We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful, welcoming hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Downey
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
267 reviews
246 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“What a wonderful, welcoming hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

I have stayed here a few times!
The decor is beautiful....the staff are welcoming...the hotel rooms are great!
You feel welcome and like your business and patronage is important every single time.
I would stay here again for sure!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eulalia_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle-escobedo, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and choosing our location for your stays in Downey! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us yet again, be assured your comments will be shared with our staff! We do look forward to serving you again on a future visit soon!

Thank you so much for your time and patronage to Embassy Suites - Downey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    229
    123
    81
    50
See reviews for
377
95
36
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
164 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

The check in at this hotel was quick. The lobby and atrium are very pretty and were nicely decorated for the holidays. The room was a typical Embassy Suite layout, but the bathroom was quite small. It was clean and had recently been remodeled. The bed was comfortable. Although some reviews fault the neighborhood, we felt safe (maybe it would be different if the large high school in the next block was in session, but they were on break). There is ample free parking, a good perk for the LA area. The hotel was crowded with lots of families, but was not noisy; other travelers remarked that the bar is loud on the weekends.

There were several things we did not like about the hotel.
* First, the sheets and towels smelled strongly of bleach. (At least we knew they were disinfected, but the odor was unpleasant.)
* Second, the heating/ventilation system can only pump heat or A/C, not both. If the temperature outside is moderate, they turn it off altogether. We felt a bit chilly in the evening. Space heaters were available, but we would have preferred being able to control the room.
* Third, the breakfast/reception area is way too small for the size of the hotel, and the layout was awkward. The breakfast food was fine and the people nice, but by the time we got our omelet, our bacon and potatoes were cold. Lines were very long and there were not enough tables. I don't recall having this problem at other Embassy Suites. The reception had ample drinks but was short on munchies.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the hotel, on a high floor. There are views to downtown LA and the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 91914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle-escobedo, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! I was delighted to read you enojyed your stay. I am happy to inform you that our atrium area is scheduled to be remodeled later this year, making our Breakfast/Manager Reception area bigger and better! However, I'd like to assure you, your comments will be shared with our Executive Team for further review. We look forward to serving you again on a future visit soon!

Thank you so much for your time and patronage to Embassy Suites - Downey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

I reserved this hotel as I swear by Embassy Suites hospitality and food quality. First off the Hotel is Amazing we stayed during the holiday season and they had the hotel beutifully decorated. Felica was amazing at the front Desk always had a wonderful Smile and woud greet you upon arrival and departure. The morning breakfast was amazing and staff was always curtious. The only draw back is the A/C only blows into your room if the outside temp reaches a certain temparture. Just called down to the desk and they sent up a fan and everything was great. The room has two nice flat screen tvs and was totally Clean. Loved this Hotel and will come back again.

Room Tip: Always ask for a high floor and corner room as they are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, GA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

This is a beautiful hotel inside and out. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. I read some recent reviews complaining about noise. It's an open atrium. Every Embassy suites is noisy. If someone speaks above a whisper in the atrium you can hear them. The fitness room was fully equipped. The Firestone Grill was excellent. I dined there almost every night. My one complaint was that the hotel has either heat or air conditioning. Nt both at the same time. Their system cannot heat one room and air condition another. It can only heat or cool. At night I would wake up sweating because the room was so hot. At night the hotel would switch from cooling to heating. My room would go from a comfortable 68F to an uncomfortable 80F.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel. it is quieter and good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

This place is located in a high crime area... Need I say more...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Herb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassyDowney, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
We do share a parking lot with the Downey Police Department. We always have a Manger on Duty to assist you with anything that may come up. We also have security that patrols the hotels every night. Just so you know your concerns are our concerns and we take them very serious. We want every guest to feel at home in safe at our Hotel. We are truly sorry for your experience you had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

I am HH DIAMOND and guess they assign room nice place compare to general guest. I could not sleep until midnight because of noisy from karaoke sing in the bar. I called and confirmed the front desk personnel, that they allowed to sing and play until midnight. Absolutely, no sound proof, clearly deliver lousy, annoying, uunpleasant music and voice. I wonder When embassy suite are the place for singing not for sleeping place until midnight.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chang R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

The entire staff were on their toes. The front desk was courteous and professional. The restaurant staff was quick (we were in a hurry) and worked well together with a positive team attitude. The grill restaurant in the hotel was convenient and sufficed our need to grab a nice salad and glass of wine. The rooms are clean-the sheets and pillow cases had a bit of a strong bleach "essence". If you want a quiet nights sleep, don't get a room on the street side of the hotel. Traffic, trains, and sirens were blaring most of the night. I assumed there were double paned windows. The comp breakfast was more than we expected from a hotel.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms may be found that don't face Firestone Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YvonneP683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downey
0.8 km away
Days Inn Downey
Days Inn Downey
#2 of 8 in Downey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
6.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Norwalk
7.4 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Commerce
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Studio Inn And Suites
1.7 km away
Quality Inn Near Downey Studios
25.1 km away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 117 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey
Address: 8425 Firestone Blvd, Downey, CA 90241-3843
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Downey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Downey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi Million Dollar renovation completed in May 2015. New Lobby. New Atrium. New Restaurant. New Lounge. New Fitness & Business Center. A Brand New Embassy Suites in Downey! All-suite, full service Hotel, located in the heart of Los Angeles! With 4 freeways located within 2 miles of the Hotel, it's easy to get around town. We are only 14 miles from Anaheim, 14 miles from Downtown Los Angeles and 14 miles from Long Beach. Parking is complimentary. Your stay includes a full breakfast and nightly reception from 5:30-7:30pm daily All of our sleeping rooms consist of 2 room suites with your choice of one king or 2 queen beds. The parlor features a double size sofa bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downey Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Downey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing