We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oasis in the desert”
Review of Sagewater Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Desert Hot Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sagewater Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Memphis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“oasis in the desert”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Cristina and Rhoni helped craft a wonderful getaway for me at the Sagewater spa. Their personal attention, which went well beyond a warm daily greeting to suggestions on where to visit and eat to a genuine interest in me and and my stay, combined with the healing energy of the spa itself were just what I needed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PorterHouse09, Owner at Sagewater Spa, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
We are so pleased that you left happy and completely rested!!! Remember how you felt soaking in our warm mineral water pool, gazing at the night sky and sleeping on the Frette linens and hopefully you will take that feeling of relaxation back into you daily life!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    18
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
272
54
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
103 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This little mid-century motel and spa has been completely restored to it's minimalist origins, and is just terrific. It's a small place with a large pool (at about 90º) and a small pool (at about 104º), so the pool never feels crowded. It's a very restful and relaxing place, and very quiet. The owners make sure you have a wonderful experience without being intrusive at all. There is a bar-b-q that the guests share, and you have a small kitchen, so there is no need to leave for meals. We live in Los Angeles, so this place is only two hours away for us. When the chaos of Los Angeles gets to us, we now have our new oasis for an escape. We'll see you again, Cris and Rhoni!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Incognito-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

What a great place, with outstanding hostesses. We just returned from an extended trip to Sagewater Spa where, to be honest, most of our time was spent at the pool relaxing, or sitting around the BBQ having interesting conversations with other guests. The pool is always the right temperature, and the sun seems to always shine. A perfect combination.

Cris and Rhoni go out of their way to make sure your stay is everything you want it to be, and their heart and soul are part of the laid back vibe that is created (and enjoyed) there.

Our in room massages were great, and were easily arranged at the last minute.

Packing Note: There isn't a restaurant or bar at the hotel, so bring your own and enjoy the poolside BBQ and in-room kitchenette...we quickly embraced that along with the other guests.

We will be back.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank newtoVancouver8374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PorterHouse09, Owner at Sagewater Spa, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
We are delighted that you loved your stay at Sagewater Spa. Please know that we adored having you as our guests. Seeing you relaxing around the BBQ and enjoying a spontaneous shared dinner with our other Canadian guests, was such simple pleasures and seemed to add a feeling of being at home to your Sagewater experience. Cristina and I look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

After thoroughly checking out the competition in Desert Hot Springs and Palm Springs, I keep coming back to Sagewater Spa. Nothing else quite compares. This place has a special and consistent vibe that I haven't found anywhere else. Perfect pools at the perfect temperatures. Spare, handsome rooms, with all essential comforts. Charming hostesses. Interesting guests. You can join in the late night pool conversations, or have your own tête-à-tête in the corner. This place is alternative rejuvenating, romantic, relaxing, and just plain fun. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JetLaggedSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Wonderful place. Owners lovely! Room perfect. Pool amazing. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 16AnnA212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
258 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We just paid five hundred bucks to spend two nights making our own bed, cooking and washing up, why? Well that's the question I asked myself when I arrived at Sagewater. Within the hour I had my answer... Yes, yes, yes!

I don't want to describe the place or the people, it's impossible to really capture the essence of Sagewater in words anyway, so I will stick to the purely practical.

Pack two swimsuits and enough food and booze to last. That really is all you need. There are a few places worth a visit but once you're in the pool you'll realise that theres nowhere you'd rather be so don't bother.

I have never in my life had such fun doing so little. Can't wait for another visit.

Room Tip: It really doesn't matter which room you have, they're all very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LollypopSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PorterHouse09, Owner at Sagewater Spa, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
"I have never in my life had such fun doing so little. Can't wait for another visit."
You are such a riot, we enjoyed reading your English perspective. Guests do enjoy being on their own schedules, privacy without interruption and our sweet kitchenettes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

this is the place. We loved our time at Sagewater- it was exactly the relaxing spot we were craving. The owners are so welcoming and go to great lengths to make sure you are comfortable. The guests create a good vibe and we were amongst a few regulars which speaks volumes. Very quiet spot, the spa treatments are great too. We have already recommended it to other couples.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desert Hot Springs hotels
2.5 km away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
1,166 reviews
2.2 km away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
550 reviews
1.6 km away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#10 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
152 reviews
2.3 km away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#19 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
460 reviews
1.1 km away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#9 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagewater Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagewater Spa

Property: Sagewater Spa
Address: 12689 Eliseo Rd, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240-4759
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#2 Green Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sagewater Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
#1 hot mineral water hotel in Desert Hot Springs. WINNER of 1 of the 25 BEST SMALL HOTELS in the US! Sagewater Spa, a seven room mid-century modern retreat, is a serene environment for adults who desire complete relaxation. Our facilities are exclusively for hotel guests and we do not have day spa guests sharing the property. We are known for our clean hot mineral well water pool and spa, minimalist designer rooms with desert or mountain views and well equipped kitchenettes. The finest Frette linens, TV, Wi-Fi, Aveda amenities, homemade Gramma B's Coffee cake and Organic European roast coffee. A gourmet poolside BBQ and views of Mount San Jacinto, professional massage treatments and facials add to the splendor. Featured on the cover of T + L , Cool Hotels, Best Designed Wellness Hotels, Tashen SPA, NY, LA, London Times, Chicago Tribune, Boston Globe, ELLE, SPA, Harper's, Traveler, LA, NY, SF Magazine ++. We understand that, "Quiet is the New Luxury." and a weekend away at Sagewater Spa feels like a week away anywhere else. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sagewater Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Sagewater Spa Desert Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing