We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
56
18
3
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
18
3
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eagle house bagels victorian gem unoccupied rooms ball room antique furniture irish pub dance hall organic coffee the morning continental breakfast labor of love high end linens fourth floor old town granola sitting room historic hotel
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 84 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2018

This place was a great find! I was a bit concerned at first as there are a lot of "interesting" folks out back by the rescue mission but once inside was put to rest. The hotel is so pretty; the wood work, amazing; and the staff, very accomodating and friendly. Fun town to walk around!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4trinetteb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca R, Owner at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Thank you for giving us your feedback. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you stay with us again the next time you come to Old Town Eureka!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2018

Very welcoming and accommodating staff ( thank you!) throughout stay, with high attention to detail. Sit on second floor in "lower lounge area" in evening, and enjoy incredible jazz/pianist/other ensembles resonating from the bar, while watching folks coming and going down below. It's somewhat surreal and if you close your eyes, you can see and feel 1898. Honestly.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank daverhummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca R, Owner at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We're glad to hear that we provided you a safe and enjoyable place to stay in your attempt to get away from the fires. We hope to have you stay with us again the next time you are on the coast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2018

The hotel is located in the heart of old town Eureka - close to resturants and bars and a couple blocks from the Humboldt Bay. The room was adorable and the staff was professional and courteous. I felt right at home and enjoyed all of the details of this beautiful and charming place. The ballroom downstairs is beautiful. You can tell that the owners and staff treat this inn as a labor of love. My only tip is related to noise. The windows are likely original, meaning there is little sound reduction from the outside, but the staff provides earpugs. I didn't feel like I needed them but I did get awoken a couple times when loud vehicles passed by -- if you have difficulty falling asleep, you should use them.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca R, Owner at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback Sara. Our location in Old Town Eureka, which has some of the best restaurants, bars, and shops all within walking distance of the Inn, can sometimes be a bit noisy and yes, being a 130 year old building, the walls and windows are not the most soundproof, which is why we offer earplugs to those who are more sensitive to noise. We're glad that your stay was enjoyable and look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in Eureka!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2018

I was very disappointed in this hotel. The room we were given on the 4th floor had a great view but did not have a TV (ask if you want this!) and I was treated as if I was not telling the truth when I said this had not been discussed in my phone reservation. The room on the 2nd floor with a TV that we moved to was over the bar, and ear plugs were provided on each nightstand (not a good sign). It turned out that the bar was not loud, but the street noise was. A tattoo parlor with neon signs is across the street, and their motion-detection bright light went off all night as people passed by. Not a restful environment. We did not think the photos of the rooms on their website were representative of the actual condition. The decor seemed just old, not stylish, and the second floor lobby in particular smelled old. When we moved rooms, it was clear that we did not want to stay 2 nights. Management charged us for 2 nights anyway (their right under the policy) and recommended a more modern hotel nearby. My advice: go there first!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kat_Runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca R, Owner at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations when you originally booked with us as it is never our intention to mislead potential guests. We stress to our staff the importance of asking whether a tv is important when booking a room so again, I apologize if that did not happen. While we do share the history of our 130 year old Victorian on our website, as well as clear pictures of many of our rooms, we understand that it is not everyone's "cup of tea" and we hope that the other hotel that we recommended met your expectations and are always happy to refer business if it means our guests are content.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2018

My wife and I are fans of quaint hotels that represent the heyday of the town. The Inn at 2nd and C is one of those places. From the outside, it looks like a saloon with a hotel on the second floor. The owners that bought it 2 years ago have been restoring it to it's prime time. The room was very spacious and well appointed with period furnishings. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was small but not unuseable. Not all the rooms have a tv so ask if you want one. There were earplugs on the nightstands next to the bed that worried us. We didn't need them. The room was very quiet. Make sure you check out the dance hall, the bar and Gallagher's Restaurant on the first floor.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojojen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca R, Owner at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our Victorian Inn Mike as your feedback is greatly valued! We all have worked extremely hard over the past year and a half updating this 130 year old treasure for guests like yourself who enjoy a bit of history without sacrificing a wonderful nights sleep. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Eureka!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews