We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in El Portal
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Yosemite Valley Lodge(Yosemite National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rush Creek Lodge(Groveland)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Trees Lodge(Yosemite National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel(Yosemite National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yosemite Inn(Mariposa)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveller rating
526
30
14
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
526
30
14
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsron and lizhumming birdsb bwonderful hostsmerced riverother guestspark entrancelotus rootmotel complexsunflower roombed and breakfastbalcony overlooking the riverwrap around deckpizza place next dooreach morninghummingbird feedershome from home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
334 - 339 of 578 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2011

A bit difficult to find (behind a large motel complex) but worth searching for. Superb location right on the Merced River, lulls you to sleep at night. Rooms beautifully furnished with antiques. Super breakfasts, something different every day. Liz & Ron make you feel right at home. Probably the best B & B we have ever stayed at, certainly the upper level rooms are the largest.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussietraveller2076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We planned our trip with friends from Australia, they climbed the half dome while we ambled about below.The Blue Butterfly B&B was an absolute delight to come back to,the accommodation was excellent,beds were extremely comfortable,decor was very tasteful with some lovely antiques to look at.Breakfast was delicious,and our hosts Ron & Liz were lovely people to meet.We cannot highly recommend this B&B enough....Well done Liz & Ron for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

When we visited Yosemite, we chose to stay at the Blue Butterfly Inn in El Portal. The magnificent house, decorated with an exquisite taste in antiques, stands hidden behind a gigantic motel. Once inside the house, this world seems to disappear and one can only have eyes for the interior of the house and the roaring river behind it. Because of the smart orietation, the house is calm and peaceful. We stayed in the Poppy Room and had a comfortable sleep. What made our stay even more attractive and interesting were the elaborate conversations with our two hosts, Liz and Ron. This is more than a regular B&B. We had a very good stay and will return whenever we visit Yosemite again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albert047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Blue Butterfly B&B in Sept while on vacation in Yosemite....What an absolutely WONDERFUL place to stay!!!! The accomodations and location were top notch, but what made it so wonderful was the fellowship with Ron and Liz, as well as with the other guests... They are such marvelous hosts....Eating breakfast on the deck with the hummingbirds and Purringer the cat with the Merced river flowing in the background was something we will cherish forever--Oh,did I mention the food was delicious...We had only a short, picturesque drive to Yosemite valley, glacier point, or Tioga pass....Usually we get homesick a bit after being away from home, but here Liz and Ron made you feel you were right at home... We can't wait to come BACK!!!
DEBBY and JERRY

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We loved the Blue Butterfly. We stayed there for a wedding in early September and found it the perfect spot. Liz and Ron are fantastic innkeepers -- charming, knowledgeable and full of interesting stories. My wife and I had a great time chatting with them and some of the other guests while enjoying the amazing view of the river and granite rock faces.

The rooms were lovely, furnished with antiques and comfortable beds. Liz's delicious cooking kept us eating well past when we should of stopped. If you find yourself doing the same just remember that you're fueling up for the day's hiking.

We LOVED their "curfew" policy and thought it very sensitive to the fact that guests usually either had just finished a long day of hiking or were headed out to one (early) the next morning and wanted respite. The curfew kept the house quiet and peaceful but in no way shut down jovial chat with other guests on the deck (with grown-up attitudes toward drinking).

We look forward to being guests at the Blue Butterfly again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heyemcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews