We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorified Youth Hostel”
Review of Miracle Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Miracle Manor
Portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Glorified Youth Hostel”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I can't vouch for the normal rooms – but I can vouch for "The Cube" – best described as sleeping in a cinder block jail cell. NOTE: the beds are not real beds! The beds are no more than 3-inch pieces of cheap foam wrapped in a sheet, atop a homemade plywood bed frame – nothing says "spa" like sleeping on plywood and foam gathered from the hardware store. The shared shower has low to no pressure or hot water and AC does not work. Teenage kids race their cars up and down the street thru the night. I have slept in much nicer youth hostels for a fraction of the cost, very disappointing. Don't be misled by the fancy website photos, we felt ripped off after the experience.

On the brighter side: The swimming pool and hot tub are relaxing, everything seems to be very clean, and the receptionist was incredibly nice, helpful and understanding when I canceled the remaining days of our stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RobbbT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    18
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
4
37
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I came here for a quiet getaway and had a nice time relaxing by the pool and reading books.

The heated pools are fantastic. Even on a December night, the main pool is 90 degrees which makes it really comfortable and fun to go for a swim.

The rooms are also minimal but clean, and the homemade breakfast was great.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyclala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

I came here for a weekend getaway from Los Angeles and I feel like I had a week's worth of vacation. The mineral pools immediately melt away any tensions and the architectural design of the manor highlights all the key elements of the desert: open sky, cacti, mountain ranges, stars and more. The retro style of the rooms are cozy. If youre looking to escape the hustle and bustle of city life, this is the place. I highly recommend Rhonda's massage which are personanalized to your needs...ask for her hot stones and cupping massage. It's the best. Also Nancy's homemmade dinners for an extra $25 per person are well worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anikah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Indulging in a phenomenal view of the desert mountains while floating in a clean, healing mineral pool sums up the experience of this remarkable retreat. A sensitive collaborative design by renown designers April Greiman and Michael Rotondi, Miracle Manor is a unique, stimulating and comforting place to have time to think, talk and enjoy the silence. Greiman and Rotondi have found the insightful combination of space, light and color to amplify the desert's power to relax. Miracle Manor is an easy and friendly location whether you are a solo traveller or want to bring a small group for focused interaction. Regeneration of thought and body can happen here.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saradaleiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2010

This place is great, really clean, comfortable, and quiet. It has a unique kind of calmness which I thoroughly soaked up. The layout is nice with really thoughtful architectural details. The pool and hot tub are absolutely lovely. The food was expertly prepared and such a treat. Do yourself a favor and stay here!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShawnHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We recently had a terrific time at Miracle Manor. We had an extended family and took the place over. It has 6 rooms so it is easy to take the entire manor. The pool is terrific, naturally fed by a hot spring. The colors, style and attitude are bright yet restful. Retro fitted from a 40's style getaway into a zen+design rendezvous, the experience is unique and memorable. This is our third visit and each time we relax and enjoy it more. Do check out the massage and treatments facilities. It has great body treatment practitioners.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelCronan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Wow, I can't wait to return. My wife and I just spent two nights here and haven't experienced relaxation like this in a resort yet. The pools were amazing, the lighting and atmosphere transparent and conducive to relaxation. Our spa therapist was incredible. If you're looking for a place with no distractions and complete relaxation, this is your resort.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattmauceri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desert Hot Springs hotels
2.5 km away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
1,181 reviews
1.6 km away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
310 reviews
2.4 km away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#9 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
153 reviews
1.2 km away
Two Bunch Palms
Two Bunch Palms
#4 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
408 reviews
0.2 km away
The Spring  Resort & Spa
The Spring Resort & Spa
#3 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miracle Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miracle Manor

Property: Miracle Manor
Address: 12589 Reposo Way, Desert Hot Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92240-4795
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Miracle Manor 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miracle Manor Retreat is a six-room 50s era spa motel that sits atop Miracle Hill. The Miracle lies in the aquifer some 400 feet below the surface – the source of geothermal mineral waters. Innovatively restored by its owners, artist April Greiman and architect Michael Rotondi, the Manor’s highly detailed simplicity invites reflection, renewal and rejuvenation with two therapeutic geothermal pools, customized spa treatments, peaceful aesthetic and seamless embrace of its desert surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Miracle Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miracle Manor Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Miracle Manor Desert Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing