We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very mixed experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Dunsmuir
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We appreciated to find a place to get overnight accommodation after 12 hours on the highway. The staff was friendly and welcoming and the Oak Tree Inn has some of the niceties(fridge, microwave) that make a motel room convenient for the traveller.No coffeemaker, no shampoo , so bring your own! The building is modern and the adjoining diner has a funky appearance. The windows keep out the hum of the nearby highway,and the curtains are room darkening. So far,so good. The room itself however had a problem with dust-lots of it!- and the airconditioner which we had to use due to very warm temperatures was a noisy unit that ruined any possibility for a restful sleep. Despite AAA discount we paid close to $100.00,which does not compare well with other motel operations,that offer cleaner and quieter accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlotteKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2011

Expect to bring your own amenities, such as shampoo and a hair dryer (we weren't prepared, but our request was answered within minutes) but also expect a warm welcome, a very clean and spacious room, a cute diner on site, and downtown Dunsmuir only 2 1/2 miles away.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheGrovelandCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

The place looked nice going into it. Then we checked into the hotel at the 'Penny's Diner,' across the street. There was only one woman running it. She was trying to be funny with us but it just came off as rude and obnoxious. We just relaxed in the comfortable room until dinner time. We chose to go to the diner because we were told that it was free. They lied. That same woman was running the entire restaurant and checking people into the hotel. I felt bad, but it took us almost two hours to get two meals. The food was adequate, but someone should definitely be helping this poor woman. I wish we would have gone downtown to eat. I slept fine that night because the room was very quiet. Overall, I would only suggest staying here if you have to stay one night just to get to your next destination.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrmaoconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2008

I am a guy with a wife and kids. I want a bargin deal when I travel
but I want to stay in a clean quiet nice place. Thats what I got at the Oaktree Inn Dunsmuir., Ca. The staff was great. The place was quiet, clean, neat and orderly. On top of all that it wasn't hard on the pocket if you know what I'm saying. The General
Manager is a decent guy who really made us feel like he was
happy to see and meet us. When I travel north this is my new stop for me and my family and who ever else I can tell about it.
The diner they have is a great place with good food and a friendly staff.
Thanks for taking the time to read my review.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank bluecollarjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2008

We stayed there because we were tired and so were the kids. The hotel was clean. The restaurant was good and a free breakfast with the room was also nice surprise. Extremely quiet hotel way better than the national chains that compare to it Motel 6 or Days Inn type. The staff was very friendly as well. We liked it so much we stayed there on our way back home as-well and have included it into this years stop.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2007

Room hadn't been cleaned, apparently they don't have full time housekeeping. the waitress and cooks from Penny's Diner clean rooms in their spare time at night. Yuck.
Rooms were quiet. The area is beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank yvie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: consiglio il primo piano, stanze più nuove
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dammmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsmuir
4.2 km away
Dunsmuir Lodge
Dunsmuir Lodge
#3 of 6 in Dunsmuir
114 reviews
9.3 km away
Best Western Plus Tree House
6.6 km away
Swiss Holiday Lodge
Swiss Holiday Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mount Shasta
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#3 of 9 in Mount Shasta
79 reviews
8.3 km away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#7 of 9 in Mount Shasta
36 reviews
2.3 km away
Dunsmuir Inn & Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Dunsmuir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dunsmuir

Address: 4000 Siskiyou Ave, Dunsmuir, CA 96025-1931 (Formerly Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir)
Region: United States > California > Dunsmuir
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Price Range: $64 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Dunsmuir 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge Dunsmuir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing