We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Valerie R

Off Season Bliss

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 22, 2024
Our family spent a week here in mid-March, and we would definitely come back. The best things about it were the location, staff, sense of privacy, and amenities. It’s about 5 minutes from Yosemite’s South entrance, which is also where you park to hike to the Mariposa Grove of the Giant Sequoias, when the short road to that area’s welcome plaza is closed. The heart of Yosemite Valley is another hour further in, which is to be expected if not staying inside the park. It’s about 15 minutes to town, where there’s grocery stores, restaurants, fast food, convenience stores, and even a Big Five, which came in handy because we had left our son’s hiking boots at home. It’s also about 25 minutes to Bass Lake, where we ate dinner one night and where there would be more to do in the summer. Every single staff member was friendly and helpful (special shoutout to Justin). We stayed in the cottages, which was a great choice. Thanks to the the surrounding trees and where our cottage was situated, we would leave the patio door blinds and back side blinds open when we were inside to constantly have that woodsy feeling. It was so quiet that we could hear the blue jays’ and ravens’ wings flapping, while we were sitting on our balcony. There’s also parking right by each cottage, so we only had to take our suitcases and bags about 30 feet to our door. The fireplace added to the cozy feeling and can warm up the cottage so well that we would turn it off in the middle of the night. The amenities and little extras were a nice bonus. For $15, you can ice skate onsite or rent a sled this time of year. In the daytime, the lobby area has a complementary trail mix dispenser, which is replaced by a s’mores station in the evening, and there’s always a jar of delicious taffy. We liked to make our s’mores at the large fire pit on the backside of the main building, although there are two more towards the front on the restaurant patio. Near the lobby restrooms, is a general filtered water dispenser and an ATM-side SodaStream offering plain and perfectly/subtly flavored water in both still and sparkling, with strawberry and peach being our favorites. Had I known this, I wouldn’t have brought a bunch of gallons ourselves. Also, our son drank more water on hikes once we started using the SodaStream. The nightly movies in the indoor pool and jacuzzi area and telescope set-up one night were nice as well. Overall, the family-friendly activities led to us bonding with two other families, with the adults playing cards (complementary pack from the front desk) and corn hole (near the restaurant) while the kids played. We all had breakfast together in town the next morning after the first family checked out, and we hung out and hiked with the other family for the next two days they were there. Although we didn’t try it, one of the dad’s recommended the spa and really enjoyed his massage.

There were a few things that kept it from being five stars. The vanity in the cottage was powder room sized, and there was nowhere to really put our toiletries. It takes away from the ambiance and feels cluttered to have them all on the dresser or desk in the main room. Given that it’s a floating vanity, they should seriously consider adding some shelving below it. The guys would have liked a newer TV with more options. And the floor creaked quite a bit in the middle of the room. Based on the other families’ feedback on the onsite food, we opted to eat in town or eat what we had brought with us for breakfast and packed lunches. The movies in the pool area only took up the inner third of the projector screen, which also included some blank space, making it a little smaller than desirable for the space. Some of games in the game room need some maintenance. The men’s locker room by the pool didn’t have any showers for the gentlemen to rinse off, although the women’s did plus some weird sitting area in what looks like a large storage closet. However, since they’re renovating the main lodge, maybe some of these things will be addressed soon. We’d still be willing to overlook these minor inconveniences and stay again.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: No need to buy lots of water for hikes thanks to the two complementary water dispensers,...
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Dining area off kitchen area with one way windows and pull blinds
Go to your Happy Price
    0.9 km from Tenaya At Yosemite
    The pool wasn't here in 1987
    C$324
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Algotels
    2.2 km from Tenaya At Yosemite
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Little Ahwahnee Inn
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    • Expedia.com
    1.1 km from Tenaya At Yosemite
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    C$640
    C$588
    Fully refundable
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • travelup.com
    0.0 km from Tenaya At Yosemite
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    C$310
    C$300
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Skyscanner.com
    10.2 km from Tenaya At Yosemite
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • Choice Hotels
      C$409
    • Algotels
    10.9 km from Tenaya At Yosemite
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    SWIMMING POOL
    C$177
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      C$177
    12.3 km from Tenaya At Yosemite
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      C$396
    • Algotels
    12.6 km from Tenaya At Yosemite
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Cabin area
    C$229
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Skyscanner.com
    13.5 km from Tenaya At Yosemite
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Fish Camp
    Reviews (6,460)
    Filter reviews
    6,460 results
    Traveller rating
    2,702
    2,226
    917
    383
    232
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    2,702
    2,226
    917
    383
    232
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews the cottages indoor pool beautiful lodge ice skating cottage room south entrance the main lodge breakfast buffet glacier point valley floor minute drive fire pit embers jackalope sierra concierge ahwahnee
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    41 - 46 of 6,460 reviews
    Reviewed March 11, 2024 via mobile

    The staff was friendly and helpful, the reception desk, the bell hop, the concierge, and everyone we dealt with in the restaurant and on-site deli. The room was pleasant, although it needs a few changes. The beds have a very tall mattress and are very comfortable, but are so high they are difficult to get on. There is an open room by there reception area to sit and play games, which can be checked out at the desk, sit and relax, and on Saturday night they had live music which was enjoyable. Although we did not use them, there is an indoor heated pool and an onsight spa and exercise room. We did enjoy the food at the on sight restaurant and they have a deli with to go sandwiches and salads, pastries and other available snacks.

    Room tip: Parking can be a problem on busy days, they do provide valet parking for a fee.
    Date of stay: March 2024
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    1  Thank jeanq477
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed March 4, 2024

    We stayed at the lodge from March 1st to March 3rd for a wedding, and overall, it was a memorable experience. The lodge staff worked diligently to keep the driveways, walkways, and parking lots clear during a heavy snowstorm, which was impressive.

    We enjoyed our meals at Jackalopes, where the food was exceptional, and the staff, particularly Jorge and David, provided excellent service. Their attentiveness added to our dining experience.

    The wedding itself was incredible, with everything being executed perfectly. The staff and the quality of the food were superb, contributing to a truly memorable event. The bartenders Allison and Jason were top notch!

    Our room was fantastic, offering us an awesome view of the forest. We enjoyed sipping wine on our balcony while watching the snow fall—a truly magical experience.

    However, our stay was marred by a couple of negative interactions with one of the valets, Carl. Unfortunately, Carl's demeanor during our interactions, both at check-in and upon departure, was less than satisfactory. During our departure, Carl rudely directed us to move our car to another area for unloading, without offering any assistance with our bags. His demeanor suggested a lack of consideration for our status as guests, which was disappointing and left a negative impression.

    We also encountered another negative interaction with Carl upon check-out. Despite our attempt to avoid him, the other valets were already assisting other guests. Given the snowy conditions on the roads, my husband intended to put cables on the car for safety. However, Carl informed us that we couldn't do it ourselves unless we went to the parking lot, which we preferred to avoid due to the snow. He offered to put them on for us, which we accepted, and we tipped him $10 for his help. However, his response, "You know, normally it costs more to have someone do this for you," was shocking and made us feel extremely uncomfortable.

    It's disheartening that Carl was our first and last interaction with the hotel staff during our stay. His behavior during both instances was unprofessional and did not align with the standards of customer service. It's our belief that he may not be suited to work in any capacity requiring customer interaction.

    While we thoroughly enjoyed many aspects of our stay, including the excellent service at Jackalopes and the flawless execution of the wedding, our experience was slightly dampened by these interactions with Carl. While we definitely plan to return to the lodge in the future, we have reservations about encountering Carl again. If we happen to see him working upon our arrival, we'll opt to park and carry our bags ourselves, as we prefer not to feel like an inconvenience to any staff member. Therefore, we're rating our overall experience at four stars instead of five. We hope this feedback helps in maintaining the high standards of service at the lodge.

    Room tip: Try the Nachos! They are amazing and enough for 2!
    Date of stay: March 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Leslie G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed March 1, 2024 via mobile

    We were treated like family by the employees during check in, during our stay, at breakfast, and at checkout. Each employee had the same friendly positive attitude, and it felt genuine, very comfortable environment. The location is the reason we chose this place, but the way we were treated and the feeling is the reason we will return.

    Date of stay: February 2024
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank bestestes
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed February 26, 2024 via mobile

    We had a best time at Tenaya Lodge. The cabins are simple, cozy and well decorated. I felt like I was home. The amenities were well thought of. Earth friendly utensils, cups and plates, starbucks coffee grounds etc. Parking was very close to every cabin. They are clean and well maintained. They even stocked the cabins with board games! In addition to your coffee pot they have a pot for hot water!!! There’s wine for adults and s’mores for everyone everyday.
    Breakfast was just right… no cooked food but enough to fill you to start the day and healthy options. They also serve starbucks coffee.
    The recreation room is very cozy and the staff are so nice and helpful.
    We had dinner at Jackalope. The food was very good.
    Spa is very relaxing and spacious so you don’t run into people. We used the steam and sauna… very clean and the amenities are top notch! I had a deep tissue massage with Brianna. She hit all the right spot and i was relieved from my body pain. I wish I had more time in the spa. We were were with 2 other families and we all had a wonderful time. We didn’t want to leave. We are already planning our next visit back to Tenaya. Thank you staff for taking care of all our needs. Good job to the management for keeping up the standards of luxury and relaxing vacation.

    Date of stay: February 2024
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Discover67511602230
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed February 24, 2024

    Tenaya Lodge is the best place to stay when visiting Yosemite. They have all the amenities for a fun family trip. At nights they play movies at their indoor pool and have complimentary smores to roast at the outdoor firepits. The lobby has a great fireplace to sit and have a cocktail while playing a game of checkers or chess. The drive into the Valley is under an hour and so scenic. If you don't want to dine at their restaurants, they have a pizza option available or a deli that has many food/sweet treat/beverage options. If you forgot anything, including a jacket or snowpants, the giftshop has it! Or if you just want to relax for a day, you can spend it in their spa. If you need help thinking of something to do, the concierge can help you plan or book something for you. And if you happen to be there in the winter, they have ice skating!

    Date of stay: February 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank christinapP1517YH
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews