We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super 8 Eureka is a DUMP!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Eureka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Super 8 Eureka
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
137 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Super 8 Eureka is a DUMP!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel is the worst I have stayed in, EVER! To begin with, the room was dirty at check in. The windows barely worked. No air conditioning. Noise. And those are the good points.

The worse was the overall condition of the room and hotel; it is worn and badly in need of a top to bottom upgrade. However, the staff were nice.

BTW, our non-smoking room also smelled. With other choices in down, choose any other than possibly the Motel 6 down the road.

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless they do a major upgrade of the property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    56
    77
    44
    67
See reviews for
91
100
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

I have always been a cheap motel traveler and can handle the simple/low end amenities they offer. That said, this was truly the worst motel experience I have ever had. The most challenging part were the beds. We had two queens in the room and tried both, but they were uncomfortable to the point of both me and my spouse waking up multiple times in the night because a hand had fallen asleep from lack of circulation or we had a pain in our back or neck. We sleep on a futon at home and are not spoiled by good beds, so this was truly an absurd lack of comfort. The next challenge was the neighboring room. The occupant had visitors throughout the night each night we were there. A new knock at the door with some conversation occurred about every hour or so. My presumption is that they were dealing out of the room (I speak as a trained Child Welfare worker who has experience in this area) but I cannot be certain of that. The final issue was the carpet in the room. It was not just stained, but matted down in areas with various colors of stain that were rather foul looking. Normally I would write this off as "cheap motel funk" but this time I ended up with a rash on my feet that I attribute to walking across that carpet barefoot during our four day stay.

On an interesting note, when we checked in the desk clerk said he was giving us his best room so that we could give him a good review online (seeing that we got our room with Priceline). If this was the best room, I would hate to see the others!

Room Tip: No room is worth choosing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eureka hotels

Elk Grove,ca
Level Contributor
120 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We needed a place to stay on a spur of the moment trip to Eureka so I checked tripadvisor for motels. The reviews were mixed for the Super 8 with mostly positive so I booked at a very reasonable rate. I was not disappointed and in fact was pleasantly surprised at how nice and clean I found the room. I recommend you ask for an inside room as the motel is between two one way streets (101N and 101S). The noise level was very low but could be higher on the outside rooms. I have a favorite seafood restuarant in Eureka at the harbor called Marina Cafe and I discovered that the Super 8 is less than a couple miles away. Great room and meal on the same trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bearfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EurekaSuper8, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Eureka, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are glad you have enjoyed your visit to the Eureka Super 8 Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We had a free night w/ Windham Rewards, needed hotel in Eureka area, and though the Super 8 reviews were not so great, we decided to try it. We do not regret. The rooms were huge, with microwave and refrigerator, the bed was comfortable enough. The property is well-maintained, the breakfast was decent, and we used the pool and the spa. And sounds like it is a good value - we will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luda247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EurekaSuper8, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Eureka, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you have enjoyed your visit to the Eureka Super 8 Hotel in California . We look forward to welcoming you back to California again soon and we hope you’ll stay with us at the Eureka Super 8 Motel again!
We are keep trying to be more organized for satisfing our honourble guest.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

The clerc had a nice room for us even though the webpage said nothing was available. There was little noise from neighbors, maybe because walls are not paperthin as in other motels. Nice breakfastbuffet and friendly staff. I wouldn't hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruedi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EurekaSuper8, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Eureka, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you have enjoyed your visit to the Eureka Super 8 Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.We hope your next visit will be more enjoyable and comfortable.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
temecula
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We have 2 students at HSU and have always stayed in Arcata until we found the Eureka property. The property was clean, convienient and well maintained. The breakfast was good and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grant y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EurekaSuper8, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Eureka, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you have enjoyed your visit to the Eureka Super 8 Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We had 6 rooms for our company. Bedbugs, mysterious rashes and missing clothes. Wouldn't change our rooms. Very uncooperative!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilie114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EurekaSuper8, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Eureka, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
The Eureka Super 8 Motel Management and staff want to say Thank you for your review. We appreciate all the feedback we receive. This way we can better ourselves in great Customer Service.

It is mentionable that when we check the room we didn't find any bedbugs or roaches in the room and we gave them different room as their choice. secondly, Guests came to the office and received their missing clothes in the same day the checked- out date.

Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eureka hotels
0.3 km away
Town House Motel
Town House Motel
#7 of 21 in Eureka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
4.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#10 of 21 in Eureka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.0 km away
Days Inn Eureka CA
Days Inn Eureka CA
#12 of 21 in Eureka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.6 km away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Eureka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Eureka

Property: Super 8 Eureka
Address: 1304 4th St, North on US 101, Eureka, CA 95501-0605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Eureka 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Super 8 Eureka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Eureka Hotel Eureka
Super 8 Hotel Eureka
Super Eight Eureka
Eureka Super Eight
Eureka Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing