We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing jewel in the Celebes Sea - a must for Sipidan diving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Reef Dive Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mataking
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We stayed here for 4 nights accompanying a friend of ours from Malaysia. This was a wonderful island paradise. From all of our research the best resort for a Sipidan diving experience. As a diver it has everything you could want. The diving and snorkelling is exquisite and really something for everyone's bucket list.

The staff particularly are amazingly friendly and welcoming one and all. Special mention to the dive crew Hardy, Mel, Yin and Telly all amazing and very professional.

We stayed in a villa and it was spacious and well appointed. The island is very keen on conservation so some of the amenities one might be used to like daily towel changes will not happen.

Food is buffet style and caters for a range of tastes and was without exception good. This is not the Four Seasons but is certainly a place to stay if you want to explore the amazing aquatic life and take a must do trip to Sipidan. Be warned that there is limited space and they can only take 7 guests per trip.

The island is also home to a military base so is very safe. The internet is limited but that is a good thing to get away from the hustle and bustle of modern life

We would definitely recommend this resort as part of any trip to Malaysia

Room Tip: Villa room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisKurtGabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

The resort is so far the only one on Mataking Island (but there is currently another one in construction). Most of staff is very friendly and polite. We stayed one night in the more expensive Villa and then moved to the King Chalets. And the chalets are definitely the better choice as they are also stand-alones but not so close to each other as the Villas.
What definitely is something everyone interested in coming here should consider is the value for money. The resort is for sure a nice one but we think the price is way to high for what you get. The rooms are not high end and the food is good but not so good as one might think because of the price.
Also be sure that you are very comfortable with the Chinese way of behavior as approx. 95% of the guests were Chinese.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Maik F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Our family just returned from an epic Malaysian holiday, complete with 4 days on this little slice of paradise. Upon arrival at the dock, we were greeted with smiles, refreshing welcome drinks and the fantastic news that we were just in time to witness the release of forty-five baby turtles. I can check that one off my bucket list!

The island itself is what dreams are made of, with pristine white sand beaches and turquoise waters. The snorkeling is some of the best I've ever experienced, with amazing visibility and waters abundant with turtles, eels, colorful coral and so many varieties of tropical fish. Don't even get me started on the diving! The Celebes Sea is rumored to offer some of the best diving in the world, and I can confirm these rumors are true. Epic!

The hotel was lovely. Our family booked a king villa on the beach, and we were not disappointed. The villa was large and comfortable, with all of the amenities you could ask for. The staff was extremely friendly, helpful and down-to-earth. They were very kind to our two children, and even put up with my husband and I when we took over the karaoke machine one evening. The food was also good, with a nice variety of offerings to make everyone in my family happy. My only complaint is the coffee. I would suggest bringing your own little brew kit if you're a coffee snob like me.

Overall, I can't recommend this place enough if you love diving/snorkeling or even if you just want a peaceful escape. It truly is paradise and well worth the effort it takes to get there.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

I chose Mataking Island over the other resorts in the area due to the beautiful looking island and beaches and our ability to get a Sipidean permit as a snorkeler with only a 2 night 3 day stay. The resort is a bit pricey, but in comparison to others in the area it was probley worth it. We had a lovely well-appointed garden view room, still very close to the water. The food variety was great and varied and a live food station was always interesting. On our second day we did the Sipidean trip. There were 7 people booked onto the boat (7 is all the permits that Mataking gets) and we divided the boat charter between us, which worked out very reasonable considering it is a 90 min boat trip with 4 armed guards. We did 3 snorkels while the others in the boat dived. 2 at Barracuda Point, the best snorkeling we have done. Big schooling fishes, sharks, turtles everywhere, parrothead bump fish and huge variety of other fish and corals. In-between the snorkels we were well looked after with food and drink on the island. Overall Sipidean was all its hype and worth the effort to go even if you do just snorkel. A few things about the resort: a lot of rubbish in the water that gets washed up on the beach, not the resorts fault. Due to strong currents and many people unable to swim, you have to wear a life jacket whenever you do swimming or snorkeling just off the beach!! I see there point for some people, but I don’t think that it should be compulsory. The snorkeling just off the beach was fantastic, right on the edge of the drop off and let the current take you along. There seemed to be many rules around the resort, and we got told off a few times, unnecessarily I thought. It must be said that 98% of the guests where Chinese and the resort was definitely catering towards their needs the most. However, we found that we got exactly what we wanted out of this island and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank 173louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

神秘的海岛,水很清澈,很干净,在这里住了四天三晚,感觉非常美妙,尝试了浮潜见到了神秘的海底生物。这里珊瑚很多,不愧是浮潜圣地。下次还会来!Everything is so perfect here. The people are nice also very kind. The environment here is quiet and comfortable. I will be back again with my whole family next time. So wonderful experience.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tinysr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

We booked the diver packages in April. The diver masters are experienced, and the dive shop staff are very friendly. They help us to set up BCD, regulator and tank for all dives. Although travelling to Sipadan takes 1 hour and 30 mins, you'll be able to get a few days of permits if you book in advance. Not like other dive shops, no matter how many months in advance and how many days you're staying, they can only guarantee one day. The boat staff are very helpful and friendly. Restaurant staff, such as Dina and Marychel, are super nice. Wifi was weak but understandable considering it uses satellite.
Overall, we had great experience in both diving and accomondation in Mataking. Definitely recommend if you prefer a quiet vacation or more days in Sipadan.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peiyao X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

Came here for our Advanced Open Water certification as well as to dive at The famous Sipadan Island. Our dive instructors were top class.

Resort also has nice chalets and a restaurant with buffet style food. What tops it off is the Malaysian Hospitality

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank kmquek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mataking
0 km away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
414 reviews
0 km away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
0 km away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,457 reviews
0 km away
Sipadan Inn
Sipadan Inn
#3 of 7 in Semporna
155 reviews
0 km away
Gaya Island Resort
Gaya Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Pulau Gaya
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Dive Resort

Address: Mataking 91000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Mataking
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mataking
Price Range: $686 - $792 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Dive Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef Dive Resort at Mataking Island is an exclusive romantic & diving destination in the Celebes Sea, located just 40 minutes boat ride from Semporna, East Coast of Sabah in Malaysia. It is a promised island with majestic treasures, natural warmth and friendship for holiday makers, spa lovers, honeymooners and divers alike. Whether it is a retreat for yourself or exciting undersea exploration, you’ll find Mataking the perfect choice.The resort is caressed by the tropical sea breeze. Our executive king chalets, premier deluxe rooms and brand new luxurious beach villas designed in traditional architecture offering simply elegant and exquisite accommodation for up to 100 guests in a serene and cozy environment. Enjoy Malaysian and International cuisine with an enticing spread of fresh local seafood or relish the weekend barbecued favorites at our sea facing restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Reef Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pulau Mataking Reef Dive Hotel Pulau Sipadan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing