We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Value, Convenient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mira Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mira Vista
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Cerrito
California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Value, Convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I have stayed here several times over the past few years. It is not a luxury hotel, but it is good value for the money, and very convenient. I have paid a lot more for hotels in the area that were noisy and dirty. The decor is not especially impressive, and the surroundings are urban (don't expect a view), but it is clean, and has what I need in a hotel: security, convenience (right off the freeway), free parking, free wireless in the room, breakfast (basic cereal, coffee, etc.), and a good price. The room was old, but reasonably large, the bed comfortable (the pillows were not so great), it was quiet, and there was coffee in the room. This is not the place to go for a luxury experience, but as a place to sleep while in the Berkeley area, it is fine.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneT013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel Mira Vista, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feed back regarding our hotel.You may also be interested to learn that we compleed the refurbishment of all our rooms in mid March of 2012 nd also expanded our breakfast spread to include many more items like yourgt,waffels,oakmeal etc.If your traveling to Berkeley El Cerrito area again we would be happy to have you as our guest and will do anything in our power to make your stay as pleasyunt and confortable as possible

Thank you again
The mangement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    84
    59
    15
    15
See reviews for
68
54
27
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

We were visiting family and found this hotel on the internet..so we were not sure what we were getting. From the pictures, it looked very nice and we got a rate at $67/night. When we arrived that day we were pleasantly surprised how nice the room was...we had a queen size bed and was partitioned from a separate living room area that had a pull out sofa bed. Everything was clean and the wireless worked fine. We were on the 3rd floor, so we took the elevator or stairs to the 2nd floor where the continental breakfast area was...It was nice.. And, the maid service was great. The elevator was a little dingy, but not too bad. The view from our room window was a little depressing (the back of a furniture store) but we were not in the room during the day much anyway...All the rooms were on the inside of the building and had security measures in place..I found out we were just down the street from a bad area in Richmond. But we did not see anything to alarm us. The Hotel was close to a Denny's and the Bart (transit system) train. It was in walking distance...lots of other restaurants around. The bus also was nearby on San Pablo Ave. And the Interstate was also close (I-80) so you could get to Berkeley, San Francisco with no problem. Overall, it was a great place to stay...and we would stay there again..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenandKaren386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8ElCerrito, Owner at Hotel Mira Vista, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to say a few words about our Hotel, as the next door property belongs to someone else there very little we can do about that situation.Looking forward to seeing you again when ever you are back in this area.You will most welcomed

Thank you again
The Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

A good way to ease your way into the city. It's near the BART, Albany, restaurants, The Guitar Center and the highway. I just don't like people stomping over my head but they did go to sleep around the same time I did. Other than that, it was a good deal. Cable and free wifi!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelerbycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

The hotel is 5 min by feet far away from the El Cerrito del Norte Bart station, which is about 20 minutes from downtown San Francisco. The room was comfortable, large, clean and quiet. The continental breakfast is quite simple, consisting of orange juice, coffee, cereal and some cakes, which is ok for the price. Internet connection (WLAN) is gratis.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kklaus6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAGALIA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2009

I am absolutely stunned about the positive reviews this hotel has received. The receptionist offered us a choice of two rooms, one with a king size bed, the other with two queens. She pointed out that the queen room was recently renovated. It turned out the renovation was restricted to a flat screen TV and newly painted walls that could make you colorblind. The beds had the worst mattresses I ever encountered in a Super 8. Off we went to the king room which was a narrow dark room right behind the elevator. No "renovation" here. All of that is not the worst. What made us leave the hotel instantly was the terrible odor that filled the hallways and - to a somewhat lesser degree - the rooms. Unbearable!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddy-Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these El Cerrito hotels

KlamathFalls, OR
Level Contributor
124 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

I attended a convention at the Moscone Center in downtown San Francisco. Not wanting to pay the outrageous hotel rates in the downtown area, I chose this motel instead. And I was very pleased.
It took me 7 minutes to walk from my room to the BART terminal. From there its about a 20 minute, $4.05 ride to downtown San Francisco. You could even afford to eat downtown with the money you saved on lodging.
The front desk clerk , Irma, was extremely helpful, and deserves a lot of praise. She helped me fix a quirky internet connection, and even offered to loan me her own personal laptop.
The room was comfortable, clean and quiet. Don't plan on much for the continental breakfast. It consists of orange juice, coffee, cold cereal and some muffins that are wrapped individually. But with the money you safe you could get a regular meal.
Across the street is a restaurant called "Shari's". Avoid it. Crummy service, small portions.
I will definitely stay there again when visiting San Francisco.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgian Bay
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

I wasn't exactly sure how this reservation was going to turn out but I'm happy to report that selecting this motel was a "GREAT DEAL".The room was excellent.

We arrived just after their 3PM check-in time and went up to the room and it wasn't cleaned yet....walking back to the front desk I was thinking to myself.."oh great...this is how it is going to be"...LOL the clerk was unaware of the situation but immediately got on the case and had the cleaning staff work on it right away and apologized saying they were sold out the night before and the cleaning was running slightly behind...we sat in the lobby for about 10mins or so and the room was ready....I was skeptical..but entering the room it was cleaned perfectly. The front desk called to check on us and to see if everything was satisfactory...and it was !

The motel was quiet and clean. Front Desk was very helpful. The continental was basic and surprisingly the coffee was excellent. The pkg'd muffins and danishes were good as well.

Not sure what the master plan was for putting the motel there..not much around it...vacant lot next door and the Inter-State at the front door. There is a mall up the street...and they will have a iHop open soon. Right now they have a Church's Chicken, Walgreens, Dollar Store, Staples and a hardware store.

We would return to the motel from the BART station usually after dark...8PM roughly and the walk was always uneventful. I would load up your BART ticket before leaving the station because the line up's in the morning could be long for buying or reloading your ticket.

The motel is a 5-7min walk to the BART System. I would highly recommend the BART over renting a vehicle. It is roughly $4.10-one way from the El Cerrito del Norte station to Embarcadero station and approx a 20min ride....the Embarcadero station is the one closest to the "Pier" area of San Francisco...about a 15min walk down Market Street...Pier 39 "Fisherman's Wharf" is probably a good 40 min walk and the Alcatraz Pier is 25min walk from the Embarcadero station.

My advice if visiting the San Francisco pier this time of year (early October) dress warm!! you could freeze once the sun starts to set.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sybock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Cerrito
5.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
6.3 km away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
6.3 km away
Courtyard Richmond Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express San Pablo
6.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
7.8 km away
Days Inn Pinole Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mira Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mira Vista

Property: Hotel Mira Vista
Address: 6009 Potrero Ave, El Cerrito, CA 94530-2124 (Formerly Super 8)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > El Cerrito
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Cerrito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mira Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at Potrero Exit on I-80 east bound. We are minutes away from Berkeley/Emeryville. Located only block and half away from Del Norte BART Station with easy connection to Oakland/San Francisco and onward to SFO International Airport.There are shopping centers and restaurants nearby.Nearby attraction - UC Berkeley, Golden Gate Field Race Track, Alcatraz, Pier 39/ Fisherman's Wharf, Napa Valley Wine Country, Six Flags Discovery Kingdom, Jelly Belly Candy Factory, AT&T Park SF and Oakland Colosseum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Mira Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Berkeley El Cerrito Hotel El Cerrito
Super 8 El Cerrito
Super Eight El Cerrito
El Cerrito Super Eight
El Cerrito Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing