We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine Country Wonderful!”
Review of Farmhouse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Farmhouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Certificate of Excellence
Hayward, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wine Country Wonderful!”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant was the perfect choice for our three-day anniversary getaway. We live in the Bay Area and visit the Wine Country frequently, but rarely for more than a day. Farmhouse Inn was close enough to many wonderful Sonoma County wineries, yet remote enough to feel as if we were in a far away, country-side paradise.

The service at Farmhouse Inn was, bar none, the BEST we have experienced in our travels! Meghan, Jake, Tamera, Chris, Robert, and everyone at the Inn and Restaurant went out of their way to insure we were comfortable, relaxed and very well cared for. We were wished a happy anniversary by all and it was even printed on our dinner menus in the Restaurant. How cool is that?

Speaking of the Restaurant.... the food was OUTSTANDING and we have to give a straight up "Holla" to the Sommelier for his wine recommendation at dinner! It was a local selection that worked perfectly with both the Duck Breast and the Rabbit (Rabbit Rabbit).

We didn't know what we were missing in a travel experience until we visited Farmhouse Inn and Restaurant. We will most definitely be going back!

Room Tip: If you like to turn in early, recommend not staying in main house. There was some noise from the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    84
    35
    15
    9
See reviews for
33
551
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2012

If you're looking for topnotch services (from check-in, to restaurant servers, to spa), casual, yet exquisite taste in decor (particularly the barn rooms), this is a perfect, romantic get-away. Easy to hike, bike, wine taste, canoe and kayak out the front door. Delectable cuisine both for breakfast (included in the price of the room) and dinners. We've visited 3 times and consistency has been there every time!

Room Tip: Pricy perhaps, but the upstairs barn rooms are a huge treat (huge rooms and bathrooms; great jacuzzi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEWMDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

So, we returned to the Farmhouse Inn, staying in one of the beautiful Barn rooms for four nights. Steam shower, large, comfortable bed, double fireplace, secluded, wonderful. Staff really goes out of their way to make sure your requests are taken care of. We did have one minor issue with sugar ants trying to take over the steam shower, but that's a feature you live with in California and the issue was taken care of quickly and efficiently. We will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Barn, especially on the second floor are the best, but the cottage rooms are nice, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohtobeinsandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Farmhouse for our elopement and part of our honeymoon, and my husband and I were completely impressed with the accommodation and service we received. We stayed in a Barn Suite and added the elopement package on to our stay. It was everything I have dreamed of for a wedding, and if I had to do it over again I wouldn't change a thing! Megan, Meilani, and staff were exceedingly helpful, kind, and made our special day perfect. The partnership with Arista Winery afforded a beautiful location to exchange vows.

If you are hesitant to commit to a vacation or special event at the Farmhouse, rest assured that the website shows the beauty and attention that encompasses the Inn, only it is far far more special than any advertising can show. Treat yourself to a wonderful experience and go there!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmhouse Conci... S, Concierge at Farmhouse Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Our first Elopement of the year was Bridget and Franco. They might be the sweetest, loveliest and best looking couple I've met in a very long time. Their ceremony at Arista winery was beautiful- the lighting, setting and people made it a fantastic way to celebrate Bridget and Franco's unique story. We love our tiny weddings. ~ Meghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This was our first visit to wine country and I reviewed a couple of properties before deciding on the Farmhouse Inn. It was the best decision, and well worth what we paid. (We did get a good deal on Luxury Link) I did have some trouble getting my Luxury Link package reservation approved during Valentine's weekend, but understandably so. It was Valentine's after all, which of course is a busy time for them. I was able to move my days around by 1 and from that point it was smooth sailing. Meilani (I hope I spelled this correctly) was very helpful and so nice!

From check-in, things were absolutely wonderful. We got there too early to check into our room, which wasn't ready yet, but Tamara gave us a very detailed map and sent us on our way to the town of Healdsburg for lunch! She gave us a back route to travel, which was very scenic and we saw several wineries on our way. We had lunch and did a bit of shopping. We actually came back an hour AFTER check-in, lol. When we came back we were taken to our room, (more like a suite!) by a very nice young man who is the only bellman. He was very attentive, and gave us specific details on how to operate everything in the room. And if you stay in a Barn room (we were in #15) then there are quite a few gadgets to operate. From the fireplace, to the tricked out steam shower, jetted tub...these rooms are just amazing. I also love the "Bath Bar" (that's my name for it-not sure what name they have for it) that is in the check-in area. My husband and I loved choosing the scrubs, salts and soaps to use during our stay. I quite enjoyed cutting my own soap. :) Theresa was also very helpful on making suggestions for things to do the following day. She provided us with another detailed map (we love those things) and guided us to downtown Sonoma and some of her prime choices for wineries to stop at and also some lunch choices. Thanks to her, we ended up at The Girl and the Fig, which was the best lunch we had during our entire trip to San Francisco!

Some of my favorite things: the dual fireplace, the rustic, beautiful decor, the comfy bed, the homemade, still warm cookies at turn-down, the heated floors..they even offer snacks, soft drinks, and DVDs to borrow in case you get bored with the many selections of cable channels provided with a flat screen. Oh and don't forget the surround sound music that was playing softly when we came in from dinner. Everything is thought of, so you don't have to. It's the little touches and attention to detail that work so well here. It is truly an intimate experience beginning from the first moment you make your reservation.

I will write a separate review for the restaurant, but I must say, our dinner was the best we had on our entire trip. (we stayed in downtown San Francisco the previous 3 nights before) Breakfasts here (which were included in our stay) were also amazing. You can taste the fine quality and freshness...right down to the orange juice!

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again- as a matter of fact, my husband and I are planning to come at least once a year if we can. This level of luxury can't be beat. We stayed at the Four Seasons Maui for a week for our honeymoon and we both agreed that the Farmhouse Inn has that property beat by a long-shot!!

Room Tip: Go for the Barn Rooms, they are the most luxurious. Try to get a top level if you can, towards the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bermyite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Our second visit to the Farmhouse Inn for a relaxing celebration of a birthday didn't disappoint ....it was even better than the first. The new barn rooms are spacious, tastefully decorated and super-comfortable (even if getting the TV to work requires mastering three remote controls!!). The breakfasts were delightful and dinner in the restaurant was everything we expected made even more special by the specially printed birthday menu. It is expensive but we took advantage of a special "second night" offer which made the overall cost very reasonable for the high quality room and service. Location is perfect for visiting wineries in the Russian River Valley and the introduction card from the Farmhouse Inn gets a special welcome with waived tasting fees.

We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Barn rooms are huge and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swansailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Bought a groupon for this property. After seeing the per night rates I was pleased with the group on deal I bought Upon arriving I was breath taken...what a cute property and so intriguing. We got barn room number 17 on the ground floor. As soon as the bell man opened the door we felt like celebrities and immediately said we got a steal we got. Breakfast very day was different and tasty. I want to go back for the leisurely breakfasts reading the paper. Dinner at the Michelin star restaurant was amazing a must do. Don't be afraid to have the sommelier order you your wine...so knowledgeable. Stephanie at the concierge desk organized a wine tasting trip of som f theist unknown wineries in the area. I could gone on.....if you have the opportunity the farmhouse inn is a must. So romantic for couples.

Room Tip: The barn is a must if budget can allow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rizzo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forestville
13.3 km away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
486 reviews
14.5 km away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
13.4 km away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 km away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,443 reviews
13.6 km away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
31.5 km away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmhouse Inn

Property: Farmhouse Inn
Address: 7871 River Rd, Forestville, CA 95436-9494
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Forestville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Farmhouse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Russian River Valley of Sonoma, the Farmhouse experience is an authentic wine country haven of stylish comfort, hand crafted amenities, and attention to every detail. We are surrounded by world class wineries and 100's of acres of vineyards. Our unique West County locations offers an incredible wine country experience with the added benefits of the majestic redwood forest and the breathtaking Sonoma Coast all within miles of the resort. With only 25 rooms we pride ourselves on the Inn’s intimacy and privacy, creating a feeling of visiting a private estate. Once at the resort you can enjoy our 11 year awarded Michelin-starred restaurant featuring the best of Sonoma dining and surrender to our Farm-to-Table Spa with customized, hand crafted rituals using ingredients from our fruit, flower and herb gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Farmhouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmhouse Inn And Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Hotel Forestville
Farmhouse Inn Forestville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing