We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Camping in the Spring”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Desert Hot Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sam's Family Spa Hot Water Resort
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Desert Hot Springs
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Spent my wife's birthday tent camping for two nights and enjoyed the hot pools and steam rooms as much as ever. We love alternating between the steam rooms and the pools and hot showers in between. By the end of the day, we feel super clean and relaxed. Then we enjoy watching the sun set behind San Jacinto Peak while cooking outdoors and drinking wine. With each camp site having electricity and the clean bathrooms a short stroll away, it's hardly roughing it so my wife favorite place to camp. We set up an all electric outdoor kitchen to make meal preparation a snap. There are hiking trails just across the street from the entrance to the park that lead up to beautiful canyons that are filled with wildflowers in the spring. Due to the extraordinary wet winter, this spring bloom had really taken off. Since we enjoy camping on the property so much, we have yet to ever stay in any of the rooms but have been told by other guests that they are nice.

Room Tip: If your going to visit in the fall, early or late winter or early spring I highly recommend camping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2017

Best friend and I spent the day here with a day pass for $14 each. We liked the fact that the resort has 4 covered pools chemical free. So, no chlorine. The hotel at resort has older rooms so we stayed eleswhere. The place is wonderfully landscaped. The outdoor main pool is nice but does contain chlorine. Has very nice grassed picnic grounds and barbeque areas. You can bring rvs, rent and older single wide, rent a room at the hotel or just come for the day. The property is kid friendly. We will come again!

Room Tip: no rooms lead directly to pool so we didn't stay at hotel but looked at rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank laurildebaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

I'd have given this a four star rating if it wasn't for the totally disastrous wifi service that was out of action for the entire time of our visit! The wifi pay for use system took our order, sent a pending charge to our credit card but failed to make the connection. The "network administrator" was at a loss of how to fix it! As someone who still works part time for a living I was depending on this service. The 4 hot pools at differing temperatures were great but the screaming kids at the weekend were a pain! It was a pretty good site and I'd consider coming back again hopefully they will have fixed their communications in the next year!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank northernneckinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed for two months at Sam's and it was a really nice surprise! They will ask to run your credit if you are staying at month or longer. We arrived and was told to find a site we liked and check back into the office. All of the crew were absolutely helpful and friendly! The site was a gravel back in site with FHU. The vibe in this park was laid back and we went to the natural hot water pools nightly. The pool area is awesome and very clean and relaxing. We really really liked this park, clean, laid back and friendly! Can't wait to go back and relax next year! Thanks for the wonderful stay Sam's crew!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

Sam's resort get a 10 out of 10.... BUT... their Wifi service gets a ZERO. It took me 3 attempts to place a simple on-line order. Something that should have taken 10 minutes took over an hour. FYI... It took 2 days at to get Wifi. Wish I hadn't wasted my money and just relied on my cell phone.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank Jleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

This resort was panned by Sam in the late 60s and 70s. Started because he could not find an RV park that would take in his Kids and Pets. Soooo he bought over fifty acres and build one. He wanted the name FAMILY incorporated into the park. What he ended up with is just a wonderful place for a day week month or in my case the winter.
I have been coming here for more years than i care to count. But I am telling you this place is Magic. Natural hot water, Hot pools, big heated swimming pool. It is what you went to find and never did. Beautiful grounds, friendly staff and super clean. Look me up when you come i am in space 218 till April 17, James.

Room Tip: Pets are allowed in the park and there is a little Doggi Area for off leash time. no dogs in hotel o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuppy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Price was a bit high, site was infested with ant when we visited. Otherwise it was clean and usable. Great for a short stay on our way to SoCal.

Hot springs were decent, and the pool looked nice though we didn't use it.

Not super kid friendly.Odd sign at the pool posted, clearly this was a big enough problem it warranted a sign lol

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank palama8505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desert Hot Springs hotels
9.1 km away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
1,246 reviews
7.5 km away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
591 reviews
9 km away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#16 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
320 reviews
5.7 km away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#11 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
126 reviews
6.6 km away
The Spring  Resort & Spa
The Spring Resort & Spa
#2 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam's Family Spa Hot Water Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Family Spa Hot Water Resort

Address: 70875 Dillon Rd, Desert Hot Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92241-7695
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Sam`s Family Spa Hot Water Hotel Desert Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing