We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant visit, some good wines”

Orfila Vineyards & Winery
Ranked #4 of 52 things to do in Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The exceptional estate wines produced by Orfila Vineyards & Winery are a credit to acclaimed winemaker, Justin Mund. The 70 acre farm just fifteen miles from the Pacific coastline, with a Mediterranean climate, and sandy soils, is ideal for French Rhône varietals. Orfila is located in the heart of San Diego’s greenbelt, in the beautiful San Pasqual Valley.
Reviewed July 6, 2018

I stopped in at Orfila with a few friends. The wines overall were good, with a couple of standouts (the Montepulciano in particular). Brian, the assistant tasting room manager, was very knowledgeable about the wines and was fun to talk with. Large, airy tasting room with plenty of wine-related items to look at and/or buy. The wine prices were reasonable too. A nice winery to check out in the Escondido area.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank roadtrip_ken_2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"wine tasting"
in 40 reviews
"tasting room"
in 28 reviews
"san pasqual valley"
in 12 reviews
"trivia night"
in 5 reviews
"escondido area"
in 5 reviews
"logo glass"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful patio"
in 4 reviews
"grape arbor"
in 4 reviews
"wine club members"
in 4 reviews
"the wild animal park"
in 5 reviews
"relaxing afternoon"
in 3 reviews
"safari park"
in 6 reviews
"owl"
in 7 reviews
"picnic"
in 18 reviews
"viognier"
in 5 reviews
"sd"
in 4 reviews
"napa"
in 3 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 222 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile

Orfila Vineyards is a treat. Great varieties. Very cool vineyard, tour of production facility. Friendly and attentive staff. Very good service. Great gift shop. Our chauffeur was Paris of San Diego Wine & Spirits Tour. Highly recommend both Orfila and SDWS.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Sightsee197178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2018 via mobile

Joined my daughter and friends for trivia night.
Beautiful view and set up under a big tent.
Great wine and bring your own snacks.
Would like more questions and bit faster pace on the game.
All in all, a fun time!

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank GabbyG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2018

I come from a country where wine has a long tradition. I know the California wineries produce good wines, as they do here at Orfila Winery A relaxing moment in the middle of nature. A very pleasant place. A very nice terrace on the edge of the vineyard. Very friendly staff. Good prices. If you come by car, do not drive. Come with a friend .... or a girlfriend.... who will taste the wine when he/she gets home ....

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank baciucarmaciu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2018

It's been a year since I have been here and it is still as lovely as a remember. We did some tasting and purchased a bottle to enjoy on the patio under the vines. We listened to the live music and enjoyed the views. The rose was very nice so we got a bottle to take with us. The food trucks come but this time he wasn't starting until 2 just as we were leaving.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank JenJen1865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orfila Vineyards & Winery also viewed

 

Been to Orfila Vineyards & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing