty of towels and they use liquid soap and shampoo for toiletries. Very short walk down to the beach, so location is excellent. The pool was extremely small and the hot tub was EXTREMELY hot - could only get in there for a minute at most. Sorta funny, but one of the pool waiters walked right by my wife and I to the next guest offering drinks and a menu, then later realized it and finally asked if we needed anything - that was disappointing. Breakfast was overpriced, but good in quality. Again, I see the charm in this hotel, but there are some changes that need to be made to make this truly luxurious or more value oriented.

Room tip: 3 floors, higher is always better.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank natedawg4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAubergeDelMar, General Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2017

Dear Nate,

Thank you for choosing to stay at L’Auberge Del Mar. We value your feedback as we’re constantly looking to enhance the guest experience. Before your return visit, our reservations team would be happy to assist you with booking a room that meets your preferences. I’m happy to hear, however, that you thoroughly enjoyed our in-room amenities and our hotel’s close proximity to the beach. On behalf of our staff, we look forward to welcoming you back soon to our “home by the sea.”

Warm Regards,
Terry Buchholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2017

We stayed there for a beach wedding at the Powerhouse. Such a great location and high end accommodations! Close to everything the beach, shopping, restaurants. the restaurant and bar quality was fantastic. I highly recommend this as a great place to stay and hang out.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Spolar999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAubergeDelMar, General Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2017

Dear Spolar999,

Thank you for your kind review of L’Auberge Del Mar. I’m thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at our “home by the sea” while attending a wedding at the neighboring Powerhouse. On behalf of our team, we look forward to welcoming you back soon for another getaway in the heart of Del Mar.

Warm Regards,
Terry Buchholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2017

Just spent my 60th birthday weekend with my husband here. Yes, the $9 water is true. AND, we asked repeatedly for Earl Grey tea (please, any black tea) for the Keurig. Staff could NOT understand the request. We wanted it for the morning (asked in evening). The non-English speaking gentleman ended up bringing a pot of hot water and tea (not Earl Grey) to the room. We gave up.

Air conditioning rattled, so we turned it off. Bed was super comfy. Shared rooftop balcony was great (well except for the neighbors hanging their chonies out to dry ... REALLY?

Nice amenities, comfy robes, romantic fireplace. Yet ... no turndown? No chocolates on your pillow at night? Hmm.

Front desk staff was awesome and attentive. They weren't told, but figured out that it was my birthday and sent up the most amazing chocolate covered strawberries.

Would go back, but would hope that they would become a truly 5 star hotel.

Room tip: 3rd floor, northern rooms.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Attafox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAubergeDelMar, General Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2017

Dear Attafox,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to celebrate your birthday at L’Auberge Del Mar. We value your feedback and appreciate knowing about your stay so we can continue to enhance the overall guest experience. I’m pleased to hear that our front desk staff exceeded expectations and helped make your visit special. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the heart of Del Mar.

Warm Regards,
Terry Buchholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews