We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Acceptable lodgings outside of Yosemite”
Review of Cedar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cedar Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Acceptable lodgings outside of Yosemite”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This is a motel campus, 6 buildings of rooms plus a gift shop, indoor and outdoor pools, restaurant, bar & grill, and many bear sculptures spotted around the property. There is a Yosemite Regional Transportation System (YARTS) bus stop on the property so you can get to Yosemite Valley by public transportation if you choose. (You can also take YARTS from the Merced Amtrak station to Cedar Lodge and may other locations—www.yarts.com)

Our room, 2 queens, was pleasantly decorated and at first glance appeared well kept and clean. But a large scattering of what appeared to be dried toothpaste on the floor and part of the wall in the bathroom showed that the bathroom had been inadequately cleaned.

Walking across the floor, it was obvious that the sound would transmit to the downstairs room.

There were no wash clothes only hand and bath towels.

The mattresses and pillows are extremely firm.

Heating and cooling is supplied by a standard manually operated blower mounted on the wall under the window. Once you turn the unit it on the loud blower stays on all the time. In our room the air went up behind the draperies (see photo). There are visible gaps at the bottom and top of the door so the room.

Cedar Lodge offers internet access in the motel lobby and charges $9 (no internet access in the rooms). There are several upholstered chairs, a couch and a coffee table but no desks in the lobby. They offer wifi only so unless you have a person VPN don't do anything involving secure information. There is no data coverage anywhere near Yosemite (so you won't be able to get internet over your cell plan) and very limited cell phone coverage in certain areas including Yosemite Valley

Nearly all the rooms face North or South and so are dark even with the curtains open. In our room the light switch inside the door wass connected to a bedside lamp across the room. When we used the lamp at night and turned it off by it's switch we needed tot remember to turn it back on in the morning and then flip the wall switch before leaving the room so we would be able to use the wall switch when we returned in the evening.

We ate breakfast twice in the restaurant. The staff was very nice, the food was good, classic country breakfast options—fluffy pancakes, good orange juice from concentrate, the sausage had a bit too much pepper for our tastes, a fresh strawberry gave the plate a little panache.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    620
    759
    307
    157
See reviews for
613
876
53
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

On a recent trip to Yosemite we stayed at the Cedar lodge. We booked three rooms. We were all sad to hear that the rooms did not have Wifi or cell service, but we were on vacation and could get by without it. Next when we did get into our rooms my brothers room was not even cleaned. The beds were undone and the bathroom was a mess. When we called the front desk they said they would see what they could do as housekeeping had left for the day. 15 minutes later a man with sheets came up into the room and proceeded to change out the sheets. I told my brother this was unacceptable and he talked to the guy. He asked the guy if they could stay in another room that was clean like the one next door. The guy said sure and went next door unlocked it and said here you go. The room that he was given had a phone and TV that didn't work. My parents room had a lock that was broken and this made my mom really uncomfortable.

We ate at the diner one night and other then the servers that were confused about our order the food was alright. We had big hopes the last morning of our trip for a warm breakfast. Unfortunately it had snowed so the cook didn't make it in and we got stuck with toast and fruit and pastrys from the day before. It was $5.95 per person for even my three year old. We had no choice but to eat here as we had to feed the kids and the next place to stop and get food was in Marioposa. I had big hopes for this place but in the future I will save my money and stay in the park itself.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Billhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these El Portal hotels

Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed here after purchasing a Groupon deal for March. The positives are - location to Yosemite - about a 15 minute drive that is spectacular, beautiful surroundings, indoor pool - was closed, but still a nice ammenity, bar and grill - not a lot of food choices close by, rooms clean and hotel nicely kept. The not so positives - Stay on the top floor because you can hear every step, rooms dark so if it is not a sunny day hard to read or see in the room, food in bar and grill leaves something to be desired, but it was a really fun atmosphere - and there was very few of us there midweek off season and they put us all in rooms next to each other. Not that I mind having people around, but because the walls are hear-through it would have been nice to skip a room between us. What made this acceptable was the great deal we got on the room price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed a night on a return trip to Yosemite during winter. I usually stay in Oakhurst because of the wide variety of lodging and dining options there. Oakhurst is good if you want to start your day at the Mariposa Grove but El Portal is the closest to Yosemite Valley. Cedar Lodge is only 7 miles from the entrance to the park on US140 and about 5 miles from the Valley once inside the park which makes it super convenient. The motel is large, looks almost like a condo. Room was pleasant and is similar to that of a mid-tier motel. Check-in was effiicient and pleasant. Continental breakfast as really basic, breads and grains only.

Room Tip: US 140 is quiet during winter so just about no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EatSeeDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed here for 2 very pleasant nights when visiting beautiful Yosemite. We were very happy with the room we received, while it wasn’t decorated to our taste, it was big, clean and comfortable with everything you would hope for. We were very happy with the indoor swimming pool which is a nice way to relax after a day in the park.
It probably would be better to stay in the park as there was quite a wait when we were entering the park on our first morning, I think around 40 minutes but park accommodation gets booked out quite easily so I think this is a very good option. We also thought Cedar Lodge was fairly good value.
We ate in the main restaurant on both nights of our stay and we thought the food was fine, not amazing but no problem with it either.
Overall a good stay and we would happily recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank daai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cedar002, General Manager at Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Hi,

Thank you for your review. We are very happy you had a good time. We look forward to your return stay with us.

Thanks
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I needed a place to stay with my two daughters ages 5 and 8. I was taking them to Yosemite for a weekend of skiing, skating, snow play and hiking but I didn't want to break the bank on lodging. Yosemite Lodge was not only overpriced but it was also booked up.

I also was looking for an indoor heated pool that was actually swimable and food on site. Cedar lodge fulfilled all my requirements. They are half an hour drive from yosemite village in the valley and less than an hour away from the ski lifts at badger pass. I booked my rooms on line for a great deal and spent lots of quality time with my girls. The rooms were clean and comfy, the pool was warm and clean (although a bit over chlorinated), the restaurant was satisfactory and a good value for its proximity to Yosemite.

I had fun with my girls and we had no issues with the accomodations. We received what we expected and it was a great value for the price.

Room Tip: Order on line from a discount web site. I booked my room through hotels.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Acj1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cedar002, General Manager at Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
We are happy that you and your girls enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return visit.

Thanks
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

the room was okay it was clean. Very quiet as its the only building for miles around! no wi fi in rooms! and you can only get wi fi in the lobby! at $9 dollars for 24hrs! great bar next to the hotel and good food and good service. quite close to experience Yosemite Park.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M2DOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cedar002, General Manager at Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do only have internet in the lobby for now. Yes there is a charge.
Thanks
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
24.0 km away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
17.1 km away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
28.0 km away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,721 reviews
28.4 km away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
12.9 km away
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge

Property: Cedar Lodge
Address: 9966 Highway 140, PO Box C, El Portal, CA 95318
Region: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel El Portal
Cedar Lodge Yosemite
Cedar Lodge El Portal
Cedar El Portal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing